We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location, friendly staff..but can be noisy”
Review of Hotel Chat Catsby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chat Catsby
Ranked #12 of 14 Pas de la Casa B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value, great location, friendly staff..but can be noisy”
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Myself & 2 teenage sons had a great half-term week at the Chat. Snow was excellent during the week. Very near the slopes and so no problem taking the skis from the hotel's lockers along to the entrance onto the slopes about 100 yards away. Every member of the staff that we came across was friendly & helpful. Food was basic was fine - no need to eat out - lunch time meals are expensive enough on slopes! We were on the 3rd floor at the front & on several nights it was very noisy outside in the road at about 3.30. So a room at the back might be a better idea.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanChorleywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    3
    7
    9
See reviews for
6
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

A group of us stayed here in January 2007 and had a brilliant time, there were 7 of us and we stayed in 2 rooms on the top floor, both rooms were really big for what we paid £300 each, they were fairly basic but had everything you needed and expected for a hotel in this price range.... no complaints at all.

Food was amazing as we all got massive T-Bone steaks for our first meal there which noone could finish, breakfast was basic but very nice and to be included in the price was an absolute bonus!!

I would definitely recommend staying there and is the nicest of the hotels in the resorts that me and my friends have stayed in.

Very close to the slopes and bars, almost staggering distance from Undeground bar and the pizza place next to it!

I have put a few photos up but if you need any more info drop me a line!

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2008

Stayed here for a week - this hotel is basic but clean and in the centre of things. The breakfast in the morning was great - exactly what you need before a hard day of skiing or to help recover from a hangover!!! The bar in the hotel was good craic and the staff were amazing. Beds were really comfortable.

Would recommend it to people on a budget - i'd deffo go back if i visited Pas again. In regards to the noise - it wasn't as bad as people made out.

  • Liked — The great staff
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2008

The hotel is situated above a bar - Gatsby Grill which is heavily patronised.

The old building has a very poor sound insulation with thin walls and old wooden windows which is of little use to shield the noises - music from the bar downstairs, quarrels and loud conversations of bar patrons (2 bars in the vincinity).

Thanks to the noise, my wife and myself only managed to steal some wink after 4am when the bar closes and drunkards leave the area.

The rooms are quite run down with old furnishings.

The staff is generally friendly and polite.

Will only recommend the place for visitors intending to visit the bar and planned to get dead drunk.

  • Liked — Generally friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noisy due to bar patrons and very poor sound insulation.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CleoBordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newhaven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel Catsby on Bed and Breakfast basis in the February Half Term. Despite reading all the previous reviews and hearing all the bad points, we still went ahead with our holiday.
We had a fantastic stay at the Catsby, the accomadation was very basic, but then what more do you need when you are Skiing. Despite the lack of Snow and Skiing on Ice and then having too much Snow, we had a great time and would defintly go back. The bar was very apres Ski, all the staff were very friendly.
Pas de la Casa is definetly Ibiza on Ice it is great value and the shots are free and fast, we particularly enjoyed the flaming bar Zambucas!!!
The showers were really hot which is all you need at the end of a hard day Skiing!
The hotel was kept very clean, breakfast was continetal with a great choice.
We would definetly stay there again it was good value for money and a great place to rest your head.
One night I was feeling a bit exhausted and we spent the evening in the room chilling out, so that shows that there was nothing wrong with the rooms, they were also very spacious....

  • Liked — Locality to the slopes and the Bar.......
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank beckst84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2007

Stayed in the Hotel Catsby in a week when snow was actually pretty good (for a bad ski season last year!). The hotel is basic but clean and food is excellent - especially the grill - thanks to Andy and Gaz!! Staff were helpful and had a good laugh with them - they even went boarding with us!!!! Booked direct by fax to the hotel which is [--] as couldn't find hotel with tour operator. Would book again for a break if snow is good this coming winter.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank HildaOdgen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The rainy bit
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2007

I'm really not sure why so many people have slated this hotel; it provides exactly what's required, and a little more as a bonus.
The room was a reasonable size, a little tatty maybe, but clean and warm. The bed was bunk-width, but as a student I happily slept in an identical bed for years. The bathroom wasn't exactly massive and using the shower left a small puddle under the washbasin, but the water never ran cold so I'm not complaining.
Breakfast was a typical self-serve continental; maybe it was lacking some of the luxury items, and I didn't like their choice of cereals, but there was unlimited amounts (well, nobody stopped me having 'fourths') of it and also of "fruit-juice" and tea/coffee.
I was there during a UK school holiday, so maybe it was quieter than usual, but I didn't notice that I heard people in the corridor any more than you'd expect. It's pretty obvious that rowdy piste-artists are common at this resort, but the hotel has a stated policy of evicting guests who disturb others, so I'm not sure what more they could do in this respect.
I ate most nights in the bar/grill, and the food was good, reasonably priced and plentiful; After the first night, I only ordered a snack/starter.
As a number of other reviewers have noted, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and I felt very much at home.
All in all, I'd say it was like being back in a hall-of-residence; but with infinitely better food, a much nicer hall porter and my own loo and shower.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Himalaia Pas
Hotel Himalaia Pas
#11 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Guineu
Hotel Guineu
#10 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Arka
Hotel Arka
#15 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 km away
Aparthotel Pierre & Vacances Pas de la Casa Alaska
Aparthotel Pierre & Vacances Pas...
#16 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#4 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chat Catsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chat Catsby

Property: Hotel Chat Catsby
Address: Carrer de la Solana 18-20, Pas de la Casa, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Pas de la Casa
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chat Catsby 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the shopping center of Pas de la Casa at 100 meters from the Grandvalira resort and just 300 meters from the sports center of Pas de la Casa with indoor pool, gym, sauna, garage and parking.ROOMSThe hotel offers 29 rooms equipped with bathroom, satellite TV and direct phone.FACILITIES AND SERVICESBuffet restaurant (drinks not included), Pub Gatsby, WIFI in public areas, internet point, laundry service and ski-locks free.Pets are allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chat Catsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing