We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exemplary Evening”

Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Pillar House offers a comfortable atmosphere with first class food and drink served by friendly staffWe pride ourselves on providing delicious homemade wholesome cooking with a range to suit every taste & pocket!There is live entertainment every weekend and our page is updated each week with our upcoming performers.We have a very special Traditional Music Session on a Sunday Evening at 6pm. The session is led by Roscommon men John Wynne on Flute and Frank Kelly on Piano Accordion and are also regularly joined by Patsy Hanley on Flute.As well as a full Bar & Restaurant there are also 15 En-suite Rooms, including family rooms are
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

My friends and I recently visited The Pillar House for an evening meal and afterwards cannot say enough about the place! Food and service were both amazing! Our table was waited by a warm, welcoming, young girl with an edgy unique hairstyle. Her attention to detail was second to none,the customers needs were always at the forefront. Our meal was beautiful, if you visit here you must try the steak! It was to die for! After our meal, we decided to stay for a drink at the bar as it had a cosy, down to earth atmosphere. Our group agreed that our waitress Jessie pulled by far the best pints of Guinness that we have ever had the pleasure of tasting. No pint in Dublin compares. She was kind enough to chat with us for a few minutes, telling us funny local stories, making us feel really at home. We'll definitely be returning here again and we hope to bump into Jessie once more!!

1  Thank JimHartigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

HI Jim,
What an amazing review, Jessie was chuffed when she saw your review and our Head chef was delighted with your comments. We are blessed with our team at The Pillar House and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back again.
Best regards
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 183 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

I live not far from Ballinasloe & have eaten regularly in the town but for some reason haven't been in the Pillar House. With a hour to kill today & looking for a change, I logged on Trip Advisor & read the wonderful reviews about The Pillar House & so decided to give it a try. I wasn't disappointed. I was greeted with a friendly smile & given a well thought out menu & was told the specials. I ordered the beef stir fry which was tasty and well presented. Overall a lovely lunch stop with a bit of character and friendly staff. What more could ask for!!!

1  Thank Niamh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Hi Niamh, Many thanks for your great review, as they say "sometimes the best things are on our own doorsteps" ! Thanks so much for giving us the opportunity to look after you for lunch, hopefully we will see you soon again, Best regards Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

Popped in here with my daughter for bite to eat.. instantly felt welcome by staff as we were greeted the second we came in the door. The lad who came to our table was a gentleman and a credit to whoever owns this premises. Although it was after 12 and breakfast was finished I chanced my arm by asking if it was still available, unlike other mechanical staff at chain restaurants this young lad said he would have a look and see what he could do.sure enough they could oblige with a breakfast menu. The food was perfect, the music playing not to loud and pleasing on the ear. Very good experience will certainly return. Credit to the staff.

1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Hi Patrick,
Thanks for your review on Tripadvisor. It's great to get such positive feedback and I know our dedicated team will be more than a little pleased and proud of themselves, as we are, with their service.
Thanks again Patrick, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Pillar House.
Regards & best wishes,
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2017 via mobile

Quaint setting which serves good food. Have had the steak here on two occasions and it is the best steak I have ever tasted. Always served with freshly cooked fried onions which are a treat

1  Thank CarmelmKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Hi Carmel,
Thank you for posting your lovely review and we are so glad that you have enjoyed your visits to The Pillar House. We get some super feedback regarding our Steaks and have gained quite a reputation for their quality. We source them from a local butcher and they are consistently good.
Quality steak, with fried mushrooms & onions together with our Chunky home cut chips - the simple things done well ! Thanks again Carmel.
Best regards
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2017

We were passing through Ballinasloe last Saturday evening and decided to call in to THE PILLAR HOUSE for a bite to eat, so we started with the prawns which were really fresh and tasty, cooked perfectly served with some stir fried peppers and onion, followed the starter with the fajita burger which was cooked perfectly and served with a nice dressing and home made fries, the bill came to just over 50.00 euro including a pint of Guinness and a couple of glasses of wine which was really good value, I didn't get our servers name but he dropped by a couple of times to check on us but didn't over do it and didn't charge for the coffee at the end of the meal which rarely happens but is a really nice touch, I would recommend this place and will definitely be back. GOOD JOB , and well done!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CollieByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Hello Collie,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and so glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Pillar House. We pride ourselves on serving good food and drink and providing good service in a pleasant traditional family run bar and restaurant. We have a great team and we are very proud of them. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and don't forget to keep an eye on our facebook page for upcoming events in our Folk Club and for our live music every weekend.
Best regards & thanks again
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ballinasloe, County Galway
 
Ballinasloe, County Galway
 
Ballinasloe, County Galway
Ballinasloe, County Galway
 

Been to Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing