We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
12
7
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
7
6
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Guesthouse Husid is a great place to stay for folks who prefer nature, peace and quiet away from the towns. The scenery outside was quite picturesque. We could see the snow capped peaks of Eyjafjallajokull volcano. The host was very friendly and courteous. The rooms are located in another building behind the main Cottage. There are 3 rooms upstairs and I think 6 rooms downstairs. Folks with heavy or large luggage should opt for the ground floor rooms as the stairs to climb up are quite steep and uncomfortable. All footwear must be removed just inside the front door on the shoe rack. Healthy breakfast served at 8 AM which is free and was included in the price. The host was very kind and accommodated us by serving at 7.30 AM instead as we wanted to start our day early.

In early Aug., sunrise is at 5 AM and sunset around 10 PM so very long days for sightseeing. We got a room upstairs with two single beds, a sink and a window with a nice view of rolling farmland and green hills. We also saw their sheepdog corral the sheep in the late evening. There is a small restroom (about twice the size of a airplane toilet) upstairs, along with a refrigerator, a sink, table and a few cups and glasses. The stairs to climb up were quite steep so please be aware. They had a decent sized breakfast spread with a few fruits, cereals, juices, cold cuts, breads, yogurt etc. A healthy start for a long day of sightseeing and driving!

Breakfast was included in the total cost US$137. The place where we stayed the following day cost $107 but without breakfast. So $30 unlimited breakfast for two in Iceland was very reasonable. I would suggest opting for rooms downstairs as the 2 restrooms downstairs are larger than the one upstairs. Restrooms were neat and clean. Overall a great place to experience staying in a rural guesthouse. I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms. Larger restrooms downstairs. More convenient
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Qualitypro3336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2016

It was so relaxing to stay there. The host was friendly and helpful in any ways. If you have a car, there are numbers of things to do and see in short range from this place. I got towels of the bed. There is a small sink in each room and the flat has at least three bathrooms, so I never had to wait to go to the toilet, even if there were other guests.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Svavs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2015

We've slept in the guesthouse for 1 night at the 19th of June.
The kitchen is very complete with a fridge, dishwasser, microwave, coffee-machine (Senseo, which is free to use) etc. We stayed in the nearest room to the kitchen and the room was good enough for us.

The owner of the guesthouse gave us a warm welcome. Also when she found out my girlfriend was ill (flue) during our stay she did her best to take care for her (also brought some medicine). Despite the illness we enjoyed our stay with the Guesthouse and we can sincerly recommend people to go there, as the guesthouse is situated between several golden-circle sites.

Bathroom-facilities were also okay!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessamy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed one night here in June 2014. The lady who hosted us was very nice with great advice about the area and easy to talk to.

Room: Our room was small and even though a double room it had two twin beds on opposite sides of the room, so hard to sleep together as a couple. The room was dark and very quiet- we both slept like logs! There was a sink in the room and a mirror and it all seemed adequately clean.

Bathroom and other facilities: There was a shower and toilet down the hall- we also had access to a nice kitchen and coffee maker. There was a hot tub outside that was available but we didn't have time to take advantage of it unfortunately.

Parking: There is free parking in front of the house.

Location: For our itinerary driving the ring road, this was situated right near the end of our packed day, however, it is NOT in Selfoss- it is in Reykholt which is about 32 km away. It was a little difficult to find, as it is tucked away in a neighborhood in this small town, so look on the booking website (we used booking.com) for their directions rather than GPS.

Noise: Very quiet as it was in a small town and in a neighborhood.

Price: The costs was average for the area- $96 for one night for a private double bed but the beds were really two twin beds not able to be pushed together. But as we found to be true in Iceland- the costs of lodging/food are high in comparison to US prices so don't expect the same level of comfort/service matched dollar to dollar with lodging in the US. This was particularly true at this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coldcalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Last week me and my sister were in Geysir. We had a problem with our Jeep and we couldn't go back to Selfoss. The lady offered to help us and bring us to her guesthouse...

- She opened the guesthouse only for us
- She brings us to guesthouse and the next morning back to Geysir
- She was so friendly!!!
- The room was perfect and very confortable
- WIFI was very fast

The only problem... we didn't see the northen light... but no one saw it that night! What can I say? Thanks for all and I hope to come back to Iceland again (may be in summer time next time :D )

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matteob827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews