We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Red Torch Ginger Maynooth
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Maynooth
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The restaurant was fully booked last Friday evening but the manager very kindly squeezed us in. The service and food were excellent and the raspberry martinis are too die for,For the main course I had the massaman curry which I have eaten in many Thai restaurants previously but none could compare to this -truly delicious. There was very warm atmosphere and the staff were ever so helpful and efficient,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank armenuhik2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Last night my wife and myself availed of a Two For One Earlybird offer that was available to VIP members.You are advised that you will be seated in the heated rooftop terrace prior to arrival but the reality is that it is an emergency exit corridor with retractable roof on bare wooden flooring.There are blankets available at each table.Heating was provided by four old fashioned bar heaters sited high up on one wall,this is supplemented by an efficient air heater that was switched off until a request was made for it to be switched on.End result head temperature overheated but floor level freezing.
We were not impressed by the staff member returning mid meal and asking “ is everything FOODWISE ok with you”.
This room is within full view of the diners seated within,indeed it probably provides a feel good factor to the first class clients looking down on the unfortunates out in the cold. Literally in the cold,it was zero degrees outside.
Reviewing this prior to sending I am still amazed that a manager would consider it good practice to offer a VIP program,follow it up with emails offering special deals to regular customers then because a person is astute ,liked the place from previous experience and decided on the spur of the moment to go that day.
Another issue was the EmergencySlambar literally coming apart when I tried to close the door out to the “Terrace”,The staff response was that it is ok,we will fix it.

Thankfully we are not sufficiently destitute to be treated like garbage and will not be returning again.

Ultimate irony is that the food is absolutely beautiful and in normal circumstances we would continue to dine there regularly until we were treated as VIP Customers

1  Thank Autumnsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTorchGinger M, General Manager at Red Torch Ginger Maynooth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi Autumnsunshine

I must admit, this is a very disappointing review to read. I wasn't in on the night but I was the person who confirmed the booking made by your wife. We received a booking request at 4.15PM on Tuesday 28/11/17 for the 2 for 1 early bird offer the following day (Weds). We sent the following return confirmation email to your wife at 5.30PM on Tues 28/11/17 ->
_____________________________________________________
"Thanks for your your booking. I can now say that it is confirmed!!

Please note that due to availability your table will be on our heated and enclosed rooftop terrace

Kind regards

The Team "
_______________________________________________________

As was stated, your booking would be on the heated rooftop terrace due to availability, not due to you availing the offer as you claim in your review. As you will have seen when you arrived, all of our tables in the main restaurant were booked out. This was done on a first come first serve basis with others who availed of the offer earlier. It did transpire that we had 2 empty tables in the restaurant when you were close to finishing due to last minute cancellations. This would have had no affect on our ability to seat you inside as they only became available as the bookings didn't show. I can understand your disappointment with seeing these tables empty in hindsight.

Our heated rooftop terrace has become a staple for a number of our regulars who request only to dine there. I understand it may not have been to your liking however.
It is heated using 4 infrared heaters and 3 halogen heaters. We are assured by the majority of our guests that they provide for a very comfortable dining experience, even on colder evenings. There were other guests sharing the terrace with you who assured the staff that they had a thoroughly enjoyable experience there.


I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and am sorry that you have decided never to return.

Kind regards

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Was out with a party of friends last saturday , from the minute we went the door till we left we received excellent service the restaurant manager and supervisor were so accommodating especially when one of our party has a shellfish allergy and came over to the table and suggest different alternatives for her meal.

Food was gorgeous we all really enjoyed it along with the wine list ,

cant wait to go back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTorchGinger M, General Manager at Red Torch Ginger Maynooth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi Clanegirl

Thank you for your recent visit. I remember your group well from when I was down assisting you. You seemed like a lovely bunch of people who were having a great time!!!

We do our best to cater for our guests special dietary requirements to make sure that their visit is just as good as everybody elses. It can be a worry for guests not preparing their own food, so we like to get the managers to look after the majority of these cases so the guest can rest assured and continue to enjoy themselves knowing that they are being looked after as per their needs.

I am glad you also enjoyed the wine list. It is a new addition and with bottles started from €21.50 it is going down very well

Hopefully we see you again soon

Kind regards

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

The food was excellent! Came here with a group of friends and really enjoyed our time and the atmosphere. The service was fantastic too. I would definitely come here again!

Thank EmmaJane261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTorchGinger M, General Manager at Red Torch Ginger Maynooth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi EmmaJane

Thanks you so much for your glowing review!!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We had a really good experience at this restaurant ... The food and service was quality... Planning on returning very soon. Highly recommend the red and green curries.

Thank Cody_1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTorchGinger M, General Manager at Red Torch Ginger Maynooth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi Cody

Thank you for your review and recent visit.

Great to hear that you will be returning soon and we look forward to welcoming you

Kind regards

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Torch Ginger Maynooth also viewed

Maynooth, County Kildare
Maynooth, County Kildare
 
Maynooth, County Kildare
 
Maynooth, County Kildare
 

Been to Red Torch Ginger Maynooth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing