We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
558
208
70
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
208
70
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centresea viewballycotton bayeast corkgarryvoe beachlighthouse barlovely hotelhealth clubtop classoutdoor hot tubsmall balconyfamily weddingwedding receptionbridal suitefamily roomfrom start to finishfunction room
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 885 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here during half term with our two children. Room was ok. Furniture was tired and drawn over by past guests! Bed extremely hard and uncomfortable and could really do with an upgrade. Head of shower was disgustingly dirty. Pool and gym facilities were great but was very busy with young kids at peak times. Restaurant was good and bar food was average. Incredibly busy but service was good. Staff were super and attentive at all times. Great location on beach but not much else nearby. Would award it as a 3 * at best.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank LB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2015

We have just returned from a family stay - 3BB2D. Overall we were quite happy with our stay. Hotel staff are excellent and very helpful. Location is lovely and our sea view room made it even better. A few issues could be improved upon.
We had a lovely meal in the main restaurant the first night. The second night, the main restaurant was closed and everyone had to eat in the lighthouse bistro at the far end of the hotel. We couldn't book a time or a table, we were told just to arrive. We did and it was bedlam. The place was jam packed and tables were being shoved in everywhere to accommodate the amount of people wishing to eat - hotel guests and non hotel guests. The staff on duty did they're best but it was very uncomfortable and the food suffered also. My wife sent back her main as the noodles were overcooked and had being left waiting for a while on the plate. The whole experience was a big disappointment after the lovely meal the previous night. Whoever made the decision to close the restaurant made an error and didn't factor in the number of hotel guests and the possible number of non hotel guests who would arrive on a busy week like mid term break.
The pool is a little on the small side and we felt only allowing the kids in at certain times during the day made it uncomfortable. On weeks like mid term it would be much better to allow kids in all day up until a reasonable hour in the evening and then let pool members have it to themselves.
The hotel itself we felt was a bit unbalanced - the area around reception/hotel bar was empty and the bistro area was wedged.
Not withstanding the above we still had a lovely time and would recommend Garryvoe for a family visit. The staff made every effort to make our stay a pleasant one and worked hard to overcome some "odd" management decisions/policies.

Room Tip: Sea view room is worth the extra charge.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caspien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2015

We spent a really relaxing mid term break in the Garryvoe. The family room was the most generous we've ever stayed in - really spacious. The pool and facilities were spotless and great fun. The location - just across the road from the beach and playground was fantastic Very scenic area - Ballycotton is postcard perfect. The staff were really friendly. The nicest surprise of all was the standard of the hotel restaurant - we had 2 delicious meals which were fine dining experiences!! We also ate in the bar -again a really good standard of food and service. The kids (age 7 & 9) popped in and out of the kids club each night which had great activities and crafts organised. Just a really lovely relaxed hotel break over midterm - I couldn't fault anything except to say the wifi wasn't great!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

We stayed here for three days for a wedding which was also held at the hotel. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent. Staff were polite and friendly and very obliging. The hotel had great leisure facilities, a restaurant that I was told by other guests was very good and a great little bar called 'The Cave' where the local characters congregated. The location is great for exploring East Cork and has stunning views of Ballycotton Bay and the lighthouse. An early morning walk on the beach is exhilarating. It took us less than 30 mins to drive from Cork airport. as for the wedding, the catering was some of the best wedding food I have ever had and the function hall was pleasantly decorated. Our room was enormous with everything you would expect in it. All in all it was good value for money staying here. The breakfast was everything you expect with all the usual offerings. Just 2 small issues: our room was terribly hot even when we turned the heating off and opened the windows and also I could not pay my bill on departure as the night porter was unable to deal with it but these were only minor. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must. Room 316 horrendously hot.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Quietman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2015

Myself and the OH stayed here on an escapes deal in January. Obviously the hotel was quiet at this time of year but the staff could not have been friendlier. Great pool and facilities. The hotel its self is situated to capture the wonderful view of the bay. Sunsets are amazing here and I would highly recommend hanging around on the deck to watch.

Food offering in the hotel was also very good and there are so many different things to do in the area that you wont be bored either.

Room Tip: Seaview is the only room to take.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews