We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class - again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Top class - again”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for a weekend some years ago and repeated the exercise last weekend, the staff are a great selling point for this hotel.

From Caroline and her colleagues on reception, Kevin and the Lounge staff in the bar, to the restaurant staff at both breakfast and dinner and of course the cleaning staff, all of them are a credit to this Hotel.

We just ate bar food and had a few drinks in the bar on the Friday night and that was spot on for what we needed after a lateish arrival, the live music in the Bar created a nice atmosphere and led to a very pleasant few hours relaxation.

We had an upgrade to an Executive Room which was a nice touch for a birthday celebration, the room was huge with champagne, chocolates and fruit in place when we arrived.

Breakfast was very good and although the hot bins were in use the food was remarkably fresh proving that you can get fresh food from that service if the food is well organised and the food set out and replenished as needed.

Dinner on the Saturday night was terrific, well served and the food was of a very high standard, the restaurant had been extremely busy with many diners eating before a comedy show but the service was top class and presentation was excellent also.

The comedy show crowd filled the bar after their show and the place was buzzing, coupled with the live music there was a great atmosphere

All in all this is a very relaxing Hotel, there is a very well equipped gym, sauna and indoor pool and of course the golf course on site, we would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    176
    78
    44
    23
See reviews for
161
233
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

rooms are absolutely gorgeous, very cosy. the breakfast is just brilliant!! not like most hotels, quality was really very good, nicely cooked!!! and their restaurant is really worth a visit!!! staff are very nice and friendly!!! definitely super for a relaxing break!!!!

Room Tip: veiw of the golf course was just nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Had a one night stay on a Groupon voucher, staff very friendly, had lovely dinner and breakfast was excellent too. Only complaint we had was that one night was not long enough, we hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oileann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here for a wedding last month and overall were very impressed. The hotel is located 20 minutes from Dundalk and is easy to find by following the signs for Carrickmacross. The building is set within substantial grounds and features a 9 hole golf course and tennis courts.

I would describe the decor as classic rather than outdated, and in fitting with a country hotel (does every hotel have to be mirrors, LED's and sparkly granite these days?) Our room overlooked a small carpark, but there were views beyond this of the surrounding golf course. The bathroom was clean and a good size with a bath/shower combo.

The wedding ceremony was in the hotel itself, with reception in the ballroom. With around 100 guests, it never felt overcrowded whilst still retaining that feeling of separation from the rest of the hotel. The food was very good with a crab starter, choice of Seabass or Beef for main, and a chocolate dessert.

I should also mention the friendly staff - later on in the residents bar I started to feel hungry and asked on the off chance if we could get a few sandwiches...10 minutes later a plate full of ham and cheese arrived at our table. When I got up to pay for them, I was told there was no charge. Ok, it was just a plate of sarnies, but at 4am with a bar full of well oiled residents, the barman still found time to make us something and be polite about it.

We didn't use the pool or spa facilities so I can't comment on those, however I can say as a wedding venue, or as a sneaky weekend break with your missus, this is a great spot and can thoroughly recommend it.

One tip: breakfast in bed is only €4 (compared to €10 in most other hotels in the South) - it'll make you feel dirty but it's totally worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We recently stayed here for a friend's wedding. Had a fantastic day - Food was beautiful and staff were very pleasant and helpful. Would recommend for a wedding venue or somewhere for a weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Co Antrim
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for one night with my husband, using a Groupon voucher which included B&B, bottle of wine & round of golf and we had a very enjoyable stay. I would agree that the decor of the hotel is slightly dated but it is very clean and staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Our bedroom was very bright and spacious, a lovely view view over the golfcourse. We only sampled the bar food and had a light lunch on arrival which was very tasty. We found the prices in the restaurant for an evening meal were slightly over-priced and so decided to eat elsewhere.

The breakfast was delicious, with a great range of food available both hot & cold.

The leisure facilities were adequate, though again the pool area/steam room etc could probably do with being upgraded. I also had a spa treatment which was extremely enjoyable and very relaxing. My husband had a great time on the golf course!

All in all, we'd a very enjoyable stay and would return again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

just a note to say was at the wedding showcase on sunday,to consider for wedding venue ,and we were very impressed with the ballroom,love the stylish setting ,not a room trying to be trendy,just gave that feel of a hotel that knows what it does well and does it .Had lunch in the bar as restaurant was full (obviously the spot in the local for sunday lunch)and bar food was excellent and great value,But something most unusal in an irish hotel,IRISH STAFF,and they seemed to love the place,the decor is in places tired,but good hotel ,good staff,a real irish hotel ,loved it and will be back,for a wedding

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinMarkdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
2.1 km away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
217 reviews
7.5 km away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,278 reviews
23.8 km away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
654 reviews
20.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
35.8 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuremore Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuremore Hotel and Country Club

Property: Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
Address: Carrickmacross, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuremore Hotel and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Nuremore Hotel is a Family owned hotel located ideally only one hour from Dublin and Belfast, the perfect location for your next leisure, business or holiday break in Ireland. With our beautifully appointed accommodation, unrivalled cuisine, superb leisure and health facilities, elegant reception areas and landscaped gardens, the Nuremore Hotel has something for everyone. Renowned for having one of the best championship length golf courses in Ireland, the Nuremore Hotel and Country Club offers golfers and non-golfers alike the chance to relax, unwind and enjoy a little luxury. With our banqueting facilities and custom-built conference centre the Nuremore Hotel is the perfect venue for weddings, family functions and business meetings in Ireland. Located in the beautiful rolling Monaghan countryside, take the time to discover an area 'less travelled' - but all the more beautiful and authentic for it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Nuremore Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuremore Hotel And Country
Nuremore Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing