We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cathedral View Apartments(Longford)(Great Value!)
US$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westhouse Cafe(Longford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
St Albans House(Longford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
224
25
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
25
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvm restaurantfour poster bedsunday lunchtop classchef garywonderful foodhidden gemwarm welcomesitting roomlovely roomspa bathperiod furniturefamily memberson arrivalhead cheflovely eveningduck
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 254 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

My wife was responsible for planning a mid-winter week long holiday in Ireland. Knowing the weather might be less than optimal we decided to find comfortable lodgings with associated quality restaurants. On the way to the West Coast after a couple of wet windy days in Dublin we stopped at Newgrange and then hurried to Longford for a late dinner before the VM restaurant closed on Sunday. We were warmly greeted by the owners Beryl and James Karney and shown to our room which was large and decorated with period furniture. The room faced the gardens in the rear of the main house and had a small loft sitting room above the bathroom. We dropped off our luggage and proceeded to our meal at VM. The restaurant is housed in a meticulously restored stone building which at one time had been the stables for the manor house. I will consider the food in another review however it was one of the most delicious meals we had in Ireland. We retired to the room and slept soundly. Upon waking Beryl Karney prepared and served a wonderful compete Irish breakfast. We found we were the only people staying overnight so we had some time to talk about the process and commitment needed to restore and maintain a 400 year old property. It was obvious how committed the Karneys are to make Viewmount a first class destination.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank napman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

I stayed recently over two nights and the service and friendliness of the owners is well documented. We really liked our room in particular the spa bath and the four poster bed. It has a nice country hotel atmosphere and we would stay again. The restaurant was however closed on the sunday and monday night we were there meaning we drove into town for dinner. Please check in advance if this was just a Jan/ low season occurence

Room Tip: Ask for four poster bed and in our ground floor room there was a mezzanine level with a nice bed for my son
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in January and it was absolutely amazing! The rooms were lovely and the food was fantastic the staff were really nice and over all this was the perfect get away. I really enjoyed it and I highly recommend it!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Savagewoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2018 via mobile

Arrived to Viewmount House to be given a lovely greeting by Beryl. I felt like I was coming home as opposed to arriving at a busy hotel reception. Our room is gorgeous. A mezzanine with sitting room upstairs. Chandeliers and antique furniture add to the ambience. Bedding is comfy and welcoming.
We had the early bird tonight. Guinness treacle bread is scrumptious. Lovely unexpected prawn muse bouche. Dinner was fabulous. Staff are super. Perfect timing. We're staying for another night. We're really looking forward to breakfast and dinner tomorrow night.
So far it's been excellent and we've stayed in lots of 4/5 star hotels. This is up there with them and we would highly recommend Viewmount House for fabulous food and ambiance and room 23 is wonderfully unexpected

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile

A party of 14 family members went to viewmount for a birthday celebration, it was fantastic. Staff looked after the birthday girl. Food was amazing . Other family members had been there before and said how amazing it was, they are correct. A gem in the midlands!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank molly6400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews