We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
64
70
30
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
70
30
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews these apartments key code spacious apartment fontana spa the kitchen self catering gullfoss waterfall grocery store golden circle living room pots and pans minute drive apartment door leave the key unit number received an email family apartment
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 186 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2018

A nice apartment for the two of us. Comfortable double bed. Very close walk to the Fontana Spa and also just down the street from the Sumkaup Straxx grocery store and adjacent gas station. There was an on site restaurant that served a decent meal at a pretty reasonable price, considering eating out in Iceland is generally quite expensive. Had ample space; also a bunk bed which went unused since we were just two people. Adequate cooking facilities allowed us to save money by preparing our own meals. There was a TV and large windows let in lots of natural light and we had a nice view of the lake. Only criticism would be that the couch was uncomfortable, with a hard edge at the top that pressed into your legs while you were sitting there, the coffee table was very small and wobbled and the pillows on the bed could have been plumper/bigger- though it seems this is the standard size for Iceland hotels; not sure why they are so small/without a lot of support. If you like a larger pillow with lots of support consider bringing your own as it can be uncomfortable over time.. (I did develop neck and shoulder pain over the week I was in Iceland from the small hotel pillows). Overall a nice place to stay and we got a great deal because we booked 5 months in advance.

Room tip: ask for lake view room
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KeepCalmandToltOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sverrir S, Owner at Golden Circle Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear friend !

Thank you so much for reviewing Golden Circle Apartments.

We do appreciate it and hope that you consider staying with us again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Clean, quiet and spacious apartment with views of the lake and set away from the main road. Well equipped kitchen including cooker, m/wave and fridge freezer. One double bedroom, plus bunk bed and sofa bed in living area and a balcony. We visited the Fontana spa which is well worth the 2 minute walk.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

These apartments are great. Spotlessly clean and they were actually a bit fancier than we thought they'd be considering the very reasonable price we paid for the night (around £100). There was a hair dryer in the room which was appreciated. These are apartments though not a hotel so don't expect hotel services although they are linked to the place across the road that did a cracking pizza. Pizza plus beer was around 2,000 ISK and in Feb they weren't too busy at 9pm. Would definitely recommend if you're breaking up your trip around the golden circle.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JohnRfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sverrir S, Owner at Golden Circle Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear friend !

Thank you so much for reviewing Golden Circle Apartments.

We do appreciate it and hope that you consider staying with us again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2017

It's not an hotel, but a bloc of apartments put to rent. You will not have anyone to receive you, but the instructions provided by email are enough to get inside. The place is spacious, clean and close to the road and attractions. The furniture is new and the linens are new and clean.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otavioclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sverrir S, Owner at Golden Circle Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2017

Dear friend !


Thank you so much for your review.

We wish you a happy new year and hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Stayed in golden circle apartment for one night, so as to stayed near the attractions for our tour around golden circle the following day. It is located ~30mins to geyser/Gulfoss, ~30mins to thingvellir national park (another direction), and ~20mins to kerid crater. The apartment is big and clean, with a fully equipped kitchen. Consider the very expensive restaurants if we dine outside, we bought groceries on our way from Reykjavik and made a simple dinner with the pots and pans available. There is a supermarket (Samkaup strax) nearby the apartment, which closed at 9pm (weekdays) and earlier on weekends (around 6pm). The room was quiet despite raining during the night and bed was so comfortable that we had a hard time waking up the next morning. Free WIFI was fast too. We got a ground floor apartment which allow us to catch a glimpse of the lake nearby.
There is no reception but the management will provide you with the location (house 1, 2 or 3), unit number and password to the keys ~2 days prior to your arrival. Golden circle apartments is also located along the same street as Laugarvatan Fontana, where you can go for natural hot spring spa, set amid mountain and lake. I would highly recommend this accommodation for those who are touring the golden circle.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yvet0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sverrir S, Owner at Golden Circle Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear friend !

Thank you so much for reviewing the Golden Circle Apartments.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we get the change to welcome you again

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews