We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Williams
from US$196.63
More Info
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$310.00
More Info
from US$697.55
More Info
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
22
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews couple of hours viewpoint forest picnic canyon trail stream rim hiking
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2017

We packed a picnic and drove out to Sycamore Point, driving down the fire roads from Williams. The roads were in excellent condition, even though we took a four wheel drive vehicle, which was not needed. The canyon was beautiful, and we enjoyed our picnic lunch, took pictures, and searched for insects. We found a baby scorpion hiding under a rock (which all four of our kids loved), along with a woolly aphid. This is a hidden Arizona gem.

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017

Lovely trail in the pines, with some water on the way. Bring a camera, and if you enjoy wildlife, there are good chances you will encounter some.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank vansrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

It's a good idea to stop at the Williams Ranger District Office for a free copy of the Motor Vehicle Use Map to find the trailhead for the Sycamore Rim Trail. We drove unpaved roads to a remote location, so I recommend taking necessary stuff like water if you're planning to hike. The complete Rim Trail is 11 miles. We were there on a warm June day and decided to hike out to the falls, which are dry at this time of year. Took us a couple of hours as we spent time viewing the canyon along the way. Easy hike, stunning views. Nobody else out there :)

Date of experience: June 2017
5  Thank Marian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017

This is a beautiful area that you should definitely go see! They have a double waterfall that is not a very long hike to get to. Awesome views and secluded!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2017

Just took the drive from Williams to Sycamore Point to see the vista, We used the directions from Google...which were not very accurate. Also the "What to do in Williams" free visitor magazine describes how to get there via County Road 141 and FS Road 56 ...not the way to go as it leads a dead end (do not take FS Road 54). Best way to get there is via County Road 73 to FS Road 110. It's mostly a good wide graded gravel road to White Horse Lake Campground (most cars and RV's can make it easily to the lake). Campground was closed (seasonal closure) . Beyond the lake turnoff (FS Road 12) the road (FS 110) continues but narrows and requires higher clearance vehicles due to some rocky spots and steam crossings. It was mostly dry on the road this trip but during wet weather the roadbed looks like it gets sloppy..with lots of muddy spots. It's 5 miles from the lake turnoff to the view point. Great view of the canyon from there..looks like a "mini-grand canyon" with ridges rising several thousand feet above the bottom. Allow at least 2 hours for the road trip...I recommend getting a free USFS Motor Vehicle Use map from the Ranger District Office in Williams and for only $10 buy a Kaibab National Forest Map which shows much more detail. Roads are marked with signs but getting lost could be easy without a Forest Service map since there are miles of forested roads out there!

Date of experience: March 2017
7  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews