We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, down-to-earth hotel in an magical place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, down-to-earth hotel in an magical place”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

An excellent, unpretentious and affordable hotel in Drake Bay with good dive centre and other. Lovely views across the bays from the rooms and wildlife all around. Good swimming beach 15 minutes walk away (you probably won't want to swim right in front of the hotel - water is a little murky from the river inflow and there are small crocodiles!). Very friendly staff and tour guides, great service and healthy food. You surely can't go wrong with this place, unless you are expecting top-end luxury or want a lot of privavcy. Superior rooms are a good size - we squeezed in a family of 4 comfortably.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    87
    29
    15
    7
See reviews for
76
161
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Because of a fluke, we were able to experience both Jinetes de Osa and Aguila de Osa during our stay at Drakes Bay.
There are plusses and minuses to both. Rooms at Aguila are more spacious, more amenities and the view from the balcony lovelier than Jinetes.
Jinetes had simple, basic but clean rooms. We didn’t eat at Aguila, but the food at Jinetes was very good, served family style and no menu, you get what they serve. They were able to accommodate a vegetarian diet and the 4 nights we stayed, each meal was different. Drinks were cheaper at Jinetes, about $3 beer $4 wine. There is a steep hill you have to climb to get to your room at Aguila, whereas at Jinetes, there is just a short staircase off the common footpath that led to your room. Jinetes has more of a summer camp feel and the atmosphere is more laid back with the type of guests that can appreciate the simplicity, remoteness and beauty of the area, those who are there to hike, dive, relax and are a bit more adventurous. I got the feeling that guests at Aguila are more used to pampering and probably are not as comfortable w/out a guide or cell phone reception. The cost at Aguila is 2x as much as Jinetes. But in both places, we were asked to put our TP in a separate receptacle and in both places you may find a bug in your room. (It’s a jungle!) Surprised at how few mosquitos there are. The hotels are right next to each other on the footpath with a distance of approximately 3 football fields between them. The staff at each hotel were friendly and helpful, but I think Jinetes really treated you like family and wanted to make sure you were enjoying your stay. By US standards, Jinetes is probably a 2-3 star hotel and Aguila is a about 3 star hotel. I almost hesitate to post this because I don’t want the secret out, but this is such an incredible place to visit.
Tips for the area:
Do the Night Bug tour as early in your agenda as you can
Walk the trail from San Josecito Beach- have the hotel drop you off by boat and you hike the 8 miles back
Get up early and watch the sunrise at 5:00
Get a kayak and go up the river
Take a walk into town via the beach
Take lots of pictures, water proof camera a plus
Watch and listen to the nature surrounding you
Buy local souvenirs at the Drake Bay airport

Room Tip: Superior room at Jinetes, higher level room at Aguila
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeaFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My husband and I had never been to Costa Rica and decided on Drake Bay so that we could see lots of wildlife and go diving. We stayed at the Jinetes de Osa Hotel and it was seriously wonderful. The staff is so incredibly friendly, they make you feel you have always been there. The rooms are small and simple so dont go there if you require AC and luxury bedding. They clean the rooms daily and give you fresh linens and towels. All of the rooms face the ocean but I would definitely recommend the superior rooms for a better view. Hot water in the shower is kinda hit or miss but you honestly don't even need it, the cool water feels so good after hiking or snorkeling. We did the horseback riding, canopy, snorkeling, diving, and San Pedrillo National Park tours. All were fabulous and the guides are wonderful. Our guide for horseback riding only spoke spanish and we don't but it worked out fine and with the few words we all knew we were able to communicate just fine. The views of the forest and swimming in the river were the highlights of the horse tour, not to mention having lunch at a farmers house and having a personal tour and tasting of all the fruits he grows. Snorkeling and diving were a blast but the visibility in the water out at Cano Island is not the best, maybe 25 feet. This fluctuates alot according the the tour guides so each day varies. Watch out for sand flies on Cano Island, they are nasty little buggers and repellent does not keep them from biting you. Thankfully that was the only place we experienced them but they hurt and their bites cause major swelling and itching! The hotel meals were all wonderful and we always had way more than enough to eat. One night they bought a fresh caught red snapper from a fisherman and grilled it for dinner, it was out of this world!!! Life in Drake Bay is simple, you quickly fall into a pattern of having a few cervezas from the bartender Geovanny and then going to bed at 9 and wake up with the sun at 5 or 6. Both of us had the best vacation ever, it was soooo much better than we could have ever expected! I can't say enough good things about our stay here!

Room Tip: Go for the superior room, the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AubandKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This hotel is located right on the Bay and has about 10 rooms with ceiling fans, private large bathrooms and bay views . Good meals are included and served in an outdoor dining "family style" area where you can visit with the other guests from around the world. It was great fun to gather at meals and share tips about the day's activities. All of the snorkeling tours, night insect tours, zipline rides, and boat rides to Corcovado National Park can be arranged though this hotel.Meals can be schedule around your pick up and drop off times for activities. The staff spoke English and went out of their way to make sure that we had a great week at Drake Bay. We loved our vacation here!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshinefan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Myself and my girlfriend had a great stay during the beginning of Feb 2011.

By far, the highlight of our stay was our trip to Corcovado. Victor was very helpful in organizing it for us. We met our guide Carlos at 5:30am to board the boat for the ~1 hour ride to the park. We saw tons of wildlife including white-lipped and collared peccary, white-faced, spider and howler monkeys, three-toed sloth, Baird's tapir, army ants and leaf-cutter ants. We also saw a bunch of different bird species including slaty-tailed trogon, rufous-tailed jacamar, black hawk, chestnut-mandibled toucan, pale-billed woodpecker, whimbrel and brown booby. Carlos was very good at spotting things, and seemed to know where much of it would be. We ended the trip with fresh fruit and much appreciated cold drinks.

Even the town of Drake Bay itself has alot of wildlife. We saw a tamandua (anteater) cross the road right in front of us one night.

Once again, thanks to the great staff who made our stay memorable and enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimmyDSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We wanted to dive Cano Island, and were told this was the place to stay. I read the reviews and was a little hesitant..however, Drake Bay is beautiful. It's very quiet - if you are looking for nice restaurants and some night life or shopping, this is not the place to go. Corcovado is beautiful...the diving in Cano Islands is beautiful too. Highly recommend it..Kiki was our divemaster - was great. It is true that there are little jelly fish that sting - so you should where a wet suit or long sleeves. It's well worth it though - and it's not like traditional jelly fish, the stinging is gone within an hour. The service at Jinetes was great - the food was great and the beer cold. The rooms don't have air conditioning but it does cool down at night. It did rain every day as well in the afternoon, but not for long. We loved Drake Bay and HOW QUIET it was...we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenadove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo, ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Let me preface this by saying that my husband and I are well-travelled and have stayed in numerous other lodges in Costa Rica, Belize, Peru and Ecuador. This was by far the worst of the lot.
Picture a tropical summer camp with basic, mediocre food that is plated, no seconds, and you get what you get. We practically had to beg for tea or coffee.
The staff was unfriendly (aside from Kate) and unhelpful except when trying to sell you a drink or a tour.
The location was so-so. A busy public foot trail runs in front of the lodge between it and the ocean & is literally a couple of feet from your front door. We assumed the lodge would be in a remote private location, not on the edge of Drake Bay town. Worse yet, there are at least 3 or 4 lodges right beside it!!!!No wonder we didn't see any wildlife at the lodge. The lodge is ocean-front with a lovely view but the water is too dirty (polluted) to swim in front.
The rooms are a decent size, clean and have a large shower BUT the beds squeak very loudly , there is no hot water (although they deny this), the light in the bathroom is so dim we had to use our flashlight. Worst of all, all the rooms share a common front deck so you have alsolutely no privacy. The rooms are not sound-proof.
The tours were good. We went hiking in Corcovado and snorkeling at Cano Island. All the lodges and hotels offer the same tours that are run by tour companies in Drake Bay. Two words of caution...... If you go snorkeling, where long sleeves because you get stung by baby jellyfish the whole time. Secondly, Jinetes offers a basic Canopy tour with 6 platforms. Book the Corcovado Canopy Tour instead which has 13 platforms instead of 6 for almost the same price. You have to go to the lodge next door to book it because Jinetes only offers their own. Also if you're thinking of coming here to scuba dive, the visibility is very poor at Cano.
BE PREPARED FOR RAIN EVEN IN THE DRY SEASON!!!!!It rained every afternoon or evening we were there except one.
We were there for 4 nites which was definitely too long. When we tried to cancel the last night, they wouldn't give us a refund so we were stuck. There are tons of places to stay in and near Drake Bay, including some very pricey ones like La Paloma and Aguila de Osa and some very basic hotels as cheap as $20 per nite that looked quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laurWaterloo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.3 km away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
466 reviews
1.9 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.5 km away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
302 reviews
0.3 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
165 reviews
2.1 km away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinetes de Osa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinetes de Osa Hotel

Property: Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Address: 200 M Norte del Rio Aguajitas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinetes de Osa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see Costa Rica as you always imagined; wild, beautiful and unexplored. Be one of the lucky few to scuba dive in the pelagic rich waters of Cano Island or explore one of the last remaining virgin lowland tropical rainforests of Corcovado National Park. Splendidly isolated in the tiny community of Drake Bay, Costa Rica, Jinetes De Osa Hotel is a friendly beachside retreat one hours boat ride down the jungle lined banks of the Sierpe River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Jinetes de Osa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jinetes De Osa
Jinetes De Osa Drake Bay
Jinetes De Osa Hotel Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing