We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A group of us had planned a weekend away and got a great deal for 2 nights B & B. Reservation staff were extremley accommodating - especially since we had some last minute changes. We did not eat in the restaurant - opting insteaed for the bar food menu which offered dishes suitable for all the group. The food service was prompt - however the bar service was dismal - which resulted in the hotel losing on potential bar sales! Rooms were clean and comfortable - overall a great weekend was had by all and I would recommend this hotel as an ideal venue for group nights out!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    174
    138
    82
    51
See reviews for
169
266
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here for just one night in January, using one of the Pigsback voucher deals for €89 for B&B and dinner. It is a nice hotel. We arrived at 2.30 and our room wasn't ready but then check-in isn't officially until 3pm - something to note. Our room was on the ground floor and the room itself was quite big with a comfy bed and I did like the room. The bathroom was also a fine size with a lovely hot, strong shower...but no bath. The dinner was a limited set menu but the food itself as really lovely, very tasty. The only thing was that we booked our table for 8pm and it wasn't ready. There was no apology or offer of a drink at the bar or anything, we were just sent to the bar (where we had come from) with all the other 8pm'ers. It didn't seem particularly busy. Then when we got our table the service was quite slow and I had to keep getting the waiters attention to order....to ask for the wine, twice..and ask where our starters were. A little disappointing. The other thing I felt worth commenting on is that the walls in the room were very thin. We could clearly hear guests going to their rooms...right up until 3.30am..talking in the corridor, doors closing. Having said all that it was a pleasant stay, and I have to say the scenery in Carlingford is stunning and worth the trip. There's loads of bars and restaurants within a short walking distance and it is somewhere I'd go again. Though having read some of the other reviews I'd make a bit more noise about the lack of bath and limited menu despite being on a deal!!

Room Tip: The view out the frount across the lough is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_Irish_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castledermot
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Got a late January Voucher through one of the discount websites that was too attractive to turn down.
The rooms were nice with a double & a single in each room, a front facing view is definitely preferable.
Our voucher was also meant to cover 2 courses of a meal but we hadn't realised it was off a reduced menu, not the a la Carte which we'd studied beforehand.
My shy retiring wife had no problem in pointing this out to the staff who in turn were very helpful in requesting the manager, John, to address our concerns.
We received the most courteous customer service I can remember in years & our issues were resolved immediately.
I'd no problem staying in the hotel bar for the night after that, it was the early hours before we hit the bed.
The groggy heads couldn't manage breakfast the next morning so we had it delivered to the room where it arrived promptly & was exactly what we had ordered, that's a first for me.
It ticked all the right boxes for me & I might consider making this an annual trip.

Room Tip: Front facing have views of the Lough & the Mourne mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanCastled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights for a wedding and this hotel proved to be a wonderful location. A truly picturesque setting in this beautiful country. Everything was well organised and the big day went like clockwork.
The rooms are about what you would expect of a three star hotel, but we had 2 evening meals and these were both better than the norm. The staff were very patient with our various requirements and much deserved their decent tips.
The breakfasts were substantial, and though there wasn't a great variety, I was perfectly happy with what was on offer.
I would be a little reticent about coming here for a quiet weekend as I would imagine that this place is booked for weddings throughout the year. But reading other reviews it seems that there are some very good midweek deals. So as we saw so little of the surrounding area, we may be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar009d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Would not recommend to my worst enemy. Had somebody try to get into my room via the balcony at 4 am. 140 euro for a room of this quality in Ireland 2012 is a joke. Will never return not even for free.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fusil12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlingford hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
belfast,ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

after the rigours of christmas my wife and i decided to take a little break without having to travel too far.the 4 seasons were offering two nights b and b and one evening meal for £75 .carlingford being less than an hours drive we went with this.we arrived on new years day and although the hotel was busy we were booked in and given our room within 5minutes.we were shown to our room and as it was not as i had requested a seaview room we pointed this out to reception who apoligiged and gave us a seaview room without any bother or extra charge.we ate in the retaurant that nightand the meal was excellent and the service was second to none.on the second night we ate in the bar and again food was excellent and very good value.good service,pleasent staff,niceroom great food in lovely village just what you need after christmas.

Room Tip: sea views so much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jloughlin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed with my partner in Christmas 2009.
Hotel had a great Christmas atmosphere.
Rooms were comfortable and clean.
You are a little isolated if your not into outdoor sports.
The local village we felt was very much for locals.

~20min drive to Newry.

Good for a relaxing break.

Tried to rebook this year but found staff to be very unaccommodating so will likely not return unfortunately...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murty08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.4 km away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
13.5 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
11.2 km away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
15.0 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
18.4 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Property: Four Seasons Hotel
Address: Carlingford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford
Four Seasons Carlingford
Carlingford Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing