We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
364
222
118
61
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
222
118
61
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure centre bar food lovely hotel kids club on arrival roscommon town family room carvery lunch old world old style weekend break our room was spacious few drinks well worth a visit a lovely stay stayed for one night buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 804 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2018

Wonderful room, food and staff - Elaine in reservations was extremely helpful and all the staff were polite and welcoming during the stay. Would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a nice property for a night away. Thanks Elaine and team for making this a great experience.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PaddyCunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thank you Paddy for sharing your comments with us. We hope you will return to the Abbey Hotel again in the very near future.

Tom Grealy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile

This hotel feels like it's lost in the sixties and hasnt moved on. The room we had was outdated, poorly lit and the furniture and upholstery were dreary and old. The bar was also boring with no atmosphere (maybe other people are depressed they're here?) Overall not a hotel I'd visit again and I'm amazed it has a 4* rating.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Cooney87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine G, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Dear Mr Cooney,

We are disappointed to hear about your recent stay. Did you mention this to management or reception on checkout. Since you were last here we have had an extensive refurbishment of our Bar Lounge and Restaurant areas so when you next visit you will have a totally different experience.

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

I would recommend the carvery .plenty to choose from.as I don't like a large dinner I went for half portion.which to me was plenty.food served quickly. And hot.the dessert was the nicest Bailey cheese cake I have had.very busy for lunch time.staff polite.and friendly.the toilets were spotless.enjoyed my visit to the Abbey hotel

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 763margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent visit to the Abbey Hotel. We hope you will visit us soon again.
Tom Grealy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2017

Was at a function and the food and service was excellent. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We thought the price for one night b & b was expensive and the breakfast was reasonable. However overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mandk_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Public Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are delighted that your stay was an enjoyable one and we hope you will return to the Abbey Hotel again in the near future.

Regards,

Geraldine Grealy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2017

i was very disappointed that there was no facilities in my room to make tea or coffee after my long journey just a small point to look at also the room service was very expensive and slow there was children on my floor too and awake at 6 am i wont be staying here again

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Dear Marian,

We are disappointed that your recent stay at the Abbey Hotel did not meet with your expectations. Tea & Coffee facilities are standard in all our rooms so we are surprised to hear this. Did you bring this to the attention of our staff at the time as we would gladly have arranged Tea/Coffee for you at your room. As this is a family friendly hotel small children up early would be the norm in most hotels but we thank you for comments.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews