We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Your Looking for Something Special, This is The Place”
Review of Nimajay

Nimajay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Catarina Palopo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nimajay
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If Your Looking for Something Special, This is The Place”
Reviewed 5 October 2009

As a seasoned traveler I was thoroughly impressed during my stay at Nimajay. Our hosts, Joe and Carrie Piazza, have created a relaxing and splendid resort. The views are spectacular. The property overlooks Lago Atitan and the surrounding volcanos. The property is exceptionally detailed with attention to Guatemalan art and decor. Each living space takes full visual advantage of the surrounding geography and landscape.

During our stay the Piazzas arranged for our transportation and my trek of the Volcano San Pedro, and were genuinly interested in my experience. The cuisine was excellent, and I even had an impromptu cooking class with Carrie in the all "Viking" appointed kitchen.
We arrived as guests and departed as friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricoUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My family and I had the best time here. For us, the best part was the engaging conversation over a glass (okay several glasses) of wine one evening. Joe and Carrie are some of the most interesting people we've have the good fortune to meet. The dining and "local shop" recommendations were perfect and Joe even drove us to Panajachel a couple of times. My daughter and I were able to make tortillas with their staff and Joe makes a wonderful pepian, complimented by a nice red wine.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Joe and Carrie were most welcoming and hospitable. The house and grounds are in an idylic setting with wonderful views across the lake.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We were very lucky to stumble across the Nimajay on Tripadvisor and it was even better than any description in the reviews. The reservation process was seamless - Joe was wonderful in providing information on travelling in Guatemala. I had tons of questions and Joe got back to me on all and more.

Location: Nimajay is located in an amazingly beautiful spot – just next door to Casa Palopo (the other place we were considering). The estate is located about 15 minutes from Panajachel so you are able to enjoy the peace on quite with easily accessible restaurants. Two villages are within 20-30 minutes walk.

House: The main house and the poolside casita very tastefully decorated and have all the amenities one needs on a vacation. We stayed in the poolside casita which was private with a television (all American channels) and a mini refrigerator. Breakfast was served everyday by the maids in the cabana by the pool – what an amazing view.

Hospitality: The absolute best part of Nimajay was the feeling that you get when you go to see old friends. Joe and Carrie are extremely hospitable and opened their home to us right away. They went out of their way to drive us to Panajachel a couple of time. And thanks to them we now have a painting from a local artist. The breakfast was wonderful – particularly the typical oatmeal drink. We also joined them for a dinner and an evening by the fireside that included wonderful conversation. We had all the privacy we needed but then also had Joe and Carrie to make our time at the Nimajay very special.

  • Liked — Hospitality, views, location, room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

This is a very nice hotel. My family enjoyed our stay there immensely. The hotel owners were nice and helped us out with our tours and transportation.

The house is full of cats so if you do not like cats this place is probably not for you.

I would rate this hotel along woth Hotel Atitlan as 2 of the best hotels around the lake, both offering a different experience. Minajay is very quiet and friendly, whereas Hotel Atitlan is more convenient and touristy.

  • Liked — helpful owners
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

The Nimajay sits in one of the most beautiful spots on earth - overlooking three volcanoes on haunting Lake Atitlan. We came across the villa quite by accident when looking for a hotel in nearby Panajachel. Our hosts - Joe and Carrie (engaging North Americans) - were warm and attentive to all our needs. ...including rides to town, advice on local attractions and even help with an art purchase. Both were knowledgeable about local customs and touring sites. Food - local ingredients with a nouvelle cuisine flair - was great. Breakfast - a blow-out of fruit, eggs, tortillas and even an oatmeal-like drink - was served on our expansive deck each morning. There, we had unparallel views of the lake with breathtaking sunsets and even a full moon reflecting in the water at 5 a.m. With lush landscaping, including native orange, banana and avocado trees up a hillside path, the spot is truly a paradise. The villa is small, with only two rooms and a casita, which makes for an intimate atmosphere and an opportunity to meet other guests. Not to mention Internet access and American TV. The stay was the highpoint of our trip to Guatemala.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Journalist19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catarina Palopo
0.0 km away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 km away
Tzam Poc Resort
Tzam Poc Resort
#3 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#2 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Nimajay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimajay

Property: Nimajay
Address: Km 7,5 Santa Catarina Palopo, Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Nimajay Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing