We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We should have beileved the guidebook”
Review of Hotel Egilsstadir

Hotel Egilsstadir
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egilsstadir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Egilsstadir
Ranked #11 of 15 Egilsstadir B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

In their defence, we were there just before the start of the season and the hotel was almost empty, but...
The room was small (a metre or less of floor space round the bed on three sides) and painted brilliant white. The only decoration was a flat screen tv on the wall. But at least it was obviously clean!
A ground floor room with big windows meant we had to close the curtains most of the time - but the view was far from exciting.
Breakfast was pretty dismal. Not much quantity and no great quality. Adequate, but no more.
It was fine for an overnight stay where all you wanted was a reasonable bed and quiet surroundings, and it felt like an airport hotel (without the jet noise) which doesn't expect to do any repeat business.

Room Tip: Rooms at the west end of the building might have a lake view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

Very Friendly hotel in a great location...They were very busy when we stayed for 2nts so ended up in a very small double room which was fine as we were not spending much time in the hotel other than to sleep and eat! We ate here on both nts and again had great food and breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazzerlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We almost did not stop here because the guidebooks reviewers seem not to reflect the work management does to improve their properties. What we found at this hotel was that front desk staff is helpful and very pleasant, rooms are spotless and cozy, breakfast is acceptable, and the price is more than fair. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bentman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank alexforo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Irenedv83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mml2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mejor en el piso donde está recepción, ya que no hay ascensor y por lo menos no tienes que cargar la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fragaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Egilsstadir hotels
0.4 km away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
369 reviews
0.1 km away
Birta Guesthouse
Birta Guesthouse
#2 of 15 in Egilsstadir
79 reviews
0.8 km away
Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 km away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
217 reviews
0.2 km away
Lyngas Guesthouse
Lyngas Guesthouse
#4 of 15 in Egilsstadir
117 reviews
0.1 km away
Guesthouse Olga
Guesthouse Olga
#5 of 15 in Egilsstadir
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egilsstadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egilsstadir

Address: Skogarloend 6, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Egilsstadir
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Egilsstadir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Hotel Egilsstadir Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing