We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good B&B”
Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had an enjoyable evening here. We booked a room at the rear as we were afraid of the train. The place has a lot of old world charm and could probably do with a little sprucing up but the welcome is charming and you know the bread for breakfast is fresh from the bakery.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuietTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

One night stay. Very nice welcome by the staff. We stayed in the Madam's room, which was very nice, however only had skylights. The atmosphere was very warm and welcoming. The room was great: clean, modern, and we had a great bed. We regret not meeting any of the ghosts who haunt this place. It was fun that everything was taken care of. Very nice breakfast at the bakery, and during breakfast the owner introduced himself and gave us lots of information about the area. We absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellers1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had stayed in williams a couple of years previuosly and loved the feel of the town so much we returned. It was such a lovely little community. This time we stayed at this B&B and it was a great decision! Lovely rooms, and personable staff. Only wants to make us come back again. Its really interesting that with all of the memorabillia and books on the local area. For someone from overseas who is looking for an authentic rural town with accomodation with a difference this was value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dag2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Inn was a terrific surprise. The owners have a very nice bakery but the room was top notch, decorations were very unique. Everyone was friendly and informative for other things to do in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmadilloPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

On a road trip through the South West, we were looking for a base to support a rail trip to the Grand Canyon. The location was perfect, a couple of minutes walk from the train station. We called in on the off chance. John and the team couldn't have been more helpful! Beautiful room with period furniture and atmosphere. Breakfast in the bakery was a pleasure, and John's local knowledge of the roads in the area, including Route 66 was invaluable. Would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

What a charming place to stay! The Red Garter is housed in an old building that has served many purposes over the years. It has been lovingly restored by the owner John Polst. The lower level is now a bakery; the guest rooms are upstairs. John has collected the history of the building over the years and is happy to share it with those interested.

We spent three nights in the Parlor Room. It is the smallest room at the Inn but was definitely adequate. We booked within three nights of our stay so, as advertised on the website, received a $25 discount per night. As noted in other reviews and as boldly noted on the website, one must climb a fairly steep set of stairs to access the rooms. Our room was clean, the linens fresh, towels nice (not the usual hotel or even BB standard white). The TV had cable and there was a small library of local books on the landing outside the rooms. There was plenty of hot water for showers with good water pressure. Breakfast was anything we wanted from the bakery and fruit as well as choices of cereal, yogurt, juices, teas, and coffees. John, the owner, is very personable and friendly and seems to enjoy visiting with guests as they have breakfast. He provided us with excellent recommendations for sightseeing and maps to guide us. The woman who does the baking (regrettably I can't remember her name) and served us breakfast was very nice - her friendliness adds to the charm of the inn. I can recommend this inn without hesitation!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts but this is the first at a Bed and Bakery. The place is over 100 years old. We spent 3 nights in the Madam's Room. Said to be haunted but we did not see any Ghosts. Very nice rooms that have great charm. The breakfast is a fruit plate and any thing you would like from the bakery. There is also yogurt and cold cereal if you would like. The rooms are up a steep but doable flight of stairs. The bakery is downstairs. There is a separate hall that segregates the hotel from the bakery. The best part is the proprietor, John. He has useful info about day trips in the area and will make suggestions if requested. John pointed us to a couple of great day trips. Williams is a Great Town, just 50 miles from the canyon and located on the old Route 66. Parking is across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
1.7 km away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
213 reviews
0.2 km away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#3 of 30 in Williams
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: $217 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing