We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
247
102
31
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
102
31
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorcovado national parkcosta ricasuperior roomhotel staffcanopy tourfloor fansan josedive shophiking trailhot waterlarge roomsound of the waveszip liningtropical forestoff the beaten pathremote locationscarlet macaws
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 403 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Jinetes de Osa offers a basic room. The rooms are cleaned daily, but they are nothing special.

What makes this hotel an excellent property is the location and the service. The general managers, Patrick and Gisela, were fantastic. They took the time to get to know our needs, show us the property and provide ideas for different tours and other things to do in the area. We ran into them on the beach about a half hour hike away and Patrick took the time to explain the safest place to swim.

The guides and the bar staff were also excellent. Everyone was extremely helpful and kind.

The next time we are in Drake Bay we will definitely stay at Jinetes de Osa.

Room Tip: Consider choosing a deluxe room. The price difference is minimal and the rooms are much larger and have better airflow.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divehpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2012

To get to Jinetes de Osa you have to take the ferry to Drake bay. Someone greets you at the beach and brings your luggage to your room. The owners were very friendly and organized from the start. They showed us our room and asked us what activities we were interested in. They made a little planning for us and then every night after dinner they would come to see us to talk about next morning's tour. They would tell us where to go and when to wake up and would prepare us snacks and lunches. It felt like we were very well taken cared of and we didn't have to organize anything. We met some people that had allergy or diet problems and they mentioned that the hotel was very accommodating and modified the meals according to their diet.

The room was nothing special but it was clean. The beach in front of the hotel is not for swimming, there are small crocs and it's murky. Instead they told us to walk 20 minutes to another beach. It wasn't great either, the waves were to strong. The best beach we found is San Josecepito, it's a 2 hour walk from the hotel (or it's where the diving tours bring you for lunch). We walked there in the morning, watched birds, stopped for a nice boat tour on the river with a guide (8$), swam in the waterfall and then swam in San Josecipito. That beach is by far the nicest (at low tide) and there is even some corals. The hotel had organized for the diving boats to bring us a lunch and meet us there if we wanted to drive back to the hotel (we decided to walk back).

Drake bay is good if you want to do tours like Snokeling or Hiking, but if not there is nothing to do around there, the village is tiny. On the other hand, tours are pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audream9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Close by the beautiful Corcovado National Park on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast Osa Peninsula, Jinetes is pretty bare-bones in its accommodations. But with just a few rooms and limited number of guests, it offers an opportunity to make new friends and to get to know the very helpful staff (particularly Giovanni, a guide and -- equally important -- the bartender). Guests eat family style at the hotel and are offered a number of hiking, boating and snorkeling tours in an around the national park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view or deck. Some rooms are very small and have no view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbrooks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Jinetes is a wonderful outpost on the Osa Peninsula, and I make no appologies if this review sounds biast, its purely because we loved it here! I had read some negative reviews before hand and did wonder if I was doing the right thing booking 4 nights here, I wish I had booked more.
Getting there was an experiance in itself, we made our way to the Las Vegas restaurant in Sierpe in plenty of time to board our fast boat, (complete with supplies for the village at Drake Bay). For the next 1.5 hrs we sped along the river and out into the ocean before arriving in Drake Bay. The boat stopped about 25m out from shore, and that was it, everyone out and wade ashore........BRILLIANT! the perfect way to arrive, just like castaways. Our luggage was collected and taken away aboard a tractor and trailer, to our rooms. We were greeted on the steps by Patrick and his wife Gizelle, the Swiss couple that manage the hotel, they turned out to be the perfect hosts. It was the perfect start to our time on the peninsula.
The hotel is right next to the beach, set back a little amongst the trees. Made of wood and other natural local products. Following advice from Tripadvisor, we had a superior room, which overlooked the sea and the bay. It was a large room, with 2 beds, ceiling fan and meshed windows. The bathroom was large with a big shower, nothing fancy. Towels were supplied (beach towels were available from the office). As reported before, the walls are paper thin! But thats fine, as you drop off listening to the waves lapping onto the shore. Coffee and tea are delivered to your door at 5am, life starts and finishes early here.
All meals were included, there is no menu, you get whatever the chef has prepared, not once did I have any cause to complain about the ammount or quality of the food, all the meals were lovely. Meals are taken in the semi open dining/bar area, everyone sits around 2 large tables, which is great as you get to chat with fellow travelers about what you got up to that day. Primarily it is a dive centre, but there were lots of other trips on offer, (Victor comes around at dinner asking what you fancy doing the next day) We went snorkelling around Cano Island, hiking in Corcovado national park for 6 hrs, and also whale and dolphin watching, there were many other trips and activities on offer.
The beach directly in front of the hotel is OK for sun worshipers, but by walking 25-30 mins along the path you reach much better "Robinson Crusoe" type beaches. TIP: ignore the first beach you come too, continue up the track for another 5 mins to find much more secluded beaches. Beware the track is not level all the way it can be a bit trecherous in places.
All the staff were fantastic, there is a big family feel to the way the hotel is run, it seems to have a great work ethic about it. You very soon feel much more than a guest here.
OK its not 5* but it dosent pretend to be either, it is what it is. It has an old world charm about it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to get away from it a bit and has a sense of adventure. We flew out of Drake airport which was again a litle adventure all of its own, there cant be a smaller airport terminal in the world!

Room Tip: Superior room without a doubt
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank potbellypig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Jinetes de Osa is the kind of place where you get up early to take part in activities. 5:00 am the coffee and tea is placed on the deck outside of the rooms and breakfast starts then if not before. You then are wisked awayto any one of a number of experiences ..to a waiting tour boat to the Sirepe trail through the Corcovado Rain Forest... or a truck ride to a morning zip line experience. You could also head into the snorkel boat or the scuba diving boat. One is stimulated and excited by all these encounters with nature either above or below the water.. Early to rise does make it early to bed. It's not a late night place.
The food is just OK.. but you don't come to a place like this for the food. They did go out of their way to prepare for anyone's special diets. They were very attentive to this.
Patrick and Gizelle, the hosts are friendly and extemely helpful. Patrick went above and beyond to assist another guest in need. It was great to see.
Cano Island is 30 minutes off shore and provides the best scuba we have found in Costa Rica. They are also very easy dive sites.. good for beginners in that there is not much current and you don't have to go that deep to see good stuff. There are huge schools of fish, which also makes the snorkeler's happy. We saw hump back whales and plenty of dolphins playing in the water..
Over all I would recommend this place though I think the rooms need some attention. more furniture, better lighting, hooks or shelving, soundproofing, fixture updating, etc,, If they spent a bit on the room interiors I think the price would be a more fair.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are much nicer.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews