We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Place with Great Scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
725 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Quiet Place with Great Scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We visited Laguna Lodge in May 2012 and found the hotel charming. The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had comfortable furnishings and great views. Although an avid carnivore, we still found the vegetarian food very tasty and never went hungry. The wine list has a number of very good wines. Many wines were very reasonably priced.

The hotel is remote with a three hour drive and then 20 minute boat ride from Guatemala City. It sits on 100 acres of natural preserve so it is a bit remote. Great if you want to get away and relax. Although you can hike the preserve, we elected to stay in the hotel as it rained every day.

My wife had a massage and was extremely impressed with the masseuse. There is a Jacuzzi and while comfortable, depending on your package, there may or may not be a charge to heat it up. The views are magnificent and we were able to enjoy a very quiet long weekend.

Of course, there were some problems. The wireless internet was available, but never worked for me. The pool was drained and cleaned during our stay. As there is no air conditioning, if the room is not comfortable you can open the large balcony windows to make the temperature pleasant, but doing so seems to invite all sorts of 6 and 8 legged visitors. It is a nature preserve so the bugs are expected, but they can be a nuisance.

Overall we were pleased with the facilities and enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the staff for taking great care to ensure we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    50
    18
    7
    10
See reviews for
67
261
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I wish I had read thru the bad reviews about this property, as they are indeed accurate ( see post of April 2012). Our experience mirrored hers. But it only got worse as we came down with the worst case of tourista after our first dinner. We spent the next 24+ hours confined to our room. Having no AC, the rooms are full of flys & bugs of all varieties. We couldn't wait to leave this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaLodge, Manager at Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
We strive to provide exceptional services and experiences to our guests and we are sorry that you were not feeling well on your arrival. The high altitude of Lake Atitlan creates a mild and comfortable climate and our adobe building materials naturally ventilate the suites. As with all other hotels on the lake, we do not have AC. The lodge is surrounded by nature and there may be occasional insects which the staff will relocate when spotted and upon request. Guests dining in other restaurants should be aware that salads, raw foods and local meats may be unsafe. At the Lodge we grow our own greens and vegetables organically and source from trusted providers to maintain Zotz Restaurant’s high standards of healthy gourmet cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned home after a luxurious stay at Laguna Lodge on Lake Atitlan in Guatemala. The hotel has been lovingly built and decorated by Mayah & Jeffro, using local materials and local workers. The interesting local artifacts and decor make it unique.
It was relaxing watching the lake change its colours and moods with the weather. The local fishing boats and passing public transport boats created another source of interest to watch.
Our room had magnificent views of the lake and San Pedro volcano, as do all the rooms. I left my curtains open at night so that I could wake up to the wonderful sight of the lake, boats and volcano in the morning without even getting out of bed! The top lounge area was a good place to relax and do some Tai Chi while gazing at the views. The hot tub is situated in a semi secluded area with some lovely flowers drooping down. There were DVD's to watch in the lounge area, as well as a chess board and colourful photographic book on Guatemala to look at.
The vegetarian food was tasty, imaginative and very fresh. I especially enjoyed the local Guatemalan breakfast of eggs, black beans and tortillas. The fire in the dining room of an evening didn't seem all that necessary for warmth but it certainly created ambience to enjoy pre dinner drinks.
It was exilarating and challenging to walk up on the nature reserve, well worth it for the amazing views. It was worth reading the information in the "Interpretive Room" before doing the walk as I learnt a lot about the area first.
The staff (all local indigenous people) went out of their way to assist us, and always with a smile on their faces. Our Spanish was not very good but there was no problems with communication.
The rates for room, meals and drinks were certainly reasonable for a 5 star eco lodge.
The hotel is situated in one of the most isolated areas on the lake with internet connections variable. However, while we were staying at the hotel this was was being upgraded to bring this amenity up to the best standard in the area.
We would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing break. We hope to return again one day and enjoy another luxurious holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms have the same great view, they are just at different heights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed, comfortable, and relaxed. The location is stunning and unique. The lake and volcanoes are dramatic and exotic. The room was lovely. Fresh flowers each day. Wonderful bed, which was great because we caught up on some much needed rest here. The nature reserve on the property is phenomenal. Great hiking and views. The food was delicious! My husband is a carnivore so he was a bit nervous when he arrived and found out that there was no meat on the menu. But even he loved the food and was never hungry. We thought that the prices for food and alcohol were very reasonable.
The owners are incredible. They are truly passionate about creating an exceptional eco friendly resort. I appreciated the materials that they had in the room, their insights on the environment, and that they were never overbearing about their passion. I saw on tripadvisor that a couple people commented on the staff. I found the staff to be exceptional! My husband lost his wedding band when he dived into the lake. Well one of the staff members put on snorkel gear and found the wedding band! I can't imagine the staff at many places even caring, let alone snorkeling to find the ring!
I also would recommend getting a massage.

Thank you to the owners and everyone working there. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aandb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg harbor township
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Was totally blown away!! Loved the seclusion,relaxed,warm, atmosphere. Was able to truly unwind from the hustle in life. Food was very good , you could taste the freshness!!! I have been to many destinations around the world. This is truly one of my favorites and will defiantly return to . It's like a feeling of being in another world almost. Brightest and most Bueatifal stars at night. Lodge was thoughtful in so many ways to our trip.View of lake from lodge is amazeing , almost surreal!!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is truly a five star experience. My gorgeous room was right on the most beautiful lake in the world (as all the rooms are) and the birds, sumptuous setting, sunsets, soothing lake sounds, and staff/owners make this hotel one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in worldwide. I've been to 27 countries on 4 continents and have never been in a hotel like this. The owners know the best tours and activities to do on the lake, having lived here themselves for many years. They are friendly, vibrant and passionate about helping you have a wonderful time on the lake. Perfect for honeymoons, family, solo, everything. Although you may not want to ever leave your room its that good. The food, ambiance and staff are over the top great. Don't miss this!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I got an account on trip advisor just to write a review about this place. I am a world traveler and have never had a bad of an experience as I did here. This hotel is at least 3 times more expensive than any other hotel on lake atitilan. The hotel is pretty but that's where it end. No one is around to help you if you need it, staff stays at the hotel so you can't have anything to eat before 8 or after 8:30 at night. If the are there they are not very attentive so plan to wait for a long time if you eat, even if you are the only person in the dinning room. The rooms are not private as you can hear every single other room and the staff talking. Internet is a joke. None In the rooms or even in the common area. Anytime I wanted to get online I had to ask for them to set it up and even then I couldn't get or recieve emails. The manager has no knowledge of the lake or tours to take. They will try to rip you off at every turn. I took the same tour they offered for half. The electricity is spotty and after attempting to heat the hot tub for two hours I got in it and it wouldn't function I was told because of the electricity. Also I got a skin infection from the hot tub and had to go to get medicine from the pharmacy. I left and stayed at casa de munro which was less than 1/3 the price with ha more private, tranquil room and more helpful knowledgable staff. I have no idea why or how this place got such high ratings.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaLodge, General Manager at Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Zotz restaurant opens at 7.30am every morning and last orders for dinner are taken at 8.30pm while the bar stays open until the last guest has left. Some staff stay overnight on premises to provide room service and special requests at all hours, for which there is no extra charge. Internet is fast and reaches the patios of all suites and common areas. Some old computers do not connect to our modern wifi system well as the older technology does not support the newer wifi systems. Laguna Lodge’s manager is from Lake Atitlan and knows everything there is to know about tours to villages and surrounding attractions. When asked for particulars of adventure sports, as in this case for scuba diving information, he must advise you for safety reasons to talk directly with the dive masters. Tours organized from the lodge are seamless, safe and comfortable with indigenous guides and drivers providing unique cultural experiences. Options with other tour operators running group tours may have diminished levels of care, service and safety. The Hummingbird Spa’s river rock spa pool takes two hours to heat due to its size and outdoor location. It is filled with crystal clear water that is purified continually with an ultra-violet, copper and silver ion filtration system. We apologize that a pre-existing condition may have been aggravated by soaking in hot water. Laguna Lodge is a boutique hotel offering luxurious and authentic experiences for the discerning traveler and is not comparable to budget hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
3.5 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
2.1 km away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.1 km away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
4.7 km away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Property: Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Address: Tzantizotz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Lodge is on the lakeshore of the legendary Lake Atitlan and exclusively nestled in its own nature reserve. Entry into this Mayan world begins by boat. In a privileged setting our luxuriously natural 5 star boutique hotel commands sweeping views over azure waters to a trio of dramatic volcanoes. Inspired by nature and created from volcanic stone, adobe and palm our spacious lakeside suites are individually appointed with comfortable hand hewn king beds, fine linens, intricate woven textiles and indigenous antiques. In the evenings our award winning Zotz restaurant is bathed in golden hues from a large stone fireplace and antique candelabras, a romantic ambiance for a fine dining experience. After the days tours and adventures enjoy a dip in the hot river rock spa pool and be pampered with a relaxing body treatment offered at our Hummingbird spa. Relax at the lava bar or lakeside pavilion and watch the surreal sunset turn into a star studded night. The Mayan highlands are rich in culture and the lodge’s indigenous staff look forward to offering you a unique and memorable experience! - Utz Ipetik! Welcome! Come and explore, discover and experience with us and see why Time magazine says – Laguna Lodge is pure Maya magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort And Nature Reserve
Laguna Hotel Eco Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Guatemala/Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing