We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,107)
Filter reviews
2,107 results
Traveller rating
1,562
415
84
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,562
415
84
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turquoise room fred harvey mary colter gift shop railroad hotel santa fe railroad self guided tour harvey hotel sunken garden current owners an art gallery public rooms train travel unique hotel step back in time eagles song signature soup
Filter
Updating list...
1,809 - 1,814 of 2,107 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Las Posada Hotel is old...its complete renovation will take a long time. Remember you are staying in a piece of history. The outside and grounds are nice and worthy of many pictures. The common space inside is expansive and can easily take up several hours of touring.
We only saw the room we stayed in, room 100. It is a cornor room with 2 view windows. You see the multiple train tracks. There is no drawer space. Only one plastic cup. Low water pressure. Not enough bath towels. Accessories good. Enough pillows. Good enough bed. Train noise did not bother our sleep. this room okay for one or two nights.
We did not dine in there, as the gourmet food is too fancy for me (plain eater). We stayed in Winslow solely to visit this Hotel

Room tip: Remember you are staying at an Historic facility
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Loved the atmosphere. Restaraunt was terrific. The trains were noisy but part of the reason we were there. I got one of the best photos I ever made (sunrise as a freight arrived from the east).

Room tip: Ask about the train noise.
Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JR_Scherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Because of glowing reports in T&L and Az Highways, we made the trip from home in Phoenix to experience nostalgia and the James Beard awarded restaurant. The room, along side the rail tracks was miniscule and allowed us no sleep as a train passed through the room every twenty miniutes. On checkout and complaint we were told we should have been advside that 90 trains a day pass by!Thanks a lot post hoc. The restaurant was good but we could have done as well in Scottsdale and saved seven hours of driving. The furnishings of all the rooms we saw were thrift shop rejects. Nostalgia was there but did not cancel out the inconvenience. Whoever has written these rave reviews probably should be incarcerated for smoking an illegal substance! The whole of Winslow is a pathetic scene of temps perdu.

Room tip: stay on the route 66 side if you must stay
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank herbwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2011

The La Posada was built in 1936. This is a loving and beautiful restoration of a historic building and some reviewers have ignored that. To me, that historical step back simply adds to its wonderful charm.
I stayed at La Posada two nights in late May, 2011. The experience was great. Both check-in and check-out were prompt and friendly. The hotel itself has many interesting aspects, and a booklet guiding you to interesting things will be given to you when you check in – use it! The interior is lovely and the garden is quite beautiful. From the windows of the Turquoise Room restaurant you can see the frequent freight trains and the rare passenger train rumble by. For me, the restaurant was a highlight of the hotel experience – the food was excellent and the service was superior every time. The Cadillac Margarita is a work of art not to be missed!
The one small exception to an otherwise great experience at La Posada, which really should be remedied by management, was the failure to provide guests with written descriptions of the hotel services. For example, water and ice are available from a machine on the first floor, but we only discovered this by accident; recycling is also possible but we stumbled on this – nowhere was the information provided for us. A guide to hotel services would be easy to create and very helpful to all guests. But this was only a minor and very easily fixed annoyance.
The rooms at La Posada are small but nicely decorated and well furnished, the hotel is beautiful inside and out, and the Turquoise Room restaurant is indeed a jewel. This is a beautifully restored historic railroad hotel and it is a place to which I would happily return again and again.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCountWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2011

When we made the reservation we were told that this is the best place to stay in town - that this beats the Best Western hands down. What we found was: Dark, dreary interior, the art is not related to a train station, the "for sale" prices are outrageous. The "original" paintings by the owner’s wife are well...... different. The restraunt / bar was overpriced - we refused to eat there because of the high prices. There is no continental breakfast of any kind unless you only want decaf coffee - no cream / sugar. They want you to eat an overpriced breakfast in the restraunt. A sign leading to the 2nd floor states to this affect: "no outside food or beverages to be brought on the premises”. The room had a microwave, no refrigerator, no phone or intercom to front desk, small terrace doors that when shut you could see daylight underneath. The room ( The Managers Room) did have a jetted tub with newer fixtures, bed was fair, faced the tracks less than 50 yards away - so we had to try to get sleep listening to trains coming by every 20 minutes - sometimes two at a time! We heard and felt every train that passed by the Winslow Train terminal that night, after 10 PM. At 2 am we couldn't take it any more. We got up and moved to the Best Western after receiving a refund. When I complained about the noise from the high speed trains, the desk attendant's come back was that people actually come here to listen to the trains! I was so happy to see the Best Western, it was 1000 times better!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kmidnighthauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews