We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monte Azul
DeBary, Florida
1 review
“Really unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We have experienced no better place to totally unwind.
Accomodation 5 star
Service 5 star
Food 5star
Friendlyness 5 star
Idyllic surroundings 5 star.
Perfect
The Crews

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 441crews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRojasMonteAzul, Owner at Monte Azul, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear 441crews,
Thanks for the 5 stars all across! It was a delight having you and your family here for a week, and we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Please send my regards to your family!
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
86
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I signed up for the 6 day package - 3 gourmet meals and 2 activities per day- hiking, visiting a coffee plantation, cheese making, a cooking class by the hotel chef, zip-lining, cocktail mixing, farmer's marking, making artwork. Each activity was well thought out and privately arranged so we went at our own pace. The package was perfect for a very relaxing vacation - enough to do, but not too much.
The room was very comfortable, the ground beautifully maintained, the staff very attentive, the meals healthy yet tasty, and the art very high quality. A five star experience all around.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRojasMonteAzul, Owner at Monte Azul, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Henry C,
Thanks for the feedback on your 7 day / 6 night package! We thoroushly enjoyed having you spend a week with us at Monte Azul, but your smiling faces are missed by all of us. We hope to see you again soon.
Pura vida!
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Beautiful land, helpful staff, everything was absolutely perfect. The food is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracys34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRojasMonteAzul, Owner at Monte Azul, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear tracys34515,
A review can't get any better than "absolutely perfect", thank you for your recommendation!
Hope to see you again soon, after all, Florida is only 2.5 hours away :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Monte Azul is a wonderful , restful spot . Located in the southern half of Costa Rica - you are able to visit and interact with many of the cultural aspects of Costa Rica .
We were able to zip line, interact with an organic coffee farm , see a sustainable cheese producer, hike in the mts , go to the beaches , do the canopy tour, and enjoy truly great food produced locally and prepared by a tremendous chef.
If you are looking for a place that is away from the crowds and set in a rain forest setting - this is the place. There are very good local guides for any activity that you may choose to do while visiting the area .
The Jan time period worked out very well for us - mild temp and no rain

Room Tip: All rooms are equally well set up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boydw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRojasMonteAzul, Owner at Monte Azul, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear boydw123,
Thanks for the great review! Your 10-day visit was chock full of activities of all kinds and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We had gotten so used to seeing you at breakfast over those 10 days so we really missed you on day 11 :-(
Thanks again and pura vida from all of us at Monte Azul!
--Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My husband and I were looking for a special place to stay in the Costa Rican cloud forest that combined ample opportunities to enjoy nature with comfortable accommodations and an ecologically responsible attitude. Monte Azul fulfilled our expectations and so much more. This is a beautifully conceived and designed small hotel. The owners and staff are warm and welcoming. The casitas and shared areas are stylish, comfortable, and filled with original art of excellent quality. The food was delicious at every meal during our three day stay. The atmosphere is intimate, and we enjoyed getting to meet the other guests during our stay. I wish that we had time to participate in all of the classes and local tours that are available through the hotel. We very highly recommend this hotel. Anyone who appreciates art and nature will have a fabulous experince here. We will certainly return here on future visits to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRojasMonteAzul, Owner at Monte Azul, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Sudan J,
Thanks for the wonderful review.
We enjoyed having you here! It was fun talking about art and your travels, and with your amazing travel experience, we especially appreciate your comments.
We hope to see you soon!
--Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Monte Azul is a small eco-resort in the jungle above Rivas, Costa Rica that is also an artists' retreat. Carlos and Randy are wonderful hosts who have created a haven of tranquility and beauty amidst the lush jungle in Costa Rica. Only 4 casitas, but with five-star service and a fine dining restaurant, all decorated with artwork from artists who travel to their artists' retreat for session of creativity or to give workshops to other artists. The food is excellent. But the real attraction of Monte Azul is the calming combination of fine contemporary art, light-filled architecture, and nature trails revealing the abundant Costa Rican flora and fauna, all overlooking a clean boulder-filled mountain river. Seeking a relaxing place to re-energize among incredible natural and artistic beauty? You must go to Monte Azul!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetroBeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRojasMonteAzul, Owner at Monte Azul, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear doctree,
We enjoyed having you both here and appreciate your recommendation! I know you are seasoned travelers and we are happy that you found our service, ambiance and quality of product to you satisfaction.
The artist in residence program at Monte Azul allows guests as well as other artists to participate and find new talents. It's just one of the things that sets us apart and we're glad you enjoyed it!
Saludos,
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

A friend & I went to Monte Azul for lunch yesterday. It was my second trip, the first being just to look at the property 10 months ago. It is located on 100 acres of trails and waterfalls along the Chirripó river, only 10 kilometers from the Chirripó National Park. Even more than the first time, I was amazed at the care & thought that went into EVERY detail. The restaurant, the gardens, the art, the casitas, even the choice of colors - everything is designed with impeccable taste and creativity. Carlos & Randy have created a piece of heaven in a heavenly place. And now, in addition to growing organic coffee, they are making incredible goat cheese and soaps. Lunch was a choice of vichyssoise or gazpacho and a tower of roasted vegetables with bacon or a caramelized onion and arugula pizza followed by a passionfruit sorbet. We ordered everything and it was great. My greatest wish is that some day I will stay at Monte Azul to disappear from the world and immerse myself in their world of beauty and art and nature. It really is the perfect escape.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillGym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRojasMonteAzul, Owner at Monte Azul, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear BillGym,
Thanks for the great review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, it was nice to see you again! We do our best to ensure our guests are comfortable and well cared for, so thank you especially for taking note of the details.
At only 1:30 from Quepos airport, we hope to see you more often!
Saludos!
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro de El General
5.2 km away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Talari Mountain Lodge
#3 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
12.4 km away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
23.1 km away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel de Montana El Pelicano
Hotel de Montana El Pelicano
#1 of 1 in San Gerardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#7 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
8.2 km away
Bosque del Tolomuco
Bosque del Tolomuco
#1 of 14 in San Isidro de El General
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Azul

Property: Monte Azul
Address: Chimirol de Rivas, San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Isidro de El General
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in San Isidro de El General
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Azul Boutique Hotel is located on a private reserve in the Talamanca region of Costa Rica near the country’s highest point, Chirripó National Park. Equipped with four luxury riverside "casitas" and amenities and activities tailored to any type of traveler, Monte Azul provides an authentic experience for those looking to explore the nature and culture that Costa Rica is renowned for. In its short time, Monte Azul has achieved recognition from organizations like Condé Nast and TripAdvisor for elevating the standard for sustainability and style. About Monte Azul Center for Art and Design: The Monte Azul Center for Art and Design was established in 2005 with the vision of creating a haven where artists could come and express their creative nature while being inspired by the extraordinary beauty and peace of the Costa Rica highlands. The facility hosts select pieces from early and mid-career artists who produce some of the best work in Costa Rica and abroad. In addition to being a unique destination for art lovers and collectors, Monte Azul also offers travelers the opportunity to learn artistic skills like etching, monotyping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Monte Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Azul Hotel San Isidro De El General
Monte Azul Costa Rica/San Isidro De El General

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing