We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms ”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

The photos shown by the management is somewhat dated and does not really show the real condition of the rooms and lobby area. U are better judging it by traveler photos.

We are a couple staying here with two luggages. We can't even find place to lay down ONE of our luggage let alone two. In the end we had to lay down one luggage in front of the toilet door which was a hassle for 3 days.

Bed was 2 single bed set side by side and the sheets weren't placed together to make it 1 big bed. The blankets are all single size which makes covering up at night really uncomfortable. But if you can see pass all this then the location and view is fantastic.

Located 3-4 mins walk from the center and on the way to Meteora. It's directly opposite the only car rental place in town. And right opposite is a mini market, bar and a bakery. Cafes and others are all very nearby. There is a TavernParamithi opposite also which serves the best Greek meal I had and service is excellent.

The view of my room is great. Woke up open the balcony and it was the rocks of Meteora every single morning.

It's good value for money too this hotel. Only if u can look past all the negatives.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016

Was booked into this hotel as part of the Meteora Thrones Athens to Meteora by train package. Chose their 3 star hotel option because the hotel looked pretty good in the photos. Unfortunately, the photos are old, as was the hotel, which haven't had a proper refurbishment for a very long time.

Am rating 3 for this hotel bearing in mind it is an inexpensive hotel. It is very centrally located (close to restaurants, grocery shops, bakeries and walking distance of railway station) and our street/balcony room provided a view of rock formations. The lady at the reception was welcoming, super friendly and helpful.

However, given my preference for newer, modern hotels, I can't say I had a restful/comfortable stay. The corridors are dimly lit, the room was smallish and had ceramics tile flooring & bathroom tiles reminiscent of the 1980s. The bed was firm and there's a split unit aircon. The bathroom was also small and quite a lot of black stuff (did not inspect to see if it's rust or mould) on the grouting/molding around the bathtub.

Breakfast was a little sparse - fried eggs, biscuits etc. The lady who ran it was friendly and efficient.

All in all, adequate for one night but if I had to do over, I will certainly pay more for some place newer if possible.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayaToasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We booked on line and the rooms on display were not fancy but looked adequate.
When we were shown to our room it was squalid and definitely bore no resemblance to what they had online. So watch out for the horrid little rooms at the back and make sure they don't book those for you as they also have no view of the Meteora.
On the plus side when I asked for an upgrade they offered a room in the front and the price difference was only 20 euro which I would have gladly paid up front as it was a lot better than the first one and had a full view of the Meteora. Breakfast was ok and the staff very nice

Room Tip: For View and room quality only the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Isn't it just nice to find a good hotel right on the road up to the Meteora monastaries? - you can park almost right outside the hotel, and further more we were very surprised to hear how cheap a room in this hotel actually was, considering the central location close to one of Greece's most visited areas. It's simply great value for money. The room was fair, the view was fine, the breakfast was extremely good, and the staff was very helpful. How often will a kind person in the reception take you to the third floor, show you two rooms and let you choose the one you like the best? - also, the staff in the restaurant was very attentive.
Don't listen to the user, who tried to scare you away from this hotel. OK, this is not a 6 star Hilton hotel, but what do you expect for such a userfriendly price? We enjoyed our stay in Rex hotel, because the location is very good, the price was extremely good value, the room was okay, the food was excellent - and the taverna across the street was also worth a visit, nice food and live music on a saturday night!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the street offers view to Meteora, rooms to the back may be a bit more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeifPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently had a great time, breakfast fantastic, staff amazing, free wifi. 10 minute walk from station even with luggage. Great Greek restaurant across the road called the paramithi recommend this for authentic Greek food. The area is fantastic, scenery,walks, breathtaking monasteries. A must place to visit.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Average place to stay one night in Kalambaka.
Advantages: location right in the city center, very good view on Meteora rock from terrace, convenient bed, good breakfast.
They can definitely improve lightning. E.g. in the bathroom one additional lamp would improve the situation. The same with the bedroom there were just two lamp-brackets and no central lamp or lamps over the bed.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

The room view was amazing (Meteora rocks in front of the balcony), good location (fairly close to various stores and restaurants), good value for money, clean and nice room. Breakfast was decent (fresh vegies, fruits, juice, coffee, dairy products, olives, butter&jam, biscuits). Friendly stuff.
Lovely fireplace in the reception.Loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreeaTabaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalambaka hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Meteora
Hotel Meteora
#17 of 34 in Kalambaka
227 reviews
1 km away
Alexiou Hotel
Alexiou Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kalambaka
80 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Aeolic Star
Hotel Aeolic Star
#20 of 34 in Kalambaka
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#29 of 34 in Kalambaka
85 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Galaxy
Hotel Galaxy
#16 of 34 in Kalambaka
25 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Gogos
Hotel Gogos
#21 of 34 in Kalambaka
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: 11 Patriarchou Dimitriou, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Price Range: $62 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rex is one of the most established 3 stars hotels in Kalambaka. It is situated in the centre of the Kalampaka town with all facilities and in a location which connects directly with the town and the road to the monasteries of Meteora. Looking to the rocks on the east you can see the monasteries of St. Stephanos and Saint Trinity (Ayia Trias). On these rocks, the James Bond film “For Your Eyes Only” was filmed featuring Roger Moore and Carole Bouquet in 1979. On the west side you can see the very long range of Pindos with the famous Aspropotamos (White River) area and its mountainous villages which provide a unique view for nature-lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Kalambaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing