We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Vista Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cuna del Angel(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Rio Mar(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Alturas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfall Villas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diuwak(Dominical)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Verde(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
71
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
8
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 79 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had such a lovely time at Bella Vista. Bert was very accommodating, and is a great host and chef. The views from Bella Vista are gorgeous - you can see endless water and skies, and all colors of sunrise and sunset. This is quite a little jungle hideaway, so be ready to rent a 4x4 SUV to get to and from your destination. Bert had offered to arrange the SUV rentals for us. He is well acquainted with other tourism attractions, so we had Bert arrange our ziplining, hiking, surfing, and waterfall adventures. There's lots more to see and do though - all you need to do is ask Bert, or the other guests for recommendations in the area.

We met like-minded travellers during our stay. It's a nice little community of friends where you can get acquainted over lovely dinners, and daytime adventures. This is a wonderful little Costa Rican getaway!

Room Tip: Toucan room has a ceiling fan for warm nights
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 347Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Bert was a great host with tons of local knowledge and a excellent chef. The food he prepared every night was fresh and awakened your taste buds every time! He gave us many ideas of things to do and places to see. Definite highling was the 6 hour horseback ride with breakfast and lunch included to the waterfalls he arranged. The howling monkeys and birds were quite active every morning and the natual beauty of this place showed each and every day. This is not a five star hotel but a place to relax, unwind, meet and interact with friendly people (guest) and locals as well. You need to rent a 4 wheel drive to get to this place about 10 minutes from the town of Dominical and their are 3 small streams to cross. What you get at this price is exceptional

Room Tip: The cabins offer more privacy
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emery2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My buddy and I ended up randomly staying at Bella Vista and completely lucked out in doing so! It was the ultimate laid back lodge filled with great people and surrounded by natural beauty. The rooms were well kept, the food and services was amazing, and the sunsets each night were mind blowing!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesThomas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We arrived in Dominical in the evening. After a 10 minute 4-wheel drive up hill, across three rivers, we arrived at Bella Vista. We were greeted by two friendly dogs and two cuddly cats who led us up to the main lodge. Bert and Charlie were amazing hosts and an excellent chefs, preparing gourmet dinners for us every night. We met the other guest that evening and ended up making lots of plans in the area. We were only planning on staying 2 nights, but ended up stayed the whole week. During our time in Dominical we went surfing, horseback riding, water falling, hiking, beaching eating and dancing. It was amazing. I would love to return not only for the views and sounds of the jungle, but to visit all of our new friends!

Room Tip: If you are looking to socialize with other travelers, stay in the main lodge. If you are looking for more privacy or to do your own cooking, rent one of the cabins.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My 3 nights at the Bella Vista Lodge was the highlight of my Costa Rica trip. I stayed in the Lodge (there are 2 cabins as well). The lodge is a social place with a pretty open design, so don't expect to lock yourself away in your private room. Expect to socialize and party and make yourself at home. Bert, the owner, will cook for you (family style) every night, and the food is awesome. There is a well stocked bar right there, and an extremely casual vibe with the best ocean view in Costa Rica. Bert is the coolest dude ever, and will totally take care of you. He lined me up with a local guy who took me surfing and spearfishing, and all in all, it was a pretty awesome time. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If you have kids or want privacy, take the cabins. If you want to meet people or socialize, take the lodge.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs_redding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews