We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great base-camp for our fishing trip!”
other travellers have booked this property
Seen from the gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop
Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
View from the hill
Northern lighs over Burfell mountain, December 2013
December 2012 - in the morning
Main entrance at the back
River and mountain view from the hotpot
Winter by lake Alftavatn.
Hot pot with massage
Mountain view from the kitchen window
Lake Alftavatn and mountains in the vicinity, 30 min. walk.
Living room
Kitchen fully equipped
Master bedroom with great view
Bathroom, with big shower, washing machine and dryer
Bedroom downstairs beside masterbedroom. Great view.
Sleeping upstairs.
Sleeping in the guesthouse with 1/2 bathroom with toilet and sink.
Washing (8kg), Dryer (9kg)
Play area upstairs.  Video,dvd, playstation.
On the way (3 min. from Selfoss town) Volcano Hekla in the background (45 min. drive)
Heading towards the Cedar log cabin (3 min. from Selfoss town).  Mountain Burfell in the background (2 min drive from...
Aurora thunderstorm at Thingvellir National Park,  10- 15 minutes drive
All shades of green
Thingvellir National Park autumn (15 min drive)
Blafjoll ski area, 35 minutes drive
Perfect location, near to Reykjavik (40 min. drive)
Beautiful northern lights
Boat trips at Ulfljotsvatn (Scouts) and Stokkseyri (15 minutes drive)
Unique Thingvellir National Park nearby 10 minutes drive.
Vestmanna Islands,  a great day tour with a ferry. ( 1hour drivce to the ferry plus 20 min sailing)
Thingvellir National Park, winter wonderland
Landmannalaugar for a day trip (2 hours 20 min. drive)
Dyrholaey close to Vík  (1 1/2 hour drive)
Þórsmörk (1 1/2 hour)
Icelandic coastline (20 minutes drive) Stokkseyri, Eyrarbakki, Thorlakshofn
Seljalandsfoss, 1 hour drive.
RiverJet on the River Hvita close to Geysir and Gullfoss waterfall (40 min. drive)
Reykjavik winter, 40 min. drive.
Nearby, Lake Alftavatn, 2km. Great walks and jogging options.
The cabins surrounding in winter time.
Freedom unspoilt!
After crossing the bridge from Selfoss, from this turn it is 4 km to the cabin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geoff055
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great base-camp for our fishing trip!”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The title says it all. Six of us had an excellent week staying at this wonderful cabin. You'll be pushed to find anywhere better. A few more fish wouldn't have gone amiss though ;)

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cabin and amazing views!”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Highly recommended! We had a lovely stay here, the lodge was spacious and homely with lots of dvds and videos for entertainment when not spending the night in the hot tub enjoying the views. With mountain views surrounding the lodge it really is breathtaking. The cabin was well equipped and warm and cosy. Great location, close to some big tourist spots and there's an amazing mountain drive if going to Reykjavik. Only problem we had was finding the lodge !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R
Winnersh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Log cabin”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Thanks Robert for all your help, one of the most friendly and nice people that you could hope to rent a home from. The cabin was amazing and the views that we got with all the snow that iceland had were amazing. The log cabin is exactly as described and perfect for going round the golden circle. Thanks again Scott.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil R
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great cabin and location - beautiful views.”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Located just north of Selfoss, the cabin was easy to find, very peaceful, clean and a great place to stay. A good location for exploring the golden circle and south coast and not too far from Reykjavik.
Cabin is well laid out, has everything you need and the hot tub is fab. Accommodates 8 people very easily, was warm and had beautiful views across the valley.
TIP - the bed linen needs to be collected from the Northern Lights inn near the Blue Lagoon which is not close by. Need to check you have the right amount of linen.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyqatar
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Most awesome cabin EVER!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Booked this cabin for my family of 5 adults. Loved the fact it was out in the middle of the golden circle area, but also because it was out away from the city. We arrived, picked up our linens, and headed out...had no trouble finding it, unlocked the door and all I can say is WOW!!!! Everyone fell in love with this place! It is well kept up, in fact it looks quite new, beds were SO comfortable and everything you would need, is already in the place! Large bathroom in the main cabin, and a half bath in the smaller guest house. Each night after dinner, we got the Monopoly game out and played until we couldn't play any more..then headed to the hot pot in hopes of seeing the Northern lights..however it was snowy or drizzly so we didn't see them..but still was a great time! The only negative thing I have to say is I am sad we couldn't stay longer here!! Thank you!! Ohh and the owner is VERY good at communicating when you reserve it and even gives you many ideas of things and places to see!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria2...
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow!!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

amazing place to stay......even saw the lights dancing outside the cabin on our final evening................bucket list :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkX542SC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage with amazing view”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Host was lovely and welcoming. The cottage is beautiful and specious.

The only reason I'm not leaving five stars is because of the cleanliness.
Oven, microwave, plates, floor and whole bathroom requires regular professional attention.

I'm sure previous occupants tried their best, but it is a tricky business to rely on tenants to act as professional cleaners.

All the best.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing