We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, historic getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have stayed at The Crescent many times in the past and we are never disappointed. The history of the place is awesome and The Crescent takes advantage of this. We always take the ghost tour and on our last trip we watched the Dr. Baker one act play. They are both so much fun! I especially love the cats, Jasper and Casper and we remember Morris, from one of our first trips. We have used the spa services the last two times we have been there and we love the couples massage! We love The Crescent and it will continue to be our favorite place to stay when we go to Eureka.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9,997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,698)
There are newer reviews for 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,906 - 1,912 of 2,698 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

We decided to stay here for our Anniversary and to explore the history and ghostly encounters that we reviewed. Check in was slightly challenging and the verandah rooms were unavailable. We were immediately told about a resort fee of $9.95 that would be applied to the bill and I thought that was reasonable. When we got to the room on the 4th floor (the elevator was out of order) the room was so small and not worth the $170 a night. We decided we would not request another room due to it being a busy weekend. Saturday night we ate at the "Steak buffet" and for $25 per person I suggest you eat downtown. I don't even eat steak so I had the chicken and it was hard and dry and the selection was very poor and not worth the price. The upstairs bistro has a beautiful view but again, DO NOT EAT THERE! Way too pricey. We had breakfast included every morning and that was mediocre. The Sunday brunch had so much hype and was better but they advertise Champagne and you literally had to ask them for it. The new moon Spa was nice (best part of the hotel).
Checking out was fast but the customer service lacks quite a bit like many have mentioned in their reviews. Also, the charges applied to your final stay are ridiculous! The resort fee that I discussed early wasn't for the whole stay but for each night we stayed plus a service gratuity fee and of course a guest room tax which is understandable. I booked through Orbitz and was charged $200 more when I checked out from what I was quoted which I'm trying to resolve now. If you want to experience the paranormal activity, floating orbs (we got some) and the ghost tour stay here; if you want anything else stay downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our 2-night stay at the Crescent Hotel was lovely, and we loved the old-world feel of the historic hotel. The lobby was ornate and handsome. The elevator was out of service during our stay, but it was no problem to walk up the wide staircase to our third floor room. We had a king bedroom which had direct access to a balcony through French doors. The balcony was also shared with the rooms on each side of us, but we never saw anyone else using it. The view was wonderful at all times of day. All the furnishings were antique and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, with a top-line mattress. There was also a huge flat screen TV on the wall. However, as with any historic hotel, you have to expect some concessions. The room was equipped with a window air condition unit, which did cool well but came with the normal noise associated with such. The closet was small with no door, and there was no full-length mirror anywhere in the room. The bathroom was small but clean, with a pedestal sink and traditional tub/shower. Lighting in the bath was adequate and typical of the period. The main drawback of the accommodations was the hot/cold water for the shower. Neither my husband nor I could ever get it adjusted just right where it would stay at a reasonable temperature. As expected in an older shower, there was not much water pressure either.

Throughout the hotel interior, the carpet did appear rather worn, and the doors to the rooms rather flimsy. But outside, the grounds were impeccable with gorgeous flowers everywhere you turned.

We were pleased with the service we received in nearly every area of the hotel. We had breakfast each morning in the Crystal Dining Room. The meal was the same each day and included made-to-order omelet with buffet of sausage, biscuits and other breads, hash brown potatoes, and dry cereal. The dining room also serves dinner, but we did not have occasion to try that. We did eat a couple of light meals upstairs at the Art Deco funky Dr. Baker's Bistro and Sky Bar on the hotel roof. It has a nice eating area on the balcony as well as a dining room inside.

The hotel offers a free shuttle van to the shopping area, but it is within walking distance if you have a comfy pair of shoes on and don't mind walking down some steep inclines. If you prefer to drive your car to the shopping district, you can park for free in the Basin Hotel lot, using a free pass the Crescent Hotel provides.

The Crescent is supposed to be haunted, and they offer paid tours that explain the history. We did not take the tour but did pass it a couple of times, and there seemed to be a lot of interest among the guests. For the record, we never encountered a ghost while we were there.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony access.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memphisnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were not that impressed by the room r the food at the crystal dining room. Had breakfast buffet and it was cold and not that tasty. We wanted an omelet and there was no one at omelet station and when the cook finally came to make us one , he was not very happy--said he did not like being called the omelet guy--very bad attitude and very unfriendly.

The lack of elevator was very inconvient, my husband was wearing a heart moniter at the time and having to go up and down 3 flights of stairs was not very comfortable for him and taking the luggage up and down was not very good either.

We would not stay again if we make a return trip to Eureka Springs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I made a reservation through the hotel website for a package, "Feel Relaxed- 1 Night Spa Revitalizer". My wife and I checked in aroung 3 pm. Immediately after checking in, we contacted the spa to make a reservation, but there were none until the following day at 5:00 pm. Nevermind the checkout time is 11:00 am. When we called managment to ask what we could do, we were told to return the 2 voucher for 1 hour massage and our bill would be adjusted accordingly. However, the rate for the night would be more without package. There was no attempt to accomodate us or any apology for the inconvenience. We decided to leave immediately. When we made the reservation online, there was no advisory note to scheduled massage prior to arriving. Very dissappointing contact with hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank MHerrera119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Crescent is over 100 years old. It has faults and blemishes. You just have to expect that with an older hotel. We stayed in the penthouse for 3 nights and love the romantic penthouse. The view over the valley, and the upper bedroom were fantastic.

We were told of the broken elevator 2-3 days before we arrived. I did not realize it had been broken for 6 months. Note to OWNERS: This is unacceptable!

The flight of stairs up to our room had a light fixture that did not work. Based on other reviews regarding the maintenance of the hotel, I decided to not even bother reporting this. It was a hassle during the whole visit and a safety hazard considering the steep narrow stairs.

The floor appeared to be a cheaper floor material like a Pergo instead of a wood floor that would have been authentic.

The buffet for breakfast is over priced, but decent food.

In my experience in various shops, restaurants, and the Crescent the service is vary variable. This seems to be an issue with the area and I can't quite understand why there is such variability. We had some excellent customer service experiences and some poor ones. In general the service at the Crescent was mediocre. We had the occasional great bellhop, but in general just mediocre.

I spoke to some of the business owners in the shops in town and learned that business has been bad during these economic times. The owners expressed appreciation for my business and gave great service. But, that isn't always the case.

Somehow the Crescent seems to be the epitome of the various service experiences that we had in Eureka Springs.

If you can overlook all of this, you will have a great time. Despite all of this, my wife and I had a great time. I suspect this would have been an entirely different experience if the kids had been along.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WebdudeIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for your review and we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We agree that the light was a safety issue and the report had already been made when you arrived at the hotel. It is now taken care of. As for the elevator, it is not just broken we are replacing the entire unit for your safety and convenience in the future. The hotel is over 125 years old and is delicate. As for the service we apologize for the lack of excellent service all around and the review is noted. Thank you again for your review and we hope to improve your opinion of the Crescent and Eureka Springs overall in the near future on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The room was great. I highly recommend this hotel it was a great stay and the history of the hotel was amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.7 km away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,351 reviews
0.4 km away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
165 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
#19 of 35 in Eureka Springs
131 reviews
2.1 km away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
483 reviews
2.0 km away
Edelweiss Inn
Edelweiss Inn
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 75 Prospect Ave, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3021
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range: $225 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing