We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Night Tour with Tracie The Bug Lady

The Night Tour with Tracie The Bug Lady
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Expect many great experiences, and a lot of interesting information, from a very taught couples. Can easily hear that, they have devoted their lives, to the insects. They know everything about insects throughout the world, and stories about insects and people. You will also see, some of the most rare, and intresante insects in the world. Do not miss this tour.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skallebaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    9
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalkaska, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Contagious Enthusiasm for Bugs, Reptiles, and Amphibians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Wow. We were totally blown away by Tracie and Gian's night tour. We never viewed the jungle the same after this tour, but this attitude came with respect and awe for nature, not fear, thanks to Tracie and Gian's knowledgeable and calm explanations. So many species were seen; so many fascinating stories and facts about each one - no science fiction was needed for entertainment here. We are so glad their website provides beautiful photos of the creatures we saw, to more thoroughly document our tour. We also appreciated their presentation method - no canned speeches by bored guides here. Tracie and Gian brought each creature to life by helping us understand their unique features and habits. Their enthusiasm was contagious - and this coming from someone who has feared spiders most of her life.

My husband and I have traveled to Costa Rica 5 times and this tour rates near the top of our adventures. Not to be missed if you visit Drakes Bay, but reserve early since their tours fill up far in advance. Thank you, Gian and Tracie - you are truly gracious people.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SillySallySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Truly awesome.....Cant visit Drake Bay and not do this tour!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Wow where to begin... We could not of been happier from beginning to end and were not disappointed at all. Tracie and Gian are awesome and impressed us with their knowledge and expertise in the field of biology. While on our walk we encountered may creatures including a few snakes and spiders all of which was explained to us in great detail. We even had a chance to see the famous fish eating bat hunt in the river. The love, passion and experience these two have for what they do truly shows when you hear them explain each and every detail you encounter while on the tour. There level of customer service is truly awesome. One of the best things that happened was while walking along I asked Gian what the chances were on seeing a certain beetle, and he informed me it could happen but never did, but the next day we received a phone call from Gian asking us to meet him in town because he found the beetle and wanted to make sure we did not leave Drake Bay
without seeing it. If your in Drake's Bay and want to see what comes out after dark than make plans to spend some time with The Bug Lady I am sure you will not be disappointed!!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bombero590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nothing else to do at night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Well Traci is more drama and hype than almost anyone you might ever meet in Costa Rica. We stayed at La Paloma Lodge for 3 nights and after dinner, which ends at 7:45 there is NOTHING to do. So you should plan on going on this 2 hour tour one evening. We saw one snake, about 10 inches long, lots of tiny spiders, and a couple of frogs. Some caterpillars too. He husband John joins the tour, he is the serious one of the two, Traci is more of a joker. We never saw anything poisonous, but the tour filled up one of our evenings.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShariNyc_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Do This Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

First off, please note that it is obvious from the start that Tracie and Gian are both world class biologists and are very committed to their profession. I was very impressed with the completeness of their explanations and detailed descriptions of the animals and bugs we saw. We truly learned alot about each species we encountered. We saw 4 species of mammal including kinkajous, mouse possum, and a cat-like predatory animal whose name escapes me - all completely in undetectable to the untrained eye. We enjoyed being part of the experience as Tracie brought a great narrative to the hike. My only regret was that it didn't last two hours longer. It flew by and we really enjoyed it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Night Tour with Tracie The Bug Lady also viewed

Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to The Night Tour with Tracie The Bug Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing