We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
20
27
35
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
27
35
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magnificent view bed was comfortable enjoyed our stay train station balcony town
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 102 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Was booked into this hotel as part of the Meteora Thrones Athens to Meteora by train package. Chose their 3 star hotel option because the hotel looked pretty good in the photos. Unfortunately, the photos are old, as was the hotel, which haven't had a proper refurbishment for a very long time.

Am rating 3 for this hotel bearing in mind it is an inexpensive hotel. It is very centrally located (close to restaurants, grocery shops, bakeries and walking distance of railway station) and our street/balcony room provided a view of rock formations. The lady at the reception was welcoming, super friendly and helpful.

However, given my preference for newer, modern hotels, I can't say I had a restful/comfortable stay. The corridors are dimly lit, the room was smallish and had ceramics tile flooring & bathroom tiles reminiscent of the 1980s. The bed was firm and there's a split unit aircon. The bathroom was also small and quite a lot of black stuff (did not inspect to see if it's rust or mould) on the grouting/molding around the bathtub.

Breakfast was a little sparse - fried eggs, biscuits etc. The lady who ran it was friendly and efficient.

All in all, adequate for one night but if I had to do over, I will certainly pay more for some place newer if possible.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayaToasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We booked on line and the rooms on display were not fancy but looked adequate.
When we were shown to our room it was squalid and definitely bore no resemblance to what they had online. So watch out for the horrid little rooms at the back and make sure they don't book those for you as they also have no view of the Meteora.
On the plus side when I asked for an upgrade they offered a room in the front and the price difference was only 20 euro which I would have gladly paid up front as it was a lot better than the first one and had a full view of the Meteora. Breakfast was ok and the staff very nice

Room Tip: For View and room quality only the front rooms
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Isn't it just nice to find a good hotel right on the road up to the Meteora monastaries? - you can park almost right outside the hotel, and further more we were very surprised to hear how cheap a room in this hotel actually was, considering the central location close to one of Greece's most visited areas. It's simply great value for money. The room was fair, the view was fine, the breakfast was extremely good, and the staff was very helpful. How often will a kind person in the reception take you to the third floor, show you two rooms and let you choose the one you like the best? - also, the staff in the restaurant was very attentive.
Don't listen to the user, who tried to scare you away from this hotel. OK, this is not a 6 star Hilton hotel, but what do you expect for such a userfriendly price? We enjoyed our stay in Rex hotel, because the location is very good, the price was extremely good value, the room was okay, the food was excellent - and the taverna across the street was also worth a visit, nice food and live music on a saturday night!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the street offers view to Meteora, rooms to the back may be a bit more quiet
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeifPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently had a great time, breakfast fantastic, staff amazing, free wifi. 10 minute walk from station even with luggage. Great Greek restaurant across the road called the paramithi recommend this for authentic Greek food. The area is fantastic, scenery,walks, breathtaking monasteries. A must place to visit.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2016

Average place to stay one night in Kalambaka.
Advantages: location right in the city center, very good view on Meteora rock from terrace, convenient bed, good breakfast.
They can definitely improve lightning. E.g. in the bathroom one additional lamp would improve the situation. The same with the bedroom there were just two lamp-brackets and no central lamp or lamps over the bed.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews