We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect family location 5*”
Review of Ocean Wave Lodge

Ocean Wave Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strandhill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Wave Lodge
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

The Ocean Wave Lodge is without a doubt THE most family friendly location in Sligo. We have stayed in many different hotels and this was just in a league of its own when it came to being family friendly - Deirdre and Paul were so welcoming and accommodating - nothing we asked for was an issue, the room itself was spotless and ideal for a family of 4, the communal kitchen and living area were ideal for our needs especially with two small kids - we were able to heat bottles and dinners etc and relax while the kids pottered about without feeling like we were hassling anyone or intruding on anybody's space. The location is ideal - a 10 minute walk from the beautiful Strandhill beach where there is lots to keep everyone occupied - a 15 minute drive into Sligo town and 20 minute drive to Rosses Point - it couldn't be more central to visit lots of the best of what Sligo has to offer. We will 100% be back and plan coming with some cousins and other friends next time as we know they would love Ocean Wave and everything it has to offer as much as we did! Thanks again Deirdre and Paul xx

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We booked this whole lodge for a work event at the end of June. The owner is lovely, very welcoming and the rooms were very clean. The kitchen wasn't spotless but was fine for our needs. We probable didn't leave it 100 percent spotless ourselves!
Strandhill beach is about a 15 min walk from the lodge.
Didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We booked the lodge exclusively for a large group of us who were visiting Strandhill to celebrate a wedding. Amongst our guests were young couples with babies, young lads who were partying hard and older people. All ,were really well accommodated and the place is so spacious ,no one was disturbed by the early risers or late night revellers!! The accommodation is clean, comfortable and spacious with all rooms (even the dorms ) having en suite facilities enabling everyone to find privacy.Towles are provided and the water is nice and hot. There is a huge comfy lounge and Deidre our host prepared the log burner as a welcome.....lovely. There is a further lounge area, so plenty of room for all guests to spread out. Kitchen is large and well equipped...including dishwasher.
The lodge is well positioned as it is just a short stroll down the hill into Strandhill....only 10mins to walk to the seafront.

Room Tip: rooms 3,4 and 5 work really nicely for a group/family who would like to be together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franmullarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

As a Solo traveller , i came across Ocean Wave Lodge 5 years ago now by chance . , as I was learning to surf , which was on my do list for many years ! and is the only place I stay when I go Strandhill

Ocean Wave lodge Tics all the boxes for me ! Very Affordable, Prime Location , Large Car park, 10 mins walk to Strand , Voya Sea Baths , coffee shops & Restaurants. 5 mins drive to a Fantastic food market on A Sunday.

Spacious , very comfortable warm bedrooms , luxurious bedlinen , very comfy mattress spotless clean, with my own spotless bathroom, With continental breakfast , lots of variety , ( selection of cheeses , yogurts , juices , Salamis , Fresh fruit , Breads, also offered boiled eggs, with Add lib freshly brewed Tea & Coffee

Very spacious sitting room, Library ,with a open log fire where i chill out after long day surfing , and doing the hike up knocknarea !

It also offers Self catering very spacious kitchen , where you can bring your own food, with spacious fridges , & Cooking Facilities .

Both Deirdre and Paul are Exceptional Hosts, so so friendly , professional , and extremely helpful with information to make your stay more enjoyable .

As Business owner myself I just so look forward to any chance to go to strandhill , i get to chill out in Ocean Wave lodge & recharge the body , with pure relaxation.... will be back soon

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliceclaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We rented the whole place for a large family gathering, and have just returned today. I realise that most reviews here are from those that may have used one or two rooms for B+B, so would therefore have a more limited view, and it may well hit the spot if your plan is to sleep and go, but for the money that we paid, its just not good enough.

The Good! Living room is very large as is the kitchen. Internet is good, no issues there. Beds are comfortable which is a big plus. Location is good, not too far from the sea. 20 minute walk or 4 minutes in the car. Met upon arrival by Deirdre, and she was helpful with information on local amenities.

The not so good! The whole building is very dated and needs major renovation. The windows are all single glazed, which meant that it was very cold. This could have been overlooked if we had control of the heating, however this was controlled by the owner. It seemed to come on for a while in the morning and evening, but not during the day. The furniture in the living rooms was filthy and in some cases broken and being propped up by being backed to the walls. The kitchen is not a pretty place, and I have no idea what is going on with the electrics, but there are cables hanging everywhere from the meter box and sitting on top of the first aid box on the wall, not to mention the random socket loosely sitting on the steps of the living room. Loose brass strip across the steps is an accident waiting to happen. Mould on the ceiling inside the front window. All en suites are nasty. All floors seem to bend and creak when you walk across them.

I'm sorry that the review can't be a bit more positive, and this old style house might suit some, but it's definitely only a sleep and go type set up. As a family we gather once a year and use different locations every year, so have a good idea what you should get for your money. The money that we were charged for this property compared to others has got to be based on the good location in Strandhill (which is a lovely place), because its certainly not for the quality of the building itself which is old and run down, and in serious need of some investment.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank Eiresun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Someone local recommended this B & B in Strandhill and I am glad they did... On arrival I was warmly greeted by Deidre and welcomed into this wonderful B & B just minutes from the beach, (prvt. parking). Lovely spacious bedroom & bath, the bed linens were luxurious & the mattress was incredibly comfortable...Great breakfast choices, Greek yogurt, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, cereals (hot or cold), cheeses, meats, breads, scones, croissants... Diedre & her Family are outstanding hosts... You won't be disappointed with this accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kesh_grammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We had gone to climb Ben Bulben and a friend had recommended strand Hill and we found this B&b and got a room ! Very clean room big and spacious and lovely bathroom . Not shared so that was great . In the hallway there was a basket with mixed toiletries so that was very handy .
Breakfast was continental but with the option of boiled eggs . Cereal and toast suited us perfectly but I know some people like a cooked breakfast . Great location and the hostess was lovely , very helpful with lots of suggestions of where to eat and things to do !

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Choppy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ocean Wave Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Wave Lodge

Address: Ocean View Lodge Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Strandhill
Price Range: $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are a B&b with an option of self-catering, in a large communal kitchen , ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing