We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
247
102
31
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
102
31
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews corcovado national park costa rica superior room hotel staff canopy tour floor fan san jose dive shop hiking trail hot water large room sound of the waves zip lining tropical forest off the beaten path remote location scarlet macaws
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 403 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We stayed 4 nights at Jinetes de Oso. We really liked the location - on the beach but a short walk away from the town. The room was very comfortable, the staff very helpful, and the setting beautiful. We had a package that included breakfasts (delicious) a hiking trip to Corcovado and a snorkeling trip. (Also transit back to San Jose.) The hotel restaurant, Kalaluna Bistro, which is operated separately, was great too.

Room Tip: Standard Room #7 was great. More windows than some of the rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Arranging our trip from San Jose to Drake Bay and Corcovados National Park was made much, much easier because of the help of the staff of Jinetes de Osa Hotel. They answered all my emails, arranged transportation for us to and from Drake Bay, as well as a tour of Corcovados National Park. Other positives: Breakfast was very good and filling, the bungalow was very clean and pleasant (we paid for a bungalow with air conditioning), the open-air restaurant/bar/sitting area by the beach was very nice and pleasant. NOTE: The restaurant/bar for lunch and dinner is called the Kaluna Bistro, and it is very, very good. We needed to tell the staff what we wanted for dinner by around 3 or 4 pm, but we were never disappointed - the food was excellent! You do not need to stay at Jinetes to dine there (I believe), and we recommend it to others.
The climb to our bungalow as 184 steps. I'm sure they have other rooms by the beach that do not require such a climb. Also, there was a nice gazebo sitting area with coffee and water at the top of the long stairs where the bungalows were.

Room Tip: If out of shape, or have bad knees, be sure to ask them about rooms down by the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Great ground and boat transfers..!!! Wonderful diving and snorkeling along the Isle de Cano and great accommodations..!!! Thank you once again for helping me set up a trip of a life-time for my 17 high school students and 4 sponsors..!!! They just keep talking about the Amazing trip they had..!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank bnob77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Jinetes de Osa. The room was spacious, and the view was absolutely incredible. Like other reviews stated, there are a lot of steps to get up to the room. I think my daughter counted close to 175 steps. The location was great....steps away from the beach and walking distance from town. The power did go out for a short while, and there are no generators. We did have some issues with the drainage in our shower. The staff was very responsive and had the problem resolved quickly. The managers of the hotel were always hanging around by the bar. Therefore, it was very easy to ask questions. They were eager to help, and make our stay a positive experience. Overall, we had a great stay

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RBD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

We had booked 3 nights, but a last minute hitch with another place meant we wanted to arrive and stay a day early. So glad we did! Marjolaine was great at helping sort out our booking at very late notice, and also gave us an upgrade to a suite for our last 3 nights - up 185 steps - but well worth the climb! The hotel is in a beautiful location, an easy walk to the town, but with access to both the beach and the coast path, along which you never know what you might see. The restaurant definitely served the best food we had in Costa Rica. It seems the power does, understandably, go off quite regularly - so our only comment is it would be good to have be warned before we headed up the steps, looking forward to a coffee......!! The standard rooms (our first night) are quite basic, the suite very comfortable. Very pleased we chose to stay here and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Suites are very quiet and have the best view, and coffee and tea making facilities, but are a climb!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barb_Glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews