We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break away in glorious settings”
Review of The Millhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millhouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Relaxing break away in glorious settings”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

From the moment we arrived at the gates of The Millhouse we knew it was what we had been looking for for our one night break away from the kids! The location just on the banks of the Boyne is amazing, seating area outside to enjoy your lunch was fab.
At check in we were met by the friendliest host, who told us to treat the house like it was our one, look around and basically no where was off limits. Our room was very big, with huge windows letting in amazing light. The bathroom was just as bright, with a lovely sink unit and bath/shower.
Up in the attic was a big games room where you can take a DVD from reception and watch it on the big cinema screen. there is also a pool table and board games there.
Food wise, lunch, dinner and breakfast were all lovely.
The best thing about this hotel is the welcoming feeling you receive when you arrive. The house itself is beautiful and the grounds amazing. All in all our stay here was the best we had in Ireland so far, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandTwiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    9
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We just had our wedding at the Millhouse and cannot speak highly enough of how we were looked after. All aspects of our weekend there were perfect. We had a sit-down dinner for over one hundred people and every meal was cooked to perfection. Not a single plate was cold and there was not one complaint.
The Millhouse is a stunning venue that has been created with imagination and thought. Each room is beautifully and creatively designed. But this is so much more than just a beautiful hotel. The staff are amazing and made us feel like we were in a home away from home. They made our weekend truly special. Nothing was too much effort and so much thought was put into everything. The manager, Harvey kept everything running on schedule all weekend and was always on hand to ensure everything went smoothly.
All of our guests were raving about the food and the service. So much so that some booked in again before they left. We are also looking forward to coming back to The Millhouse for a romantic weekend as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennidug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I've just come back from a wedding weekend at the scenic Millhouse on the banks of the Boyne. We had a wedding of over 100 guests & were spoilt for 3 solid days.. The wedding meal was served with military precission guided by the ever obliging Harvey. the venue is idealic, with an orchard & river views for photos. On the second day I stayed with our small baby who slept longer than normal for each nap in the piece & quiet of the beautiful bedroom. Staff even manned the baby monitor while we watched the Ireland match up in the Loft gamesroom where they had laid on some complementary snacks for us. The staff are the friendliest I have met in many years of travel & no task was to great or small for them to RUN and do it for you! It's the type of service Ireland used to be famous for. The food is excellent, the staff are super friendly, the rooms are lovely and the Millhouse is somewhere I will be returning regularly!! A resful romantic setting & a great base to explore Bru na Boinne..

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Unique property with lovely rooms and exceptional service. Harvey, the manager, is super friendly and always has a smile on his face. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and our meals. Visited Newgrange, which is a short drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2009

A quick post to say thanks to the staff at the Millhousr for making my recent stay a truly memorable experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesLGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My self and my partner flew over to ireland to attend the oasis concert, we had heard of the boutique hotel through a good friend and we decided to give it a try, the mill house was exceptional and the staff could not do enough for us, the food was amazing and plenty, i loved my room that looked onto the river with its pretty bathroom, myself and my partner thought it was perfect for a romatic getaway and it certainly made us feel very special and looked after, will be back as i feel i could have stayed a week, top marks ++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We celebrated our wedding at the Millhouse in Dec and could not recommend it highly enough. From the outset, everything was clear and plans were kept up to date through regular contact and email exchange. The staff were so efficient and our friends are still talking about how good the dinner was. Apart from the weather, it was the perfect day. The venue is exquisite and so well maintained. One of our guests liked it so much, she's booked her own wedding there.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
3.2 km away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
6.3 km away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
316 reviews
11.2 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
357 reviews
14.1 km away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
640 reviews
11.5 km away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millhouse

Property: The Millhouse
Address: Slane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 11 bedroomed Boutique Hotel.Specializing in bespoke weddings and private parties.Open for food all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Millhouse Hotel Slane
Millhouse Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing