We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Vista Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bella Vista Lodge
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I just stayed for 3 nights in the Bella Vista Lodge in Dominical. We opted for one of the private cabinas. It was 100% a good experience and exactly what I was looking for.

I wanted a porch and room with a view: The rooms and the restaurant both have incredible views of the jungle and ocean. I could have sat around all day and just read books and admired the view while listening to exotic noises.

I wanted affordability: The private cabina was affordable and the rooms at the main lodge are even more affordable. This is a great bargain for people on a budget but still want world class views and nice facility.

I wanted a more intimate and social experience: Everyone gets to know everyone at Bella Vista. At first I was thinking this might be awkward. Once I met the owner Bert and the other couple guests we all clicked immediately. Every morning and evening we just hung out almost like a family. It was great. Bert is the center of it all trying to make everyone feel comfortable. It was like hanging out with a cool uncle. Bert if also a great cook and will make meals upon request. He suprised us one night with home made key lime creme brulee!

Only recommendation to Bella Vista: provide better fans for air movement.

Room Tip: Private cabinas offer the best privacy and quiet. There are only 2 cabinas so make your reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had such a lovely time at Bella Vista. Bert was very accommodating, and is a great host and chef. The views from Bella Vista are gorgeous - you can see endless water and skies, and all colors of sunrise and sunset. This is quite a little jungle hideaway, so be ready to rent a 4x4 SUV to get to and from your destination. Bert had offered to arrange the SUV rentals for us. He is well acquainted with other tourism attractions, so we had Bert arrange our ziplining, hiking, surfing, and waterfall adventures. There's lots more to see and do though - all you need to do is ask Bert, or the other guests for recommendations in the area.

We met like-minded travellers during our stay. It's a nice little community of friends where you can get acquainted over lovely dinners, and daytime adventures. This is a wonderful little Costa Rican getaway!

Room Tip: Toucan room has a ceiling fan for warm nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 347Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Bert was a great host with tons of local knowledge and a excellent chef. The food he prepared every night was fresh and awakened your taste buds every time! He gave us many ideas of things to do and places to see. Definite highling was the 6 hour horseback ride with breakfast and lunch included to the waterfalls he arranged. The howling monkeys and birds were quite active every morning and the natual beauty of this place showed each and every day. This is not a five star hotel but a place to relax, unwind, meet and interact with friendly people (guest) and locals as well. You need to rent a 4 wheel drive to get to this place about 10 minutes from the town of Dominical and their are 3 small streams to cross. What you get at this price is exceptional

Room Tip: The cabins offer more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emery2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My buddy and I ended up randomly staying at Bella Vista and completely lucked out in doing so! It was the ultimate laid back lodge filled with great people and surrounded by natural beauty. The rooms were well kept, the food and services was amazing, and the sunsets each night were mind blowing!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesThomas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We arrived in Dominical in the evening. After a 10 minute 4-wheel drive up hill, across three rivers, we arrived at Bella Vista. We were greeted by two friendly dogs and two cuddly cats who led us up to the main lodge. Bert and Charlie were amazing hosts and an excellent chefs, preparing gourmet dinners for us every night. We met the other guest that evening and ended up making lots of plans in the area. We were only planning on staying 2 nights, but ended up stayed the whole week. During our time in Dominical we went surfing, horseback riding, water falling, hiking, beaching eating and dancing. It was amazing. I would love to return not only for the views and sounds of the jungle, but to visit all of our new friends!

Room Tip: If you are looking to socialize with other travelers, stay in the main lodge. If you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My 3 nights at the Bella Vista Lodge was the highlight of my Costa Rica trip. I stayed in the Lodge (there are 2 cabins as well). The lodge is a social place with a pretty open design, so don't expect to lock yourself away in your private room. Expect to socialize and party and make yourself at home. Bert, the owner, will cook for you (family style) every night, and the food is awesome. There is a well stocked bar right there, and an extremely casual vibe with the best ocean view in Costa Rica. Bert is the coolest dude ever, and will totally take care of you. He lined me up with a local guy who took me surfing and spearfishing, and all in all, it was a pretty awesome time. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If you have kids or want privacy, take the cabins. If you want to meet people or socialize, take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs_redding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My friend and I were looking for a spot to explore Costa Rica where we'd have access to local culture and activities, without sacrificing a few western comforts. Bella Vista and the Dominical area was perfect. The Lodge is paradise. Bert is the most gracious host who will make you feel like the Lodge is your home. He'll set you up with incredible local activities. An unforgettable horse back ride thru a jungle valley is not to missed. Nor the surf lessons - beginners welcome - from a local surf legend. Bert's also a great chef and will cook up terrific dinners, or you can venture into the resto's in the surrounding area. The Lodge also seems to attract some of the coolest people I've met anywhere. Everyone gets to be friends real quick: guests, locals, and ex-pats. It's really a special place. As others have mentioned, you should definitely get a four wheel. You'll want the freedom to go up and down the mountain and explore the surrounding area at will. And if you need more space and/or want some added tranquility check out one of the cabins which are situated separate from the main Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 km away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 km away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.0 km away
Hacienda Baru
Hacienda Baru
#1 of 29 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabinas los Laureles
Cabinas los Laureles
#5 of 40 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 km away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Lodge

Property: Bella Vista Lodge
Address: Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Lodge is perched 1200 feet above Dominical with panoramic Pacific coastal views of Manuel Antonio to the north and the Osa Peninsula to the south. There are 4 guest rooms with private baths in the Lodge as well as the dining deck. Cabins are also available equipped with small kitchens as well as private decks. A truly authentic Costa Rica experience! Horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, white-water rafting, surfing, sport fishing, hiking, zip lining, birdwatching, whale watching, scuba and snorkeling--all within minutes away. Restaurant by reservation only. Fresh ingredients are gathered at the local markets -- fresh, fresh, fresh. Groups welcome! Family reunions, weddings, photo, music, cooking, and art seminars, yoga/spa/massage, and birdwatchers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Dominical
Bella Vista Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing