We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go!”
Review of Auberge d'Inxent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge d'Inxent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inxent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2017

M. and Mme. Six are consummate hoteliers. Their warm welcome envelopes you as soon as you arrive. We have been staying there for nearly 25 years, sometimes for a short break and at other times as an overnight stopping point on our way into, and returning from, France. There is nothing better than to wake up with the prospect of the whole of France before you after a perfect breakfast!
The menus for lunch and dinner display the best of local produce. The meats fall off the bone and there are wonderful fresh trout from the river at the bottom of the garden. All the plats are presented most attractively. The wine list, as befits a former sommelier, is a model of its type. Terrific values there.
In autumn and winter you might find a casserole simmering on the original stove in reception beside the ancient "zinc" counter. Very atmospheric.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean, comfortable and simple.
No wonder that it was favoured as a hideaway by the Prince of Wales and Mrs Simpson. Elizabeth David liked it too, even before the present owners took over.
It is difficult to improve on simple perfection but l'Auberge manages to do so.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

We ate in this auberge three years ago, when me and my girlfriend were staying near the inn. So when we came back from our holiday in France last weekend and were looking for an overnight stay, the auberge came up our minds. We booked a dinner and a room.

The dinner was great again, though in my memory it was less than three years ago. And the prices are (comparing to my standards) somewhat high. The room was simple, but ok (compared to the dinner, the price of the room was very reasonable) . It was all clean. The shower isn't really practical, since you have to shower lying in bath. What is always a thing when you're in France is the size of the beds.... French people in general aren't that tall. Dutch people are the tallest people in the world.... Where in Holland I am with my 1,88m (6'2) quite standard, in France I am huge and have difficulty fitting in the bed.... And because the inn is situated next to a road, you can hear and see (lights) the cars going by at night. Luckily there is not much traffic at night.

The auberge is a great place to have an overnight stay during a trip. Dinner is great and a room is very affordable. The inn is really traditional decorated and feels really cosy. You feel like staying in a French living room from 50 years ago (which is positive).
I think we would choose another hotel next time, since it's our second time here and we would like to have a new experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deeveehaa1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Really pretty small restaurant with outside terrace. The owner was very hospitable and helpful. We really enjoyed the food, particularly the fresh trout from the River Course which runs along opposite the restaurant. The restaurant was dog friendly with our two medium sized dogs, who just sat under the table, not squashed in at all. Would definitely go again if in the area, and we walked to the lovely village of Buessent after our meal, along the River. Really enjoyable

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pam077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Establishments such as Auberge d'inxent are increasingly hard to find. A small family run B&B with a divine resturant attached for delicious French home cooking at its best. You can feel the owners kindness the minute you arrive. They are friendly, attentive and assist with any request including helping us find a vet for our dog. OK the rooms are not brimming with mod cons, but we wanted the rural France feel not that of a Holiday Inn. If you want a glimpse of a loving home, superb food, extensive wine list, and all convenient for travelling to the Euro tunnel this is a must.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We were quite excited to eat at this restaurant as the reviews were SO good. I emailed to ask if there was a free room on the required date. The reply was " Yes, we have a room with a bath" I assumed it was the ONLY room, so, although I would have preferred a shower, accepted.
The room( No 1)was small, but pretty, and very clean, The standard size dbl bed was surprisingly comfortable, and we slept well.
The bathroom was large and airy, but had a VERY deep old fashioned bath which was difficult to get in and out of, especially as the floor tiles were slippery. There was a hose attachment, but no wall fixture, We could have put up with this had there been no alternative , but we found out much later , we were the ONLY guests staying. We would happily have paid more for a room with a shower.
However, we came to eat...
The dining room was nice, Msr Six was nice, the food was nice... Sorry, I can not get any more enthusiastic than that.
We chose the 29E menu as it had a scallop starter.
Our 1 scallop was swimming around in a lot of liquid, and a little over done.
My husband's Troute Meuniere was ok. My veal was tasty , but rather dry and overcooked.
My husband enjoyed his Tarte au pomme. My Ihe Flottante was not the best I have ever had but the meringue was heavy & spongy.
Maybe it was our bad luck to come on a Monday, but while the food was " acceptable" it was in no way exciting or innovative,
Would I return...sadly not.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mairi315967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Rather old fashioned but immaculately clean rooms, very comfortable but simple accommodation. Lovely food and charming proprietor. Amazingly extensive wine list, mainly due to the proprietor being a sommelier by profession. If you are looking for traditional, comfortable accommodation, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmb2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed again our meal at the auberge. The food and service were excellent. We have known this auberge for over 20 years and never been disappointed. Local food, charming old building. Very friendly and helpful restaurant owner Monsieur Six - happy to recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank JPD62240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inxent
7.7 km away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
724 reviews
7.9 km away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
348 reviews
2.5 km away
Le Domaine d'Herambault
Le Domaine d'Herambault
#1 of 1 in Montcavrel
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge d'Inxent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge d'Inxent

Address: La Vallee de la Course, 62170 Inxent, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Inxent
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inxent
Price Range: $131 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge d'Inxent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge d`Inxent Hotel Inxent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing