We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B we experienced in Ireland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killyliss Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Ballybay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roxbury, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B we experienced in Ireland!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the lodge just a couple we weeks ago. We are a family of four. The lodge was perfect. You have a full kitchen, a nice sitting area and a huge bedroom upstairs. Also, the power shower in the bathroom was amazing! Pauline was the perfect hostess. We had breakfast in the main house. It was a delicous full Irish breakfast with the best brown bread I ever tasted. Pauline was able to recommend a number of tourist attractions we should see on our visit and provided us detailed directions to get to each of them. Can't say enough about this B&B. Just hope we get the chance to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishgirl120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
52
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We have just got back from staying here (family of 4) We were lucky enough to stay in the lodge and it was an amazing place to stay.
Pauline and Kenneth as hosts were fantastic and they are a wealth of knowledge and couldn't be more helpful. Pauline's breakfast is to die for!!! The lodge is very clean and brilliantly kitted out with everything you need for a great self catering holiday including dishwasher and washing machine but with the added bonus of having breakfast served in the main house which in itself is just delightfully set out.
We cannot recommend this more as we all had a brilliant time in Ireland and this started and ended with the Killyliss Lodge.
When we visit Ireland again we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Book the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik160270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

One complaint about our stay at Killyliss - it was much much too short! We arrived late Friday evening on our way to a wedding in Cootehill, so it was a case of drop of the case and get to the reception. The rooms are excellent and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in (the wife agreed!). There was a big telly in the room (which we never had time to watch!), coffee/tea making (again never had time to use), walk in wardrobe and the ensuite bathroom was more than ample. Everything spotlessly clean. The breakfast was perfect, though I would recommend a full Ulster instead of the full Irish!! Pauline is the perfect host. Unfortunately we were not there long enough to appreciate her encyclopedic knowledge of the local area but no doubt we will be back for a longer trip!!

If you want a top quality B&B in the Monaghan/Cavan area, you'll be hard pressed to better this.

Many thanks,

Pat & Margaret, N. Antrim June 2011

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patches1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I would give it eleven out of ten if that were possible!!!The value for money was the very best I ever received.Pauline the host was so friendly and kind and nothing was too much trouble.The room was very comfortable with alot of little extras you would not get elsewhere.The breakfast was truly delicious and freshly cooked.I was offered tea when I arrived.I can honestly say it was like home away from home.I could not recommend it highly enough the best ever.I would recommend it to everyone.It is situated in a very peaceful and serene location.I will definitely be going back.It most definitely deserves its four star rating.Go and stay there and I promise you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The prioprietor is extremely friendly and welcoming to her home, which is clean, luxurious and located in a quiet rural location. The food was very good and plentiful.

In the heart of Ireland's fresh water fishing area.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybay
18.2 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
6.0 km away
Errigal Country House Hotel
24.0 km away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
27.1 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,407 reviews
21.9 km away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killyliss Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyliss Country House

Property: Killyliss Country House
Address: Lisnalong | Monaghan. County Monaghan, Ballybay County Monaghan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Ballybay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Killyliss Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful small country house 4 star B&B,, just 1 hour by car from Dublin,all rooms ensuite, offers free car parking, free wifi throughout the property. Home cooking a specialty, dinner each evening accompanied by fine wines. Ideal base for touring famous sites , Giants Causeway, Titanic Centre Belfast, Bushmills Distillery, Castle Leslie etc etc. A guaranteed peaceful nights sleep in the irish countryside, heated electric blankets on beds, and wake up in morning to a delicious home cooked irish breakfast with fresh baked breads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killyliss Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing