We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Sta Elena Costa Rica
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Got my mother-in-law and a dear friend for a two nite stay, the service was very good and the waitress we had at pool side was great, the pool is very nice. The hotel is quiet and gets you away from Dominical town which can be noisey and little on the dirty side. The breakfasts are included and very good and our eveings meal was great, would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    178
    51
    15
    9
See reviews for
137
183
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My brother and his fiance were booked for 7 days 6 nights with a wedding package. 5 of the 7 people in out party were guests of this hotel. The Hotel its self was very nice and well kept but the wedding planner and food/waiting staff failed to fill the not hard expectations of our group. Plans for trips and meeting times were changed at last minute multiple times and requests for non-alcoholic bubblie DURING the wedding were not meet. For 90$ a night there are much better choices to be had in Dominical.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Va
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Good choice if you are staying in Dominical, Just a few minutes walking from town, resturant was good, pool was great and the beer was cold. Rooms were a bit small but we had a great outside living area for our room. Everything was clean and staff was great. Surfing lessons are offered.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amosapparel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calderara di Reno, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the villas rio mar on our first trip down to Costa Rrica. Immediately upon arriving we had a very quick and pleasant checkin experience and were told we could ask them if we needed anything. Walking to our cabana was a very beautiful experience in itself. Lots of neat plants and trees as well as blooming flowers and an iguana brought smiles and assurance to our faces. We had just a standard room but with the beautiful front porch and sitting area one would have thought it to be a suite. We had one big queen size bed for the both of us and it was very clean and welcoming. The bathroom was the perfect size for the two of us and a great big shower with blue tiles and dolphins etched into the walls made for very enjoyable showers.
We threw our stuff down and headed to the bar where we got two very authentic Pina Coladas from the very nice and pretty bartender. She said we could just put it on our rooms. as we headed to the pool like 25 steps away we were very happy with the swim up bar and the poolside service we recieved. Nice big pool lots of shady and sunny spots to lay down in. Food every night was very good as well and a big selection to choose from.
Not wanting to leave but knowing we just couldn't stay put all week we went to the front and found a assortment of tours and adventures that the hotel will gladly book for you. The hotel is just a short walk to the main town of dominical and is very pleasant with the river Baru on the left flowing by and wild animal sounds everywhere. Sometimes we got tired though so we had the front call us a cab and it wqas there usaully in about five minutes. This place is great for relaxation and finding good company along with one of the nicest and most sincere hotel staffs I have ever encountered in my world Traveling.
Have already started planning our nrxt trip here and can't wait to see everyone again. Thank you Villas rio mar and Pura Vida!!

Bryce and Bridget


ps. any bad reviews must be form grumpy old farts or people who don't know how to appreciate the little things

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a hidden gem but if you don't have a car or you're not travelling with a group, this hotel is out of the way. If you have a car or are adventurous enough to bus it to Dominical and then take a taxi (short drive about 5 minutes on a rocky road cost is about 1500 colones or $3US) you will not be disappointed by this hotel! It is clean, spacious, quiet, beautifully landscaped, staff is friendly and helpful, there's service around the pool, abundant wildlife but not a nuisance.... I could go on. The rooms are in "bungalows" scattered throughout the property - 4 rooms to a bungalow with easy (cemented) pathways connecting you to various areas around the 'resort'. I won't comment on the rooms as others have done so in detail. The restaurant has a full menu (a bit pricey -- e.g. $10 US for a burger -- but then you don't have to walk into town) and drinks. The staff is absolutely wonderful and don't worry if you don't speak Spanish because most speak proficient English. This hotel has a good mix of visitors from Canada, US, The Netherlands, Germany, Belgium, Costa Rica etc. The pool is spacious and nicely landscaped and plenty of lounge chairs to go around. Free WiFi in all parts of the resort (including the pool). There's a bar at the pool so you can order there or the staff comes around so you can order from them (not just drinks but food as well). The Macaws usually make their entry in the afternoon and you can bird watch right from the side of the pool. There is a surf school located at the hotel (The Green Iguana - ask for Bob - he had me up and surfing within the first hour -- first time ever! He's a former pro from California) and Tour Operator. There's also a Spa for massage and other services: a very professional and highly qualified massage therapist -- contact me for details if need be. The grounds are clean and well maintained. The atmosphere is very inviting. This resort makes an effort to recycle and have labelled bins around the resort, especially to sort glass containers. It is situated along the Baru river and you can take a leisurely walk along the road to a beautiful little waterfall or head down into the river at low tide (b/c high tide you can't look for crocodiles). All in all, I found this hotel very relaxing and a great place to stay and explore the Dominical, Uvita and Ballena area in the Oso peninsula in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PolyglotTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very pretty grounds around cottages. Peaceful place to stay to get away from it all. Saw black squirrels, toucans and various other wild life. Nice walk into town along the river bank. The have a book case that you can trade or leave your books for others to do the same. No television or air conditioning in the rooms, wifi is available. The worst thing that can be said about the place is the mattresses, a little too hard for my taste.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluv2trvl24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel allows you to experience the true nature of Costa Rica. We had a very adequate room with an outdoor living area. The kitchen and dining were in our outdoor living room, with a sofa and chairs. It was "perfect" for viewing the natural environment that is so special in Costa Rica. Birds singing, amazing treees. A lovely pool area, nice dining. It was a great hotel in this part of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
6.1 km away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.4 km away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.4 km away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 km away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.0 km away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Property: Villas Rio Mar
Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing