We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront ”
Review of Garryvoe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garryvoe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garryvoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed back in the spring with our toddler and baby, they had a kids club with a fantastic woman doing art n craft, my little girl loved it! They had kids movie in the evening. I think we had a standard room but it was very spacious even with the double and single beds and babies cot.

The hotel is right on the beach front so would be fabulous in the summer months.

Breakfast was lovely and we ate in the bar each evening.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank CAROLINER79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here during half term with our two children. Room was ok. Furniture was tired and drawn over by past guests! Bed extremely hard and uncomfortable and could really do with an upgrade. Head of shower was disgustingly dirty. Pool and gym facilities were great but was very busy with young kids at peak times. Restaurant was good and bar food was average. Incredibly busy but service was good. Staff were super and attentive at all times. Great location on beach but not much else nearby. Would award it as a 3 * at best.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank LB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We have just returned from a family stay - 3BB2D. Overall we were quite happy with our stay. Hotel staff are excellent and very helpful. Location is lovely and our sea view room made it even better. A few issues could be improved upon.
We had a lovely meal in the main restaurant the first night. The second night, the main restaurant was closed and everyone had to eat in the lighthouse bistro at the far end of the hotel. We couldn't book a time or a table, we were told just to arrive. We did and it was bedlam. The place was jam packed and tables were being shoved in everywhere to accommodate the amount of people wishing to eat - hotel guests and non hotel guests. The staff on duty did they're best but it was very uncomfortable and the food suffered also. My wife sent back her main as the noodles were overcooked and had being left waiting for a while on the plate. The whole experience was a big disappointment after the lovely meal the previous night. Whoever made the decision to close the restaurant made an error and didn't factor in the number of hotel guests and the possible number of non hotel guests who would arrive on a busy week like mid term break.
The pool is a little on the small side and we felt only allowing the kids in at certain times during the day made it uncomfortable. On weeks like mid term it would be much better to allow kids in all day up until a reasonable hour in the evening and then let pool members have it to themselves.
The hotel itself we felt was a bit unbalanced - the area around reception/hotel bar was empty and the bistro area was wedged.
Not withstanding the above we still had a lovely time and would recommend Garryvoe for a family visit. The staff made every effort to make our stay a pleasant one and worked hard to overcome some "odd" management decisions/policies.

Room Tip: Sea view room is worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caspien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

We spent a really relaxing mid term break in the Garryvoe. The family room was the most generous we've ever stayed in - really spacious. The pool and facilities were spotless and great fun. The location - just across the road from the beach and playground was fantastic Very scenic area - Ballycotton is postcard perfect. The staff were really friendly. The nicest surprise of all was the standard of the hotel restaurant - we had 2 delicious meals which were fine dining experiences!! We also ate in the bar -again a really good standard of food and service. The kids (age 7 & 9) popped in and out of the kids club each night which had great activities and crafts organised. Just a really lovely relaxed hotel break over midterm - I couldn't fault anything except to say the wifi wasn't great!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

We stayed here for three days for a wedding which was also held at the hotel. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent. Staff were polite and friendly and very obliging. The hotel had great leisure facilities, a restaurant that I was told by other guests was very good and a great little bar called 'The Cave' where the local characters congregated. The location is great for exploring East Cork and has stunning views of Ballycotton Bay and the lighthouse. An early morning walk on the beach is exhilarating. It took us less than 30 mins to drive from Cork airport. as for the wedding, the catering was some of the best wedding food I have ever had and the function hall was pleasantly decorated. Our room was enormous with everything you would expect in it. All in all it was good value for money staying here. The breakfast was everything you expect with all the usual offerings. Just 2 small issues: our room was terribly hot even when we turned the heating off and opened the windows and also I could not pay my bill on departure as the night porter was unable to deal with it but these were only minor. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must. Room 316 horrendously hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Quietman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Myself and the OH stayed here on an escapes deal in January. Obviously the hotel was quiet at this time of year but the staff could not have been friendlier. Great pool and facilities. The hotel its self is situated to capture the wonderful view of the bay. Sunsets are amazing here and I would highly recommend hanging around on the deck to watch.

Food offering in the hotel was also very good and there are so many different things to do in the area that you wont be bored either.

Room Tip: Seaview is the only room to take.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Nice hotel in good location but few problems due to location of Accessible Rooms. When making the booking for our two night stay I originally booked two Superior Doubles with Seaview. However, as I have slight mobility problems, the week before our stay I rang the hotel to check if those rooms had a free standing shower cubicle. The Receptionist advised that the shower was over the bath & suggested I transfer the booking of our room to an Accessible Room. The room was acceptable as the bathroom had a 'wet room' type of shower but the bedroom itself was devoid of any character having plain walls, no pictures to enhance the appearance. In addition to this it was a 'long hike' to reach the room from exiting the lift, down two very long corridors, which is acceptable for someone in a wheelchair but not for someone who is struggling to walk even short distances. We're late arriving the first evening & so the only food available was sandwiches which were kindly prepared for us despite the fact we arrived after the cut off time for food. The second evening we ate in the Bistro at the Hotel & entertained family who live locally. The food was tasty & of very good quality with a very efficient & pleasant waitress. We hope that in the future when we return to the area the hotel has more Accessible Rooms close to the Lift with a Seaview.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems beware of the 'long hike' to the Accessible Rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Meadowside64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garryvoe
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,809 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
757 reviews
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
364 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,278 reviews
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garryvoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garryvoe Hotel

Address: Ballycotton Bay | East Cork, Garryvoe P25 DR94, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Garryvoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garryvoe
Price Range: $147 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garryvoe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garryvoe Hotel is a 4 star seaside hotel family owned and run by the same family for over 50 years. You and your needs are foremost in our minds and we hope we've thought of everything to make your stay special! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garryvoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garryvoe Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing