We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most convenient spot in Tzununa with decent wifi...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
B and B -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
San Marcos La Laguna, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
AKAMarty
Western Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent place, but the neighbors ruined my experience.”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Hummingbird Hostel is a lovely place, with friendly people and a relaxing atmosphere. I had a private room, reading lamp and comfy bed. WiFi was good.

Bathroom is downstairs, so if you have an upstairs room you will need to go down a flight of stairs and across an open space to reach the single toilet and shower.

The town of Tzununa is very small, with one restaurant and only small markets. San Marcos is not far (30 minutes walking, five minutes by water taxi, ten minutes by tuk-tuk) but the journey becomes much more challenging after night falls. Water taxis stop running, the road is dark and probably not a good idea for walking, and the tuk-tuk's triple in price.

Unfortunately, when I arrived I learned that there would not be any food available at the hostel, which was a major disappointment. Combined with the absence of guest kitchen and limited restaurant options nearby, I was definitely bummed!

Also, the church behind the hostel had REALLY loud music until late at night, and again starting very early in the morning. I usually love the sound of children playing, but right outside my bedroom window at 6 am was less than adorable. Combined with the neighborhood roosters, dogs, and firecrackers, I was ready to leave after two nights of bad sleep and having to travel to get food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Gald you enjoyed the most part of you stay , we enjoyed hosting you .... sometimes there are things out of our control ..... Its part and parcel of village life here ... there are 3 or 4 eateries in town here as well as street food vendors ..... Happy travels :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h a
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most convenient spot in Tzununa with decent wifi, low-key down-to-earth atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I ran into this one on my search for some decent internetz while staying in another casita in Tzununa. Kept stopping by after my first discovery because the wifi was decent, the atmosphere friendly, the coffee delicious and music never bad.

When I got back to Lake Atitlan for a second time after leaving for a few days, I decided to stay in this hostel, and in Tzununa again. As a solo female traveler, I really enjoyed staying here because it was safe, friendly and easy to meet other people. The hostel had a tolerant, progressive, low-key atmosphere. I met many other travelers and had great convos here. The host and volunteers were some of the most down to earth people I met on my travels. The host, Katy, is a great storyteller with a solid sense of humor and with lots of super interesting observations about the lake, the town and its people. Like, I don't know why she's not writing a book...

The dorm room is great because there are only 3 beds and lots of space in it. Private rooms are clean and fairly sized as well. Most rooms are tucked away from the main hang out area so you can hide away in tranquility should you need it BUT I recommend chilling out in the kitchen / hammock / deck area because that's where you'll probably meet other friendly travelers and maybe locals. You might also want to consider joining communal dinner as the food is affectionately prepped and sourced from around the area.

Tzununa itself has easy access to the rest of the towns around the village by boat and is a gorgeous 20 min walk away from San Marcos but it is not as touristy. It has its own share of quirkiness, amazing sunrise from the deck, hummingbirds and hikes, friendly locals, permaculture and spiritual spots, and super loud funky churches.

Hostel is on the main road going up to the village on the hill and a few minutes of a walk away from the deck. If you are staying in Tzununa, this is probably your most convenient choice re:access. The only bummer I can think of is - for those who are on an extreme budget - that there is no communal kitchen.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you so much , we loved hosting you too , welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We loved our stay here, Katy was a brilliant host and the food was super tasty. One of the most friendly and welcoming places we stayed at our whole trip, the only downside was having to leave to continue our travels!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
See you soon we loved hosting you xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C
Ibiza Town, Spain
2 reviews
“Homely rustic backpackers hostel with great food”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I stayed at the Hummingbird Hostel for a few weeks - enough time to really get up close and personal with the daily comings and goings of an authentic Mayan village. The hostel has just one shared dorm with mixed beds, plus 4 private double rooms, so it's small and cosy and the evening meals (all veggie) are hearty and tasty and sociable - everyone eats together. Katy usually bakes bread and the veggies are bought fresh every day from the indigenous farmer next door. It's a very relaxed place and the facilities are basic, but you have everything you need plus the beds are super comfortable. Katy and her volunteers are a friendly, fabulous bunch of people and I left there feeling like I had a new family. A lovely experience and brilliant value for money. It's just 5 mins walk from the dock or a 15 min tuk-tuk / 30 min walk to San Marcos so location is ideal. I'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind words Jane , we miss you too xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just like home”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I had such a lovely experience staying here. It's so peaceful and love is in the air. They make absolutely delicious food made with love. Katy is just wicked and when I come back to this lake I will definitely be staying here.
My only suggestion is it would be nice to have a small kitchen accessible.
I already miss the little monsters and wonderful vibes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
awww, thanks guys , we loved meeting you and happy travels xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atitlana7
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just like at home.”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely little place. Located in a Tzununa village, about 10 minutes ride on a Tuc Tuc from San Marcos. Run by Katy who opted for an intimate, trusting and loving atmosfere. Time seems to stand still here. I personally really enjoyed lazy afternoons an a hammoc, reading my book surrounded by kittens and adorable dogs. The rooms are cosy and beds comfortable, very easy to meet new people.
Breakfast and dinner are served daily (not included in price) cooked personally by Katy and her helpers. It's freshly prepared, vegan/vegetarian with love, just delicious! So far the best meals I ate during my trip.
Overall very friendly and cosy. Definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thanks so much , a pleasure to host you , welcome here any time , and happy travels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo G
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed November 25, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a wonderful little place tucked away in the small town of Tsununa on Lake Atitlan.
Katy was an amazing host and looked after us well, she also makes a decent cup of tea (very important for us British!)
I whole heartedly recommend the evening feast which left our bellies full of delicious veggie food!
Compared with other hostels around Central America there is an abundance of compfy places to sit and relax and make use of the decent wifi.
The only issue we had was that the municipal water was not working for long periods of time, however this did not affect the shower due to it being fed my a large water store on the roof and they have filtered water for drinking available too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thanks for yor kind words , we loved hosting you , happy travels xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing