We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
83
62
31
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
62
31
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great beer pale ale the owner costa rica craft beer service was great hidden gem a real treat nachos new chef quirky hotel casado pura vida admiring the view live here breakfast was included rooms are comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 211 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2018

There we not prices on any menu. Were were travelling with a cycling group. We ordered a 12 oz. glass of beer and were charged $3500 clones and found out after sitting a the bar all afternoon and treating our driver and several other guests that the 10 oz. was only $1550 clones. The difference was about what would be one sip for more than double the price.

When we went to order supper there also was no prices and everyone in our group was quoted different prices for the same supper. Some of our group were then charged a higher price when they went to pay. Many in our group had to wait over an hour for their food which was cold and not very good. They also ran out of items for their supper choices and were not given an alternative or reduction in what they had to pay. Make sure when ordering that they have all the items required to make it. It was the worse meal we had while in Costa Rica for three weeks.

There was dog poop left in the hallway from the night before which was not picked up the next morning.

They were told the previous night when we would be expecting breakfast but we had to wait quite awhile for the pots to brew in the morning. I would not recommend this restaurant/bar to anyone. If you do stop make sure you have a writout of the prices before ordering.

Be care the owner has mental or drug issues. Don’t stay here.

Room tip: Don’t stay there. Avoid at all costs.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

We couldn’t find a place to stay around Lake Arenal until we stopped and happened to start visiting with a lady from the states. She told us about the hotel and said if you like beer The Brewery is great. We drove up the road and found a very rustic setting hotel and brewery. We had a room on the lake side. Breezes all night long. No phones in the rooms or TVs and it was awesome. We saw monkeys, toucans, and coati’s for starters. The owner was there to ensure we were having a good time. We stayed two nights as it was so relaxing. Rooms were clean, beer was great. Food was good. Highly recommend the stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

The cycling company we were travelling with used this location as one of our stops on a 17 day trip in Costa Rica while cycling from La Fortuna to Canas.
On arrival, our check-in went smoothly- the basic rooms were ready, clean and offered a beautiful view of Lake Arenal, not to mention great air flow due to the strong breezes in that area.
We enjoyed a dip in the large, refreshing pool then proceeded to the bar for a beer. The beer choices were great and my husband and I enjoyed our choices. There was no information on the menu about prices and size options when we made our decisions so if you have questions about this, please ask prior to ordering. The pricing was indicative of a craft brewery but best be informed.
Our group had arranged to have supper at the restaurant well in advance of our actual arrival, so they were aware of at least 19 people attending that evening plus other hotel guests (at least 3 more couples) plus possible "drop-ins". That evening's menu options were delivered verbally only, again with no indication of prices. Sadly, things began to fall apart quickly at that point. The basic meals took far too long to come out from the kitchen (over one hour) and came out unequally i.e. some tables who had ordered first received only one out of 4 orders, before another later ordering table received their orders. Several in our group ordered Beef Tacos, which were passable but missing the nacho chips that had come on the first person to receive the order. When we inquired about the missing chips, they stated that the kitchen had run out -- no substitution or reduction in price was offered.
Before retiring to our rooms, one of the resident dogs defecated on the floor in the restaurant as you headed to the breezeway to access the hotel rooms. It was not cleaned up by the time we left the next morning and in fact, a "puddle" was close by in the morning.
The next morning for breakfast, one of the pots of coffee was very, very weak and they did not have enough prepared. They eventually brought out a large volume coffee percolator which was more suitable for the group (plus other guests) that they knew were staying at the hotel.
Please ensure that you ask questions prior to ordering anything from the bar/restaurant!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stopped here on our way from La Fortuna to Monteverde for lunch. We tried the $2 flight and then each ordered a beer and the vegetarian plate which was an assortment of vegetables from the garden cooked perfectly! Wonderful views as well. Would definitely recommend stopping here for lunch!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emilyclove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

We happened on this rather interesting hotel and brewery on our drive around Lake Arenal. The Volcano Brewing Company is in the cavernous basement of the building with the beer served in the very open, spacious bar upstairs.
Flights of 8 single ounce tasters are available for the princely sum of $2 to help the decision on preferred brew. The amber was our preferred and was quite excellent. The IPAs were a not too distant second place though.
Although it seems to be a recent construction, it’s has an interesting old colonial type of atmosphere, tucked back from the road with an amazing panoramic view of Lake Arenal. A pity it was dark during our visit, but those beers were definitely worth the detour.
Update: Hankering for such great microbrews, we returned to appreciate the lake view two days later... and yes, the view is lovely and on second tasting those beers are excellent!
Well done Mr. Brewmaster.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hurlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews