We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Williams”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife and I just returned (2/117-18/2012) from an overnight at The Downtowner. The room was clean, flat screen tv, hot water, an ok breakfast, BUt there was no way to regulate the heat. No thermostat, so you turned it on til you roasted, then waited til it was so cold it woke you up...That's archaic and unacceptable. There is not much redeeming about Williams, except a very good restaurant right down the street that serves good food and great pies! I would suggest staying in either Tosuyan or Prescott (or drive from Prescott, view the rim, then drive to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here for one night en route from the Grand Canyon to Las Vegas. The hotel is easy to find, has ample parking and is within walking distance of a number of places to eat. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, it would be a good idea to pick a room away from the North end of the building as there is some noise from both the railroad and road. I would also agree that the bathroom was very cold. However, for the price paid, it is clean, the rooms are small but stylish and it is perfect for stopover. Breakfast starts at 7:30am which was too late for us. By the way, there is not much open in Williams in the winter time, but if you want a real diner experience, check out Twisters which is down the road from the Rodeway Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side of the hotel may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seat28B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had stayed at this hotel last year and our room was great. This year (Jan 2012) we booked again but did not like our room (106). When we arrived, the outside temp was 17 degrees. We were offered the room we booked (a suite with 2 separate areas) that DID NOT have the heat on, or a regular room that had the heat on. Which do you think we chose? Unfortunately the heater was 24" from one of the 2 beds in the room and it was impossible to sleep with the heater on due to it being noisy and the heat blasted you in the bed. And it was very cold with the heat off! The bathroom was all tile and it was freezing. We spent a very shivery night! Also, this room is on the far north end of the hotel, right next to the railroad tracks! There is a 2 a.m. train that goes through town.

Room Tip: Request the 2-room suite as it has a separate sitting area with television. But get one as far away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2go4world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This hotel was just plain perfect. We went there on March 2010 and it was a great experience. When we arrived it was snowing and it was very cold, but thanks to the heater in the room and the excellent state of the beds we had a very comfortable night, which was very needed after driving all the way from Las Vegas to Williams. The morning after we had a very good breakfast and we were on our way to the Grand Canyon.
The service was excellent, we where greeted by the very nice family that runs the hotel. The room was clean and I cant really say anything bad about the hotel.
10/10

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great place, rooms are refurbished and very clean. Conveniently located in downtown Williams AZ next to the main street (restaurants, bars etc). However continental breakfast was much to be desired. Selection was bad, no cereals, no milk, no fruit. All that was put out was bread, jam, butter, oatmeal, a few packaged muffins and coffee. If you dont want to go hungry, find somewhere else to eat

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burningman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights, while we were visiting the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. This is a far more economical alternative to staying at the pricey hotels closer to the Rim, plus you can see the Williams - Grand Canyon Railway and the Cataract Creek Gang.

The room was quite small, but very clean and comfortable, with coffee making facilities and TV. The breakfast across the road was excellent, a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockDoc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We really enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. The lady that greeted us on our arrival was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was quite small but nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed and we had a couple of chairs outside the room where could enjoy the last of the evening sun.

The hotel is in a good location and surprisingly not too noisy - the train did wake us up early but that is all part of the holiday experience! The breakfast was continental but perfectly adequate for us.

Williams is a quaint town and seems to have stepped back in time but we enjoyed our stay here. The Red Raven was recommended to us and we enjoyed a delicious meal in this restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
1.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.9 km away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.5 km away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66

Address: 201 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williams
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range: $112 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated. Flat screen TV's. Luxury linens. Located in the heart of Williams, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 Hotel Williams
Rodeway Inn And Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Rodeway Inn Williams
Williams Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing