We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful and disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed for two nights in January.

We were allowed in the rooms early, which was handy as we arrived about 10.00am and they arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport and take us to the hotel.

The rooms were ok. The Pool, sauna and steam room are nice. You have to wear a hair cap in the pool (£2) on health and safety grounds.

The Hotel is quite far from Swords, so it costs a lot in taxis to get anywhere.

We were attending my mothers party on the Saturday night and we were quite surprised when the grumpy barman called time and refused to carry on serving us drinks, there were about 30 paying customers that ended up sitting and chatting without drinks whilst he hoovered around us and switched off some of the lights.
Considering the time of the year and they were quite I felt SOME not all of the staff were rude and unhelpful.

When we paid our bill we asked could if the free bus that was promised to the airport could drop us of in Swords instead as it was about the same distance and was told that the bus only went to the airport and couldn't be driven anywhere else. I know that they didn't have to do this but we spent a lot of money over the two nights and as it was a large party (70 people) I felt that they could have helped us out instead for paying taxis £20 to take us into Swords.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

my mother recently selected this hotel as the venue for her 70th birthday celebration. it certainly was not cheap! very picturesque venue. rooms were not particularly great, beds were average, phone for reception was unplugged and hidden away in the wardrobe. the staff, particularly the barman and female waitresses were very rude often ignoring calls for assistance. we were rushed out of the dining room immediately after the dessert, with many guests bringing their coffee out to the lounge. most guests, mainly family, stayed as they had travelled from overseas. Sunday morning staff were very nice and breakfast was good. it took th receptionist 1 hour to sort out the bill for rooms. completely mixed everything up and totally embarrassed people. we are locals to the area and would not step foot in the place again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ecarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FingalRaven, Owner at Roganstown Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank-you for your comments
I am sorry that we did not meet your personal expectations on the evening in question. It does seem you were in the minority as everybody else we spoke with had a fantastic evening. After an investigation, the reason it took so long (but not an hour!) to look after the bill was to correct the no-shows from your group. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused by this. We were not aware of anyone being embarrassed, in fact all the guests we spoke with had a pleasant evening and we have received a great deal of positive feedback from it.
I am sorry that you feel we rushed you out the restaurant after dessert. I find this difficult to understand as the music started playing after dessert – was this perhaps the reason for you to leave?
Perhaps the ‘phone’ you found in the wardrobe un-plugged was the hairdryer? The phone is located on the bedside table.
I note you are a local from your other (much shorter) reviews which were all compiled the same day – if you do decide to return to Roganstown, we would warmly welcome you back here and correct any errors you may have perceived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I went to a wedding at this hotel last weekend and stayed the night, the wedding went really well with the food been superb, and the waiting staff very friendly, The thing that really disapointed me was there was no rosé wine in the whole hotel not even in the Resturent. This is the only drink i can drink so had to drink water for the day. . I realy think this hotel should look into stocking a few different wines. The Room was ok nothing to write home about, the breakfast was just ok, service not as good as at the wedding. I had to go to another table and get cutlery as there was only 3 set out at our table of 4.There was no staff around to ask for anything. Its not all bad as the Reception staff were realy friendly and check in and out was fast and efficent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamodDublin_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FingalRaven, Owner at Roganstown Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for your review and we are glad that in the main everything went well with your stay although very disappointed that everything was not perfect whilst you were here.

I checked on the breakfast service and apparently you were seated by a member of staff and given the menu at which stage the staff member went to see to another guest whilst you looked at the menu and helped yourself to the continental buffet - she didn't notice the missing place setting. She came back and took your hot breakfast order order and because you had taken the place setting you were missing from an adjoining table she didn't realise that you were missing cutlery. So apologies for that and we have taken steps to try and avoid this in the future.

We have a new and extensive wine list but we don’t have a rose wine listed on it as it is rarely asked for. We do however have stock rose wine in our cellar and in the fridge. If you had asked a member of staff they should have been able to give you rose. Again apologies for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here last night for my 3rd time, As always never disappointed with the quality of the food and presentation was excellent. When checking in the staff on reception where very friendly as always. We had asked for a room overlooking the golf course and our request was granted no problem. Had dinner in the restaurant where the fire was lighting and gave a lovely country feel on a cold wet night. The only negative i could say is i prefered the old system for breakfast as breakfast was now a full buffet style although food was very hot and the staff again very pleasant. Had no problems with checking out bill was as expected. Will sat here again no problem.

Room Tip: ask for a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FingalRaven, Owner at Roganstown Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for your kind review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

In terms of breakfast service - we normally prefer to cook breakfast to order but on days when we have a very busy hotel that type of service can add significant delays to our service and in those cases we use a hot buffet service. Scrambled eggs are part of the buffet although we still cook poached and fried eggs to order. Guests can also have other items cooked to order (e.g. porridge and other a la cartel dishes like eggs benedict)

In general all of our food is cooked to order from fresh produce and I agree that breakfast cooked to order is definitely much nicer but with 80- 100 people coming to breakfast (and after a heavy night most come together about 15 minutes before breakfast service is over) - we'd never get everyone served. I hope you understand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Came to dublin for the first time. I stayed with my other crew for 15 days. For the price this place is great value for your money. Rooms are spacious. Food and drinks are arranged as per guests convenience. One of my crew had to checkout very early in the morning. Breakfast was arranged as if he was having in normal timings. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If I go back to dublin again, I am staying at Roganstown.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muhammad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We spent just one night in the hotel after a long, stormy ferry crossing and were very pleasantly surprised that the quality was so high considering the low price. Parking is free and our room was clean and spacious.
I managed to pop over to the gym for a token training session before dinner. It was a shame I didn't have more time as it was very well equipped. The subsequent meal was first class and again, very reasonably priced. Probably put back about 3 times the calories burned earlier, but well worth it.
Breakfast was also very substantial and kept me going until the evening. The service was good too, though it has to be said that the hotel was nowhere near full. This was just a stop-off en route, but we travel to Dublin frequently and will book a longer stay in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar009d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed three nights in one of the Heyward Mews self-catering holiday homes situated immediately adjacent to the Roganstown Hotel and Country Club. I am not sure of the relationship between Heward Mews and the Roganstown Hotel. The Mews have a seperate reservation system and probaly different management, but I assume there must be some tie-in to the Hotel as residents at the Mews can enjoy the use of the Hotels facilities. The immediate area seems to have been a coordinated development which includes the Golf Course, the Mews, a small number of upscale private homes and of course the hotel which was developed around the original stately Roganstown House.

We were really delighted with our stay. My wife and I usually stay with relatives on our trips to Ireland, but on this occasion we were a party of five. The Mews are a small cluster of very spacious, fully furnished town houses. Our house had three bedrooms and three bathrooms - one bed/bath downstairs, two upstairs. The open plan kitchen/dining/living area was more than adequate for our group. The house was furnished with a sparce modernity, but had everything we needed. Rooms were bright and we especially liked the cathedral ceilings in the bedrooms. Our stay was in the depths of the off-season, so our unit showed a few dings from the previous season, but the unit was very clean. Off season rates are very reasonable.

The Roganstown location was very convenient for us. The airport is only fifteen minutes away and access to the main roads to Dublin, Belfast and Derry is less than ten minutes. North Dublin attractions such as Malahide, Howth or the 'must see' Newgrange in Meath are easily accessible without having to deal with city traffic. Swords is a bustling town that has retained much of its traditional village feel. Roganstown is a perfectly tranquil rural setting but is still convenient (by car) to everything.

Unfortunately, due to time pressures, we did not have an oppertunity to enjoy the Hotel's facilities. We took a quick look around and were impressed with what we saw - especially the golf course. Due to the great location, I will certainly consider staying at the Roganstown Hotel on our next trip on our own, but the Hayward Mews are an option that may appeal to a family or group of golf buddies. This type of accomodation is hard to find around Dublin and having easy access to the golf course, restaurant, bar and facilities at the Hotel was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Think the hotel does not handle reservations for the Mews. Google Heyword Mews or Trident Holiday Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank repleo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
10.3 km away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,554 reviews
1.1 km away
Kettles Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
9.2 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,610 reviews
4.6 km away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roganstown Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roganstown Hotel and Country Club

Address: Naul Road | near Dublin Airport, Swords 30103, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range: $136 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roganstown Hotel and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club Hotel is located in Swords, North County Dublin. Only 10 minutes from Dublin airport, Roganstown Hotel offers luxurious hotel accommodation set amidst beautiful countryside. It is the only golf hotel in North Dublin offering two championship golf courses on-site, along with gym,leisure and spa facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Roganstown Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roganstown Hotel And Country Club Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing