We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
558
209
70
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
209
70
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centresea viewballycotton bayeast corkgarryvoe beachlighthouse barlovely hotelhealth clubtop classoutdoor hot tubsmall balconyfamily weddingwedding receptionbridal suitefamily roomfrom start to finishfunction room
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 886 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2015

We arrived late in the evening after a tiring drive from Rosslare, to be greeted by an amazing black sky with so many stars including the Milky way. A sight not visible in the majority of Great Britain. In the morning we were greeted by a superb view over a nature reserve towards Ballycotton bay. We knew we were in for a super short break.
The enormous and well furnished bedroom included a large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable.
We ate in the Lighthouse Bistro every night. The food was well prepared and imaginative and where possible locally sourced. There was an extensive breakfast menu, which was taken whilst looking out across the bay.
The public areas are very spacious and well furnished.
The Leisure suite is excellent, I swam every morning before breakfast. It is the only hotel that I have visited that has a large enough pool that you can swim not paddle. Also I loved the strict hygiene rules; hats to be worn at all times, no out door shoes, etc. I wish other hotels had the same philosophy.
The area is suitable for casual and serious walkers.

Room Tip: Large balconies to rooms 323 to 327
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

We stayed back in the spring with our toddler and baby, they had a kids club with a fantastic woman doing art n craft, my little girl loved it! They had kids movie in the evening. I think we had a standard room but it was very spacious even with the double and single beds and babies cot.

The hotel is right on the beach front so would be fabulous in the summer months.

Breakfast was lovely and we ate in the bar each evening.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank CAROLINER79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here during half term with our two children. Room was ok. Furniture was tired and drawn over by past guests! Bed extremely hard and uncomfortable and could really do with an upgrade. Head of shower was disgustingly dirty. Pool and gym facilities were great but was very busy with young kids at peak times. Restaurant was good and bar food was average. Incredibly busy but service was good. Staff were super and attentive at all times. Great location on beach but not much else nearby. Would award it as a 3 * at best.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank LB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2015

We have just returned from a family stay - 3BB2D. Overall we were quite happy with our stay. Hotel staff are excellent and very helpful. Location is lovely and our sea view room made it even better. A few issues could be improved upon.
We had a lovely meal in the main restaurant the first night. The second night, the main restaurant was closed and everyone had to eat in the lighthouse bistro at the far end of the hotel. We couldn't book a time or a table, we were told just to arrive. We did and it was bedlam. The place was jam packed and tables were being shoved in everywhere to accommodate the amount of people wishing to eat - hotel guests and non hotel guests. The staff on duty did they're best but it was very uncomfortable and the food suffered also. My wife sent back her main as the noodles were overcooked and had being left waiting for a while on the plate. The whole experience was a big disappointment after the lovely meal the previous night. Whoever made the decision to close the restaurant made an error and didn't factor in the number of hotel guests and the possible number of non hotel guests who would arrive on a busy week like mid term break.
The pool is a little on the small side and we felt only allowing the kids in at certain times during the day made it uncomfortable. On weeks like mid term it would be much better to allow kids in all day up until a reasonable hour in the evening and then let pool members have it to themselves.
The hotel itself we felt was a bit unbalanced - the area around reception/hotel bar was empty and the bistro area was wedged.
Not withstanding the above we still had a lovely time and would recommend Garryvoe for a family visit. The staff made every effort to make our stay a pleasant one and worked hard to overcome some "odd" management decisions/policies.

Room Tip: Sea view room is worth the extra charge.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caspien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2015

We spent a really relaxing mid term break in the Garryvoe. The family room was the most generous we've ever stayed in - really spacious. The pool and facilities were spotless and great fun. The location - just across the road from the beach and playground was fantastic Very scenic area - Ballycotton is postcard perfect. The staff were really friendly. The nicest surprise of all was the standard of the hotel restaurant - we had 2 delicious meals which were fine dining experiences!! We also ate in the bar -again a really good standard of food and service. The kids (age 7 & 9) popped in and out of the kids club each night which had great activities and crafts organised. Just a really lovely relaxed hotel break over midterm - I couldn't fault anything except to say the wifi wasn't great!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews