We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed here overnight before riding the train to the Grand Canyon. Room was very clean and comfortable. Within walking distance of charming shops on Route 66. Plenty of free parking. Great experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marycarol4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    687
    306
    88
    38
See reviews for
751
649
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Beautiful decor and friendly staff - plus proximity to the train - made it worth while, as we didn't realize we had so many other hotel options (probably less expensive) in Williams. Room was average but very clean. We enjoyed watching the train arrive in the afternoon, wandering the grounds and the close walk to town. Gift shop staff and hotel staff were all very friendly. Service in the hotel pub was very slow - only two staff working in the crowded bar, trying to serve drinks and food, which was overpriced and not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had a company sales meeting at this hotel and it was a great experience. The best thing about this place is the staff. Every contact with a staff member was a pleasant one. They really went out of the way to make you feel at home. The room was very comfortable and clean, with fairly typical desk, a couple of chairs and two queen beds. The meeting room was okay, as they were not really set up for presentations (screens or projectors). The food in the bar was pretty good, but a major downside was that the bar closed at 10:00, whether there were 2 or 50 people in there. Breakfasts were awesome, with a wide range of choices from cood-to-order omelettes to pancakes, or fruit, cereal, etc. We also took the train up to the north rim of the canyon and that was a fantastic experience. Again, the staff made it exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Hotel is clean and is well run. The rooms were a little over priced in my opinion. The hotel was ranked a 3 diamond by AAA but I feel like it is more of a 2 diamond. I guess the hotel justifies the price because of the convenience of being able to book the railroad ticket and room together.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed night of Sept 17th with plans to ride the train Williams to the Grand Canyon the next morning. The hotel was cozy, clean, and the room was charming. The staff was very friendly. The only issue was the food. There is an option to buy the train tickets with meals included in the ticket price for the train along with an overnight stay. The depot restaurant doesn't have very good food. It's essentially a sit down cafeteria with a buffet line where food is kept warm by steam trays. I would suggest travellers consider passing on the food coupons that come with the Canyon Train ticket and walk about 2 blocks to the center of Williams where there are several places with better food.

Room Tip: Avoid purchasing meals with your train ticket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank danyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here in late February as part of a GC train package. When we checked in we were given all of the tickets/meal vouchers that we would need, along with detailed instructions of dropping our bags off in the lobby in the morning for the train ride to the canyon. I really appreciated that level of organization.

The room itself was OK. The beds were comfortable and there were enough linens. I found the water pressure to be very low. It seemed like there were water saving fixtures installed, which I can appreciate. But the pressure was so low in the shower/sink that it took a long time to properly rinse soap off yourself probably negating any water savings.

In the one night we were there, I had a hard time dialing in the climate control so that it wasn't either super dry and hot, or cold. The climate control was functioning properly, but it was just hard for me to dial in a temperature that was comfortable for me. As a previous traveler posted I initially had the same issue with the curtains blocking the heat blowing out, I fixed this by taking the bible and phone book out of the night stand and using them to weigh down the curtains on the window sill.

The dinner and breakfast buffet was included in our package. It certainly wasn't the Bellagio buffet, but it was good. You could tell the staff was working hard to keep just enough food on the buffet line so that it was fresh and at the same time they weren't wasting any, which is understandable. The pasta station and omelet stations were nice touches. Each time we went away full and satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nevada_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed here two nights in February 2012 in conjunction with taking the Canyon Railway Train. The hotel is located on the same property as the depot which made it very convenient. It has a very inviting lobby with a comforting fireplace burning in February. The accommodations were CLEAN and very nice. All staff were friendly and helpful. Spenser's Pub inside the hotel is a nice little gathering place for a cocktail or a small bite to eat in the evening should you not want the buffet offered at their Depot Cafe or do not want to go into town. The town is also walking distance to the hotel. We recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: It is only two floors, so if you don't like a bottom floor ask for an upper floor. It is a &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.2 km away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.4 km away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
440 reviews
0.5 km away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing