We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, pretty good food.”
Review of Plaza Bonita

Plaza Bonita
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Tusayan
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I thought the service was great. It was crowded but they got us in quickly. Got us chips and water within minutes of sitting down. Much appreciated. Drinks were good, I had a couple prickly pear margaritas. I had carnitas plate and liked it. A member of our party had steak fajitas, lots of meat but bland. Not great but not bad.
Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable meal and greatful to get in and eat anything decent after a busy day of hiking on Saturday night at a National Park. Prices reflect the setting ( more than you usually pay)

Thank coachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliana A, Manager at Plaza Bonita, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear coachem,
We are so happy to hear that you liked the service. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the food. We appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, Eliana Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 133 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Despite mixed reviews we went to Plaza Bonita because they have gluten-free dishes.
It was not the best dining experience.
The plate was probably more hot than the food. Microwave heated???
The chicken in my tortiella was wet and tasteless.
The salsa and guacamole were good.
All in all, the food was not worth the money in my opinion.

Thank Mikten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliana A, Manager at Plaza Bonita, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Dear Mikten,
The owner knows about this problem. He will talk with the chef to verify the ovens or the problem. Thank you so much for your help!! We appreciate it. Sincerely, Eliana Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We ordered to go after a long day at the Grand Canyon. Food was great and service was also. Definitely recommend to try a meal here!

Thank PABS719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliana A, Manager at Plaza Bonita, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Dear PABS719,
Thank you so much for visiting us. We appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, Eliana Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We arrived and were told it would be up to a 40 minute wait. We came out of the park to dine because my kids wanted mexican food, so didn't have a choice but to wait. They give you a # instead of calling your name, within 5 minutes they called my number and because I was told 40 minutes, was not paying attention. Next thing we knew they called the number above me, so I went to the hostess and they told me they gave my table away. That should have been red flag number 1 to leave!! The waiter grabbed me when he saw I was obviously upset and found a place to seat us. We ordered our food and within 2 minutes we decided on nachos, he would not reverse our order, red flag number 2. We received our meal 15 minutes after ordering and it was slop on the plate:( Food tasted disgusting. Reason I gave 2 stars is because to be fair, the chips and salsa were really good.Went to use a Visa gift card that I had just received and confirmed the $$ amount, they would not take it, red flag #3. Waste of $50 on 3 meals, would not recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julesann69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliana A, Manager at Plaza Bonita, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Dear Julesann69. Thank you so much for your feedback. Because of your comments now we have pagers. We are trying to work better for a future guest. Sincerely, Eliana Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We were really hungry after hiking the Grand Canyon but other than the fresh, hot chips and salsa everything else was very average and way too expensive. There was hardly anyone in the restaurant as we were early for dinner and our food took really long and was disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank schfamtravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliana A, Manager at Plaza Bonita, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Dear schfamtravel6, We do apologize for the inconvenience. We appreacite your feedback. Sincerely, Eliana Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Plaza Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing