We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Irish hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel a year ago for one night and really liked it. This time I stayed for two nights and it was just as good. It is about 10 minutes drive from Dublin airport, there is plenty of parking and a warm welcome awaits you. The reception area is spacious and the staff friendly. The bedrooms are huge and the bathroom a good size with all you need for a comfortable stay. King or Queen size bed, nice and cosy with good pillows. TV, hairdryer, extra pillows, blankets, ironing board and iron, plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. Breakfast is great, I had the full Irish and it was probably the best cooked breakfast I have ever had, very good quality sausages and bacon plus eggs done to your liking (fried, poached or scrambled), mushrooms, tomato and both black and white pudding. There is also a wide selection of juice, toast, jam, marmalade, several kinds of fruit and cereal. The hotel also has a spa with pool and treatments, i didn't have time to try it but it looked good and I hope to use it in future. In the evening we ate in the bar and there is an extensive menu of food or you could use the restaurant. Nice atmosphere in the bar and the Guinness just tastes that little bit more special in Ireland. future. All round a lovely hotel, clean, comfortable and welcoming with good food.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a room facing the golf course so that you don't hear any cars coming and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FingalRaven, Manager at Roganstown Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Hello AngieP49,

Thank-you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to read your feedback regarding breakfast as it is cooked fresh and all sourced locally. We do pride ourselves on Irish Hospitality and it is so positive to hear that is the impression you got.

We look forward to welcoming you back and maybe for 3 nights next time??!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here and attended a wedding....nice hotel, slightly out of the way - old country house at the front but new extension with lots of rooms to the back.....little character therefore as the 'old part' is basically gone - but clean hotel and rooms and handy for the airport (only if driving or get the hotel shuttle bus!). Does what it says on the tin in terms of weddings. Seemed to have lots of air hostesses staying..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLuckyDucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Upon checking in to the hotel, we informed the receptionist that we had requested that our rooms were side by side. We clearly inconvienced her as she tutted at us despite our protests that we had requested this upon booking the hotel. Rooms were average size, two double beds pushed together, clean, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and hairdryer provided in the room. Did not eat in the restaurant in hotel. Receptionist recommended Masterson's Steakhouse in Swords which was fantastic and reasonably priced. Beds were very comfortable, pillows were hard. Slept well until 03.30am when a group of people (about 4-5) decided to converge outside of our room for 20 mins and shout and scream and laugh very loudly. Rang the night porter to try to disperse the group, needless to say he didn't turn up. We waited until the group decided it was time to go to bed. Arising the next morning (Tired) we were looking forward to breakfast. Good first impressions, nice silverware on the table but on closer inspection it was dirty. Breakfast was precooked and a serve yourself affair. Rashers had been cooked in the oven (No flavour from them), Eggs were cold despite being in the hot cooker. Asked the waitress for toast and she tutted at me and returned with the toast and slammed it on the table. Another pleasant waitress came over to ask us if there was anything we needed. Mentioned to the girl on checkout about the episode the previous night to which we got a half-hearted apology. I won't return to the Roganstown Hotel and Country Club. Maybe its my fault, I had huge expectations for this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Pregnancy message at Roganstown Spa in Swords, Fab, is all I can say. The best every. Worth every penny. Heather from Manchester is a dream. With two weeks to go till my due date was not sure I wanted someone to see any of the babyness. But was really relaxing and she knew all the pit falls and walked me through it. So mammy was happy and so was baby. If no sign of baby in two weeks going back for another treat. Recommend to all you pregnant ladies.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Rooms were adequate, that's all. Food was so-so and the breakfast was not good. Do NOT buy a hard liquor drink. Swimming pool was always filled with little kids taking lessons. The spa was broken. If you don't have a car you are stuck in the middle of no where. The desk staff were very helpful although they never did get our broken tub faucet fixed and we were there a week. The service staff did have an attitufe problem like someone else said. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golflover621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Having stayed in Roganstown hotel in August with two young boys, we are only dying to get back there again. Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms, great views, superb leisure facilities, and only a ten min drive from Dublin. We also received some family outing vouchers, which just was the icing on the cake. Absolutely no complaints, a relaxing place, clean and comfortable, what more could one ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleenmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Room and staff very nice. I enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the place.

The only thing I will say is I didn't like the food. I ordered pate for a starter and it was HUGE (almost sickning) and it had butter around the edges!! Yuck! Also they only give you two tiny bits of cracker to have with it....followed by that was the driest piece of chicken I think I have ever had. It tasted like it had been sitting under one of those heading lights for a long time.
After that followed their 'cheesecake' which was more like some type of creamy moose in a cup...I've never seen cheesecake served like this!

Overall nice place but the food was a real let down! Bland and boring!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILiketoTravel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FingalRaven, Owner at Roganstown Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

I"m very disappointed that you did not enjoy your food. If we had known on the evening we would have tried to sort it out. We normally get great reviews on our food. Perhaps you would contact the hotel reception and we would like to invite you and your partner for dinner to make up for your disappointment. I would like for you to meet our executive head chef Ross when you come and he can look after you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
1.1 km away
Kettles Country House Hotel
9.1 km away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,583 reviews
18.1 km away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#17 of 151 in Dublin
2,007 reviews
4.6 km away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roganstown Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roganstown Hotel and Country Club

Address: Naul Road | near Dublin Airport, Swords 30103, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range: $132 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roganstown Hotel and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club Hotel is located in Swords, North County Dublin. Only 10 minutes from Dublin airport, Roganstown Hotel offers luxurious hotel accommodation set amidst beautiful countryside. It is the only golf hotel in North Dublin offering two championship golf courses on-site, along with gym,leisure and spa facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Roganstown Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roganstown Hotel And Country Club Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing