We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Craic altogether”

Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Pillar House offers a comfortable atmosphere with first class food and drink served by friendly staffWe pride ourselves on providing delicious homemade wholesome cooking with a range to suit every taste & pocket!There is live entertainment every weekend and our page is updated each week with our upcoming performers.We have a very special Traditional Music Session on a Sunday Evening at 6pm. The session is led by Roscommon men John Wynne on Flute and Frank Kelly on Piano Accordion and are also regularly joined by Patsy Hanley on Flute.As well as a full Bar & Restaurant there are also 15 En-suite Rooms, including family rooms are
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

Four of us stayed in the Pillar House for a weekend there.. well there was a good few pints took on the Friday evening and the craic was good. We got up and got the breakfast which was a good feed I must say I didn’t ask for white or black pudding so I got an extra sausage and rasher- compliments to the chef for that. On the Saturday ah sure we had a few pints before heading round the other friendly establishments in ballinasloe and were welcomed back in to the 80s disco... we had great craic in the bar talking about Irish life and sport and everyone made us welcome to Ballinasloe. Supermacs is dead handy across the road so I made use of the that and headed back in to finish the night off with a few more lovely pints. The staff here are very friendly... there wasn’t a bit of bother in the place the whole night even with the amount of drink being served.
The accommodation did the job I must say... good bed, good shower. Sure after a good evenings craic ye could ask for nothing else! The atmosphere and craic which we had will be remembered fondly for years to come!

Stephen from Portaferry County Down
Re Feile an nGael Hurling weekend 2018
Go raibh maith agat agus Baile Atha an Slua Abu.

Thank SkipPortaferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 183 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

Walked into this place by accident and we were so glad we did. Immediately we were met with friendly faces and offered suggestions of what to eat when we couldn't decide. I can't say enough good things about this place. It had a homely feel, staff very lovely and friendly and great to talk to. The food was absolutely amazing, everything was home made and you could tell that care went into making it. We bumped into the chef afterward and he came over to make sure we enjoyed our food, which was lovely to see he cared what people thought.

1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

We got a disgusting meal yesterday. It smelled horrible and it was frozen cold. This is a horrible place to eat in.

1  Thank JamesPiero2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Hi there James Piero,
Following your very disappointing review I have spoken with each member of staff who was on duty on 20th May and there was no complaints from anyone with regard to food or service. If I personally, had a problem with a meal to the extent that you had, I would speak to a staff member / manager. We pride ourselves on all aspects of our business, which you may have noted from previous reviews that our food, customer service and the ambience in our premises are all praise-worthy. While we appreciate all reviews and use them as an aid in monitoring our food, customer service and our premises I feel that in this case you are hiding behind the anonymity of a reviewer profile. I think it goes without saying that in the service industry it is possible for things to go wrong, but it is the manner in which the complaint is dealt which leaves the customer with the lasting impression. Unfortunately you did not give us the opportunity to redress your complaints but I would be delighted to speak to you if you would like to call me at 090 96 43939 or email me directly at info@thepillarhouse.ie
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

We called here tonight and we were not disappointed. Traditional music in the bar was fantastic. We then dined here and from service to food we could find no fault. Will defiantly be back & would highly recommend a visit

Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

HI Mrs,
Many thanks for your great review and taking the time time to post it. Our weekly Trad Music session on Sunday evenings is always a hit with visitors and locals alike and it's a lovely evening to enjoy good food and music. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. I will pass your lovely comments to both kitchen and front of house staff.
Best regards
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

We detoured from the main highway just to eat at The Pillar House because of the Trip Advisor reviews. It was certainly worth it! Chicken stuffed with spinach and a side of delicious vegetables. For dessert the lemon cake with vanilla ice cream. A wonderful Irish meal that was tasty and healthy. One of the best meals that we had on our 10 day Ireland vacation. A special thanks to our friendly and helpful server, Rory

Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Hi Sandra,
Many thanks for your very kind words and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are very lucky to attract so many passing travellers who like you have read positive reviews. I'm sure your stay in Ireland had many memorable highlights and I'm delighted that your visit to The Pillar House was one of them. We have a great team working with us both in the kitchen and front of house and I will certainly pass on your comments.
Best regards
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ballinasloe, County Galway
 
Ballinasloe, County Galway
 
Ballinasloe, County Galway
Ballinasloe, County Galway
 

Been to Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing