We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully peaceful with a glorious view”
other travellers have booked this property
The stunning views from the cottage!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning views from the cottage!!
View from the deck on the mainfloor Dining room / living room on the main floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The stunning views from the cottage!!
View from the deck on the mainfloor
Dining room / living room on the main floor.
Kitchen on the mainfloor also with a great view over the mountains makes the dinner more enjoyable
Dining room / living room on the main floor.
Dining room / living room on the main floor.
Bedroom 1 : Bright and cozy bedroom loft 1 ( king size bed / 2 single beds)
20/29: Bedroom 2 : Bright and cozy bedroom loft 2 (queen size bed)
Bedroom 3 : In the lowest floor (queen size bed)
Tv and entertainment room in the basement.
Tv and entertainment room in the basement.
Sunset from the deck
View from the deck
View from the deck over the lake
A nice relaxing sunny day at the cottage
Winter wonderland
The house and the 100 square meters deck overlooking the lake and the mountains.
The house and the 100 square meters deck overlooking the lake and the mountains.
Lovely cottage close to Thingvellir
The cottage and the amazing northern lights.
Winter Wonderland
A quiet winter night full of stars and snow
The cottage and the beautiful autumn colors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thingvellir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paul W
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfully peaceful with a glorious view”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This lovely cottage is perfectly situated for all the most stunning parts of Iceland such as the breathtaking Gullfoss waterfall, the unique Strokker Geyser, the fascinating tectonic fault line at Thingvellir and the desolate, eerie Kaldidalur valley if you fancy a unique driving experience. The mountain and lake views from the cottage are endlessly, stunningly beautiful. The place is nicely equipped, and has a big Hi-Fi on the lower level which is great fun.. and no neighbours to disturb! The owner always responded very quickly to any questions and was very friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsanett s
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We visited Iceland with my family and friends the very first time.

We stayed at this amazing cottege what I would recommend to anybody.
Its even better than it looks on the picktures. Very clean, warm, with even extra electric heaters for evey room.
The olny negative I could mention is the hot water pressure is a bit low.

The owner of the cottege was always very helpful, easy to reach over the phone, gave us lots of links about places worth visiting.

Unfortunately the weatther was not great was very windy a couple of day but it did not stop us enjoying the jacuzzi either.

The cottege is in a perfect location to visit especially the area around the capital, the Golden Circle, and the South Coast all the way till the Black Sand Beach.

The Glachier is 4,5 hour drive away from the cottege so we did not get all the way down there but hopefully next time.

We can not wait to visit again, :-)

If you thinking to book a self catering cottege do not hesitate to book this one. :-)

Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Dear Janet

Thank you for your very nice review we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. We just want to correct the only negative thing you mentioned. Most of the houses in Iceland are heated up with natural geothermal water which is great however the cottages and houses in more rural area are serviced with liters per minute while in Reykjavik and in the center areas get unlimited. Normal liters for cottage is 4 liters but we want to provide our guests only with the best so we buy more liters then average so we get 7 liters per minute which is almost a double more then the average, We do this so our guests can fill up the hot tub faster then in the average cottage in Iceland and enjoy it better.

Thanks again for your great review we appreciate it, you are of course always welcome back. ;)

Best regards
Hrafn & Þórunn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annfowell
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery and in the perfect cottage.”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The cottage is a little hard to find, but a quick call to Hrafn and we were sorted.
The cottage was always warm, despite the cold temperature and snow outside it was very welcoming. A great drying room for all your boots and coats. The views from the cottage are just magical. You will need a car to get out and about. We spent Christmas Day at the Secret Lagoon, which was just perfect. The people and towns of Selfoss and Reykjavik are very friendly and warm. The standard of shops are very high. We shopped at a supermarket in Selfoss and cooked back at the cottage, so didn't eat out. We went to Gulfoss and the Geyser but didn't have time to do much else in our 4 days - we would love to return. May be in Summer to enjoy the long evenings. Thank you Hrafn for your advice and guidance. It was lovely to meet you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rozziew24
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Memorable stay in a wonderful place”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Hrafns house really is a delight.
The location is amazing, perfectly situated for touring the Golden Circle and the views over the lake have to be seen to be believed. It is beautifully appointed, having everything you can need to self cater for your Iceland holiday.
The house is an hour and a half drive from Keflavik, but once you are through Reykjavic (which is not difficult to navigate to say it is the Capital) the scenery on the drive is stunning and it is no effort at all.
Nearest town is Selfoss which is 20 minutes drive and has everything you could require, with a selection of supermarkets, restaurants and shops.
Hrafn is very helpful and hospitable and gave us very welcome advice on our arrival. We also hired our car from his company and this made it very easy to sort any queries out.
The house is a lovely warm oasis to return to after the very wet days sightseeing we experienced. We had a truly wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: I loved it all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Where_2_n...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Family trip here was perfection. Everyone in the group said it was the best cottage they'd ever stayed in.

The cottage was well equipped, warm and spacious with everything my family needed. The views are spectacular and different every day wtb the changing weather. They even saw the northern lights from the cottage.

4wd car is necessary but we hired this also from The owners company and the collection of keys and car and subsequent drop off was easy and hassle free.

A great owner who really cares that you enjoy your stay.

We cannot rate this place highly enough and recommend that anyone thinking of a cottage in Iceland considers this place as it is well located, warm, wonderful condition, well looked after and right in the middle of the golden circle.

My family travelled east to west, drove to all major sights along the way and enjoyed the flexibility too of coming home to a warm cottage with a hot tub to relax in at the end of a long day sight seeing.

Thank you so much for such a lovely holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful - thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The whole booking process from initial inquiry to arriving at Thingvellir was very simple and straightforward with Hrafn always responding very promptly (and in perfect English) to any enquiries.

A car is essential and a 4 wheel drive will maximise your ability to explore the wonders of Iceland. Make sure that you are insured to travel over the gravel roads - there are a lot of them and they take you to some of the most interesting places. Driving is very relaxed with very little traffic although do ensure you have enough fuel as filling stations can be few and far between (although most are automatic and take UK cards without problem). Petrol prices (even in rural areas) were similar to or slightly below UK prices in August 2015.

The accommodation is very clean, comfortable, warm and the views are fantastic. The sunsets were amazing and we were fortunate to catch glimpses of the Northern Lights on a couple of evenings.

The nearest shops are in Selfoss (about 25 minutes drive) and include a couple of supermarkets as well as a range of other shops and prices in the supermarkets are generally broadly similar to the UK. English is widely (if not universally) spoken so there were no language problems.

The accommodation is just over an hour's drive from Reykjavik with some superb views, especially as you approach Thingvellir and the cottage.

There is much to see and do. The waterfalls at Gulfoss and the geysers are about an hour's drive. Thingvellir itself (seat of the world's oldest parliament and where the European and North American tectonic plates are slowly pulling apart) is about 25 minutes drive.

It is worth exploring the waterfalls and glaciers heading out along Route 1 towards Vik and if you are feeling adventurous, the drive north across the mountains from Thingvellir provides some amazing views.

The walk up to the hot pools at Reykjadalur (above Hveragerði) takes about an hour through scenery unlike anything just about anywhere else on earth and are well worth the time and effort.

A different view of Iceland is to be had from the back of a horse on one of the many horse riding trips that are available. Highly recommended (even for those, like me who have never ridden before - the horses are very well mannered and everything is well organised)

Don't miss Reykjavik itself which is well worth exploring (although probably best to avoid the day that the marathon is being run!)

Overall a fantastic country and fantastic accommodation. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, great location
Liked least: Slightly too warm, could have done with instructions for the heating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W
Portsmouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great house”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The house is very warm and comfortable and well equipped for self catering.
Great location only one hour from Reykjavik city centre and many sights to see within around an hours drive.
20 minutes drive away is Selfoss which has several supermarkets.

We were lucky enough to see a black Arctic fox right outside the house on our last day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$198
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing