We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience!”

Colossal Cave Mountain Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This desert refuge has sheltered people for over a thousand years. It has been home, shrine, hideout, challenging workplace, exciting playground, tranquil retreat. On the National Historic Register, the 2,400-acre Park showcases crystal-filled Colossal Cave and historic La Posta Quemada Ranch. Cave tours, museum, Western trail rides, picnicking. Open daily
Reviewed April 18, 2018

This was our first visit to a dry cave and were pleasantly surprised. Being our first time there, we took the basic tour that was about an hour long. I thought I might be cold but was very comfortable at the 70 degree temperature and low humidity. The cave runs about 70 degrees year round. There was plenty of lighting and the tour guide did a great job explaining what to expect before entering. The tour guide also did a great job talking about the history of the cave and gave us time to take pictures along the way. It was well worth the trip and I would recommend this stop if you are in the Tucson area!

1  Thank salleygirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColossalCave, Mgmt Support at Colossal Cave Mountain Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your cave tour! Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope you will come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ladder tour"
in 39 reviews
"basic tour"
in 19 reviews
"gift shop"
in 38 reviews
"regular tour"
in 14 reviews
"petting zoo"
in 15 reviews
"civilian conservation corps"
in 5 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 16 reviews
"stalactites and stalagmites"
in 6 reviews
"tour guide was very knowledgeable"
in 5 reviews
"year round"
in 7 reviews
"picnic area"
in 8 reviews
"nice tour"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 16 reviews
"minute tour"
in 5 reviews
"interesting information"
in 5 reviews
"tour group"
in 6 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 7 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 443 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

First visit. Went with my wife for the ghost hunting tour. Was very pleased with the staff and the surroundings. Btw, the rest rooms were spotless, I actually couldn’t believe how clean it was. Wife had the same reaction in the ladies room...

Staff was friendly, and knowledgeable. Eager to welcome guests. The tour was interesting. We heard a little history of the cave and it’s suspected ghostly inhabitants. Got to participate in operating some of the instruments and cameras as the lead ghost hunter tried to coax some unexplainable happenings. We did not really see or hear anything convincing but I was extremely pleased that they weren’t trying to pull off a fake stunt. Seemed like a legit search which turned up nothing.

Cave was really cool, and we’re going back for a regular tour this weekend! Very excited.

2  Thank BahamaRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColossalCave, Mgmt Support at Colossal Cave Mountain Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

So glad to hear you enjoyed the new ghost tour, it is interesting and you never know what's going to appear! Thank you for the review and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

My first visit to Colossal Cave was not for a cave tour but for a paranormal investigation conducted by John Albrecht of Paranormal Playground. John is a residential and commercial paranormal investigator. Who set out to unearth what paranormal activity the staff of Colossal Cave has experienced while working at the cave.
I was lucky to be among the first to experience the “Colossal Cave Paranormal investigation Tour”. John provided all participants with equipment to use while on this investigation. I found it very interesting using an EVP reader. I was astonished by the activity I came in contact with while on the tour. Having your own EVP reader while on tour just heightened the experience. We also used an infrared camera while on tour and we were able to record on our own, which added to the experience.

Communicating with the paranormal was exciting; we used a ghost box, which is a radio scanner that filters out the white noise so that we could communicate with the sprits around us. I wasn’t sure with this, thinking it could be prerecorded but when tested I was surprised with the responses we all heard. This made it more plausible.

The staffs of Colossal Cave, Mike Holmes and Bill Savary are phenomenal. They are very knowledgeable of the history and stories of the cave. This was more exciting as we walked along on our tour they joined us and stayed with us the entire time giving us the background information of each area we visited and gave us the history as well. They were eager to show us area where there was a prior report of paranormal activity. We then would conduct our own mini investigation to their accounts.

You think that was an adventure? Since it was the first paranormal investigation at Colossal Cave our tour was joined by Mike Lavelle a reporter from the Vail Voice. Mike also joined in on the investigation when he wasn’t busy writing down notes for his article; he asked questions that made our investigation turn into an investigation. This was an experience like no other. I look forward to Mike’s article on the very first Paranormal Investigation at Colossal Cave.

I’d definitely recommend the paranormal investigation tour to anyone, even if it isn’t your thing you can still experience other cave tours, western trail rides, camping, and picnicking. They also have an amazing gift shop.

2  Thank tfgmiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColossalCave, Mgmt Support at Colossal Cave Mountain Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

So glad you enjoyed our new ghost tour and thank you for the review and feedback! Hope you'll join us again and bring your friends. Our own spirit friends would also like to see you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

Took the grandkids for the tour had a great time will be going again with the family kids loved it

Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColossalCave, Mgmt Support at Colossal Cave Mountain Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hi Billy,
Thank you for taking the time to review and glad to hear you had a great time! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018

My husband and I participated in the special event Ghost Hunting Tour held by Colossal Cave Mountain Park. We had a terrific time. It was awesome to see and use the special equipment for hunting spirits in the cave. It was a VERY cool experience. The staff at Colossal Cave is so knowledgeable and friendly and we loved the more personal experience especially for this tour. We were able to participate in the hunting techniques instead of just tagging along. It was terrific. Highly recommend the Tour, the staff and the Cave! Go! It is a great experience!

Thank highenergy10m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColossalCave, Mgmt Support at Colossal Cave Mountain Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hi There,

Happy you enjoyed our new Ghost tour and hope you'll come back again and visit! Thank you for the review too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colossal Cave Mountain Park also viewed

 

Been to Colossal Cave Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing