We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of the most wonderful places in Ireland!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Decoy Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the most wonderful places in Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed here with our three children and simply loved it! It was so spacious, quiet, had a games room and play area for the kids, and Paula was very welcoming. It was one of our favourite places we stayed in Ireland and so close to Slane, Kells and Newgrange. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patkym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    21
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
118
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castlerock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The accommodation at Decoy Cottages is first class. I have never written a review before but feel I should let other people know how good this place is. The attention to detail include a welcome pack with fresh baked wheaten, tea, coffee and dishwasher tablets. The beds were extremely comfortable and the cottage was always warm.
We would also like to thank Paula for being a wonderful host and the added bonus of providing her cat Scoot for those of us missing our own cats!
What more can I say - Excellent....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This was a return trip to Ireland to catch up with family and show my partner Ireland. The cottage location was fantastic - close to all the attractions Meath has to offer and within easy commute to Dublin using the bus stop at the end of the road. Everything in the cottage was wonderful - we even invited some family members over for a lovely meal we were able to prepare for them. They were most impressed with our accommodation and will be recommending the cottage to other relations who regularly visit ireland but have stayed elsewhere. Everything has been considered to make the cottages so homely and comfortable. The bed was soooo comfy - the most comfortable of our holiday in Ireland and the States. Next trip I will be making use of the day spa!! Paula was a lovely host and warmly introduced herself to us despite receiving a midnight call from our airline due to lost bags! Thanks so much Paula for being so hospitable and helpful. I have taken many pamphlets of Decoy Cottages home to Australia with us and will be recommending Decoy to anyone I know visiting Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShibbyandTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We absolutely loved our stay with Decoy Country Cottages. We stayed in The Stables which was big enough for us to hold a first birthday party for our daughter. The day was beautiful and the children loved the den and playground while we relaxed around the BBQ. The day was made even more special when my boyfriend proposed under the archway :-) Thank you again Paula for our bubbly!

The only issue we had was the house wasn't as clean as we would like. It was like it had been cleaned weeks previously and not given a quick polish before we arrived.

Overall I think the complex is fantastic! The den, playground and BBQ area are all excellent features that would encourage us to come back as often as the finances would allow!

I also loved how environmentally friendly it was! I absolutely hate going to accommodation that has one bin! We had so much we could recycle while we were there, so it was great to see all the different recycling bins.

Another thing we loved was the turf provided for the house so we could snuggle up in front of the fire at night. So cosy.

I will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this accommodation!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FMJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Our honeymoon was also our first holiday together, and neither of us has had much experience of travelling abroad recently, so we had decided to avoid the hassle of airports, passports, sunstroke, language issues etc etc and have a stay-cation 'down South' as we say in N.I.

We're so glad we found Decoy Cottages (on the Alistair Sawday site). Paula, the owner, was really helpful from the very start, with negotiating a number of nights different to the default provided on the website, and she emailed a confirmation with helpful directions and information very promptly after booking.

The cottages are a set of converted farm outhouses surrounding a courtyard, and they all have different names of a rural nature - a nice touch. We stayed in the 'Tack Room', but, as we wrote in our comment on the visitors' book - there's nothing tacky about it!

Everything was so well thought out, all you would need in self catering accommodation and more - washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher...right down to oven gloves, and a first aid kit. The cupboards are also really well stocked with loads of mugs, plates, glasses etc.The 'welcome pack' is a lovely addition - wheaten bread, jam, milk tea, coffee, sugar, butter eggs. And because Paula knew we were a honeymoon couple, she also had a huge ice bucket with champagne waiting - such a novelty factor!

I also appreciated the effort Decoy go to be environmentally friendly. I hadn't realised this before we booked, but if this is something you're 'into' then I highly recommend the cottages. Features include geothermal heating to avoid use of fossil fuel, separate bins for tins, glass, paper, compostable items etc, Eco friendly soaps and washing up liquids, biodegradable bin liners....

When you arrive, the cottage manual answers all the questions you never knew you had, in alphabetical order! These aren't just about how things work in the cottage itself - e.g. manuals for the electrical appliances are included - but also tips about places to go nearby for days out, meals, even hair-cuts! There are also plenty of maps and leaflets left for you, and Paula is at hand (her mobile number is there) if you need any more help sorting your holiday plans out.

In terms of location, the cottages are very handy for making your way around Co. Meath. We were never in the car any longer than about 40 minutes. The roads are also excellent, and, in our experience, never busy. Just make sure you're prepared for the toll bridges!

All in all, we had a wonderful holiday, with Decoy proving a great base. Our only regret is possibly that the cottage was so relaxing we sometimes didn't get up and out early enough to see all that could have been seen in Meath. But, sure, what's a honeymoon for if you can't relax and forget the schedule! Highly recommend a visit whether you're a couple, a family or a group of friends. They cater for everyone's needs perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loureid2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was a return trip for us, a family of 6. Very comfortable, clean accommodation and our 4 small boys really enjoyed the den, the play area and the cat. The small basket of groceries on arrival is a really nice touch and very welcoming. We travelled a bit further this time and went to Powerscourt Gardens and waterfall which was a fantastic day out. Unfortunately we left behind a few items of clothing at Decoy and the owner posted these to us. We couldn't have asked for more. First class accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damianmcafee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Decoy was a wonderful place to get away from it all....but close enough to Dublin for city action! The accomodation was of a very high standard with large spacious rooms and everything that you can think of provided for you....The den was great for our 2 young toddlers, with books, DVD's and some toys provided but the favourite for my boys was the giant blackboard which they loved!

Personal touches like the guest comment book and selected brochures on places to visit was also appreciated having not had a lot of time to research the area well before arriving.

Overall, a fantastic stay and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Stables which had lovely views of the countryside..
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SeandSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
14.2 km away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
8.4 km away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
5.2 km away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
13.4 km away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
14.7 km away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing