We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value - Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Feather Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Orlando
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Value - Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

No reservations, was expecting a "Walk In" surprise as far as pricing - we were given a choice between the Newer main building or the older drive section - since it was late in the evening, and were just going to "crash", we chose the older section. That old adage of not judging by the cover, certainly was the case here. As I approached our room, I had second thoughts about our choosing it - however, after opening the door, my "surprise" was how updated and comfortable the room was. It had to be a recent renovation - so if your going to the Grand Canyon (south side) do yourself a favor and book this hotel, and specify the lower priced room "out back"

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orlando00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    968
    713
    165
    78
See reviews for
722
910
77
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here at Thanksgiving time (2011) with our kids, grandkids and 3 dogs in two rooms. The rooms were very clean and reasonalbe and had newly remodeled bathrooms. we had some noisey neighbors but they quieted by bed time. When you're looking around the Grand Canyon there are almost no facilities that allow dogs. I was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the negative reviews about the dog rooms but believe me they're just fine and resonable to boot.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nor56001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We ended up staying at this hotel at very late notice, as a consequence of our previously booked hotel losing our booking. A decent hotel with nice rooms, only 10 minutes or so from the south rim of the Grand Canyon. Arguably one of the best value hotels in the area (value being a relative term at the Grand Canyon - everything is expensive!)

Room Tip: The hotel is set back a little from the main road, but it's not a busy road - arguably all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickVeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plesant Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Tourist trap towns are usually overpriced with quality issues. Tusayan is no exception. The Red Feather Lodge's main building is across from the Holiday Inn Express but it a better experience. My room was almost clean and everything works as it should. The bed was comfortable with sufficient pillows. Bathtub was worn and the toilet seat could have been cleaned better. WiFi worked OK and there was actually a desk for business travelers. Three basic chairs in the room. The shower was a bit wimpy. Compared to the Holiday Inn Express across the street this place is better although there is no free breakfast. Room lighting was a bit better than most. I can live with an older CRT TV than a flat screen.

This place does need clean up, paint up and fixing. The carpet was frayed near the bathroom door exposing carpet nails...dangerous. The bathroom door was yukky -- needs work. I mentioned the tub had a large worn black area. The heater/AC worked but was a bit noisy.

This is the newer of the two Red Feather buildings. The other is older and may not be as good.

The main hotel is all nonsmoking.

For a night or two, this place isn't all that bad which for Tusayan is saying a lot.

Room Tip: New building only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6530bx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

It was about 30% less that the cheapest (and lower quality) alternative in the park. It was clean and well-maintained. Decent for the price. No breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here as part of a pre-organised tour in January 2012 for 2 nights.

The Lodge is located along with other hotels near to the South Rim entrance. If you go into the main entrance of the Red Feather Lodge, then if you're staying in the older part of the hotel (it looks more like a motel) like we were, then leave your bags in the car as you'll need to use the lift as the hotel's on a slope. There seemed to be plenty of spaces to park but we were there out of season.

The "motel" part is just across a small parking area - my twin room was on the first floor (second floor if you're American). It had two comfy beds, a desk, chest of drawers and tv, hanging rail for clothes and a good heater (needed in January) and was clean throughout. The bathroom was small but functional - there were good toiletries provided and plenty of towels - like most American hotels, the sink unit's outside the bathroom.

The Lodge itself is close to Grand Canyon Airport, which is useful if you're thinking of taking a helicopter tour. It's also close to a Wendy's, McDonald's, a General Store and a restaurant that served pasta/pizza and salad (forget the name but it was really good) - all are within close walking distance.

The WiFi wasn't bad speed-wise and had good signal strength - the lobby has a computer if you want to use the internet and need a PC. It also has free coffee available, as well as vending machines down the hall if you need something else. A few of us used the laundrette facilities in the main part of the hotel - the staff were happy to change notes for us to use the machines.

Overall would definitely stay here again if visiting the Grand Canyon as it's not far to get into the park and has good amenities.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

If you don't find a room inside the park at the Xanterra lodges, this is the option. The stop for the park's shuttle service is right outside this motel and it provides frequent and good connectivity all through the day to the park's visitor's center. The Nat Geo center is next door as well and there are a few fast food joints around. However, the staff is most of the times very unresponsive, sloppy and unhelpful. The rooms are small though reasonably well appointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dipayanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.3 km away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
9.2 km away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.1 km away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.2 km away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
9.5 km away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Property: Red Feather Lodge
Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Feather Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Feather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing