We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
275
69
19
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
69
19
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saltwater pool free laundry service the river cano island costa rica relaxed vibe corcovado national park organic farm an adventure daily tours the kitchen staff fish bug tour whale watching picnic lunch scarlet macaws bug lady
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 372 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We only spent one day & night at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort before heading off to the Corcovado National Park for a camping/hiking adventure. My husband came down with a terrible ‘prickly heat rash’ that bothered him immensely. Marleny offered all the remedies should could (Benedryl spray, calamine lotion and even a zip bag full of corn starch) to help soothe and heal his sun wound. What a wonderful, caring lady! Also, unable to grab breakfast before leaving, she packed us some homemade cookies to snack on, on the way.

Drake Bay Wilderness Resort has some gorgeous views, delicious food, wonderful staff and is an exceptional place to visit. We would just like to say THANK YOU once again to Marleny for all her help and for making our one night stay an enjoyable one!
Heidi & Grant Barriage

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiBarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I just returned from a weeklong stay at Drake Bay with a friend. If you are looking for a place to relax and disconnect while enjoying the beauty of all that Costa Rica has to offer this is the place for you. We enjoyed the rustic simlicity of the lodging and the wonderful food prepared by the staff. We didn't have to go far to see beautiful wildlife like monkeys and birds. Marleny and staff work so hard to ensure that everybody is satisfied and is able to do the activities that are most important to them. The guides that DBWR works with are so friendly and knowledgeable. I higly recommend and hope to return someday myself!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyJBedford_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Everything was great here. Very nice service, great people, fantastic location, very good food and not very expensive (100 dollars per person, three meals included, all rooms ocean view). Great trips into the rainforest, location could not be better, saw whales playing in front of the lodge, monkeys in the back yard.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viewtube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2010

There are many beautiful places to stay in Costa Rica, but Drakes Bay Wilderness Resort is really special in the attention to beauty and comfort. Hand painted scenes of whales, orchids, monkeys and butterflies are different in each room. The bar is the perfect place to rest after hiking in Corcovado or spending the day out on the water watching humpback whales and dolphins offshore. The food is local and delicious. Howler monkey troups can be heard sometimes in the mornings, hummingbirds hover over the flowers, geckos stalk the walls and fishing bats fly over the river at night. Make sure that you go into the park, take a night bug walk with Tracie and go out to Isla Cano. Whale watching research/volunteer trips can be arranged through Oceanic Society for January and February.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Our trip was an Exploritas trip to assist with Humpback Whale Research. We spent 4 of our 6 days in one of the DBWR boats for 8 - 10 hours a day spotting whales and listening for the males "singing." Although these whales are strung along the Central American Pacific Coast Line, we saw whales every day. The boat drivers of DBWR are professional, knowledgable and friendly. The owner is installing air conditioners for each room, so, when we returned each afternoon we could turn it on and be cool after a shower. The salt water pool is very nice. The personnel are so friendly and Marleny is very helpful. Hummingbirds are just off the porch, the bar drinks very reasonable. My only quibble would be the communal dining hall that is very hot and humid. The food was plentiful. The presentation so very artistic and eye-pleasing. Lunch was always good with pasta salad, sandwich, lots of juice or cold water and homemade chocolate cookies. Watermelon for refreshment on the boats. Breakfast was serve yourself buffet but you could order an omlet, oatmeal. There was always lots of fresh pinapple, watermelon, papaya and finger bananas at breakfast. These bananas are much sweeter than those in the supermarket. The pineapple is sweeter, too. I'd go back to DBWR on myh own. The rooms are serviceable but always spanking clean. Manuel, the nature guide has one of the best eyes for wildlife of any I've encountered. He gladly took pix thru the spotter scope for us. He found the birds, (and he knows them all), and wildlife almost instantly. The boats with outboard motors are better than inboards as they can be swapped out and aren't out of commission. It may not be fancy, but the friendly staff and excellent food make this a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Washinton_DC_USALin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews