We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend this apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Pierre & Vacances Pas de la Casa Alaska
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't recommend this apartment”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Got to the apartments only to find out that our room was double booked. We had booked the room months ago and Alaska apartments were aware of the problem but did not inform us. They said all hotels were fully booked in pas de la casa and arranged for us to stay in a quiet resort 30km away. This was not acceptable as we were there on a stag do. They were unwilling to pay for taxis to and from the resort and we felt it was too much for us to pay 50 euros each way everyday and night. After trying to arrange alternative accommodation with the Alaska apartment staff we realised after 3 hours they were incapable and unwilling to help. We walked the streets and eventually found an apartment to stay (2 star) this was despite the fact the reception staff (at alaska apartments) said no accommodation was available and they had called all hotels/apartments in pas de la casa. We eventually got to bed at 2am. Strong recommendation, don't risk staying at this apartment as it could really ruin your holiday. I'm aware it happened to several groups during our stay. To rub salt in the wound, we saw other groups of travellers checking in a day or two after we arrived, even though the apartments were suppost to be fully booked all week. Obviously some lies were told.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XNagox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    40
    29
    9
    15
See reviews for
38
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Last week we went to the Alaska for a weeks holiday which we'd booked seven months ago. We arrived at 10pm only to be told that our room had been double booked. After a long time trying to comunicate with reception staff that spoke very limited English we hoped they could sort us out. It became apparent that that they really couldn't care less about what happened to us. We asked them to try and sort out different accomodation for us in the area. They assured us that there was nothing else available in the Pas. The only alternative they offered was one of their neighbouring hotels 30km away. This was no good as we were skiing every day in Pas and couldn't afford the 50 euros taxi twice a day. Three hours of trying to come to some sort of arrangement the other half of our group was in process of looking for another hotel in Pas. They eventually found somewhere which was 2 star accomodation. We were relieved so happly took that room. The next day we went to speak to the manager of Alaska hoping to get some compensation. After a heated conversation the only thing he could offer was to cover the costs of our 2 star accomodation which was much less value than our original booking. Throughout our weeks stay we discovered that double bookings at the Alaska had happened to at least 7 other parties. I would stongly advise everyone to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't Book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Killarney, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed in Alaska with 3 other friends for 7 nights in one of the apartments and for us it was only a place to sleep. Overall it was a good experience but was expecting a bit more of a 4 star hotel. Apartment for 4 people consists of one bedroom with 2 single beds and a pull-out sofa in the "living area" by the kitchen. Definitely not 65sq meters as advertised...more like 35... The bathroom was lovely, always very warm with underfloor heating system. The whole apartment was roasting which we didn't mind (being out in the freezing weather and all...) except at night. There is no way of turning the heaters down....
Our window was looking out on the street and we didn't mind the noise outside from the nearby bar because it paid off with the views during the day!
There seems to be a lot of groups of teenagers in this hotel and since they're mostly under aged they stay inside and drink and without realising they make a lot of noise and I'm really not a light sleeper...it takes a lot to wake me up but they managed to do that. \
All receptionist where very nice and helped whenever the could but didn't seem to be informed about places in Pas de la Casa. They couldn't help us with directions at all. It turned out that the places we were looking for where only 40-50 meters down the road....
I have to say we were most impressed with housekeeping staff. Every time when we came back from the slopes we found the place spotless with our clothes neatly folded and put on beds!
Parking is very limited and it's very expensive....20 euros per day. It's quite a pickle to park as well....it took us over 20 minutes to get out of there because it's so tight with poles right trough the middle.
We didn't really watch any tv but I did look only out of curiousness. Someone commented on not having any English channels...well there is 2 and a few others you can actually change the language or get subtitles....but anyway being in a foreign country you don't expect mostly english channels.....
Kitchen is basic enough but had exactly what we needed.
The hotel is located only a 2-minute walk from the slopes and night-life.
Will definitely recommend this hotel and if I ever come back to Pas I will stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor seemed more attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madziusssia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

satyed here with another couple, after booking a 2 bed apartment, we werent expecting the ritz for pas, but with good ratings, at least a good room.
When we opened the door, discovered a double bedded room with no door and a sofa bed. When complaining to our rep, were told there were no ther rooms. So had to put up with it, lucky we were close friends haha. NO kettle in the room, which for a self catering apartment is pretty crap, had no where else to sit other than chairs around table, as sofa out bed for bed use. The bed was not comfy and had a sheet and a pitiful bedspread. Bathroom was lovely and modern, with plenty of hot water. Also had rooms cleaned, and towels changed, which was great for a self catering. close to slopes, just a walk up the hill, and right by bars. Wont stay again as very basic and rooms too small for 4.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkey80Crewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed here with my brother for a one week skiing holiday. We initially had some problems having booked a twin room and being given a double with a very small double bed.
There were no other rooms available but the guy on reception did his best to get us a room at other hotels in their chain and failing this got a temporary bed into the room for the week. This did lead to there being very little space in the room but was a good compromise.
Rooms are well proportioned without the additional bed and have a decent wee kitchenette and a more than adequate bathroom and storage space.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful and the free wifi a bonus. We didn't try any of the spa facilities but a good option to have.
The restaurant of the hotel does a good pizza also.
In many resorts I may not have given this hotel 4 out of 5 but having stayed at other Pas hotels, this one is above average.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PabMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2011

we arrived at the Alaska not really knowing what to expect as we had paid very little for a package deal, got to the apartment after being greeted by very friendly helpful staff who spoke great English, decided that we could use another bed in out apartment so asked on the way out and by the time we came back it was already in the room and they had rearranged the room to suit us better.....

The position was fantastic...... walk out the door take a right and cut through right onto the piste, ride down and hop on the chairlift...... or walk down the hill a bit to the base of the mountain and the chairlifts are right there...... literally 2 minutes either way

the room had plenty of storage space, big wardrobe for clothes, plenty of hangers, storage on top for bags, bedside units, tv with cnn and a phone.... the beds were made every day and the room was freshened, tidied and smelt clean.

the bathroom was really clean, lovely hot shower and big bath with shower gel and soap dispensers are wall mounted, huge mirror with great lighting, heated towel rail, hairdryer and toiletries.
Every day the bathroom was cleaned and fresh towels and toilet paper were left.

the kitchen was basic, it had everything an apartment kitchen would have including a microwave, we ate out every night so didn't really use the kitchen there's even a shutter you can pull down to close it off.... three cartons of soup there on arrival....

the reception area is really nice and threes a downstairs bar with pool table, kids play area, ski lockers and most importantly FREE WIFI.

We didn't actually go into the spa so i cant comment but i would imagine it was good.

10 / 10 all round for the price we paid

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobylarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

There are quite a few negative reviews here which I don't fully understand, unless it was there first trip out and haven't stayed anywhere in a resort before. (To those moaning about not having a kettle - i've never stayed anywhere in a resoirt with a kettle, it's what a pan and the hob are for).

In over 10 years of skiing and boarding, this is the second best place i've stayed!

For the price, it's an absolute bargain. I've now stayed in 4 different hotels in Pas and this is by far and above the best by a country mile.

The downsides -
The Spa was rubbish. 7 Euros for the day, but nothing worked. The Hot Tub/Jacuzzi was luke warm. The steam room was out of order, and the Sauna was no hotter than the rooms if you cranked the heat up the max.
The location isn't great for getting to the slopes. It's a 5 minute walk up or down to the lift, I don't see this as an issue, but i'm struggling to think of downsides. On the flip side to this, you are a minute away from most of the night life! Awesome!
The free Wi-Fi can't be received in the rooms, you have to go to reception/the bar/or downstairs to the "social area".
The ski lockers are for ski's, no way you can fit more than one snowboard in there. Not an issue for us as we left them in our bathroom and did a quick tune up every morning.

Good points -
Spacious rooms compared to anything else i've stayed in. Plenty of room for 4. One double bed and two single (the double is in a seperate room).
Massive bathroom, with heated floors and constant hot water (a very refreshing change from everywhere else i've stayed).
Great friendly service, all the staff except one old cigar smoking man were brilliant.
Whilst a walk to the slopes isn't a stones throw away, all the good night life is - as is the perla negra, amazing food and good guys in there.
Rooms cleaned everyday with new sheets - and the beds were surprisingly comfortable.

Someone else here moaned about there being one english channel, so whilst I don't usually touch the tv whilst on holiday, I thought i'd have a look. We found 3. And since you're in a different country, what did you expect, a full sky package!?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoothfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#18 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
73 reviews
0.1 km away
Font D'Argent Hotel
Font D'Argent Hotel
#5 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
161 reviews
0.1 km away
Solaris Apartments
Solaris Apartments
#19 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
124 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
148 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Himalaia Pas
Hotel Himalaia Pas
#11 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Pierre & Vacances Pas de la Casa Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Pierre & Vacances Pas de la Casa Alaska

Property: Aparthotel Pierre & Vacances Pas de la Casa Alaska
Address: 4 Carrer de la Solana, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra (Formerly Alaska Aparthotel)
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pas de la Casa
#4 Spa Hotel in Pas de la Casa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pas de la Casa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Pierre & Vacances Pas de la Casa Alaska 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR RESIDENCE PAS DE LA CASA ALASKA The Pas de la Casa Alaska residence is located in the centre of the resort, 100 m from the ski lifts up to Grandvalira-Pas ski area. A 6-storey building with a lift, it offers accommodation ranging from studios for 2 people to 1-bedroom apartments for 6 people. Some apartments have a large terrace. The restaurant on the ground floor offers set breakfast menus, making your stay even more enjoyable. The residence offers a wide range of à la carte services including a fitness room, a spa (hot tub, hammam, sauna and hydrojet showers), ski lockers, a covered car park, a children's play area and a lounge with a TV and bar. Like the other towns in Andorra, Pas-de-la-Casa is a shopping hot spot thanks to low taxes on products. There is also a variety of sports, perfume and jewellery shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Aparthotel Pierre & Vacances Pas de la Casa Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Aparthotel Hotel Pas De La Casa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing