We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mirador(Algeciras)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

AC Hotel Algeciras(Algeciras)
US$79
US$73
AC Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura Hotel(Algeciras)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$74
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$95
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Lisboa Hostal(Algeciras)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Bahia(Algeciras)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
15
33
19
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
33
19
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvenient locationla lineaferry terminalcomfortable bedsstayed herebackpackersashtraysmauriziohallwaycarpetbathgibraltarmoroccotaxitvbalconyeuros
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 74 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017

We chose this place during our visit to Gibraltar, arriving from Jerez by bus and then going back up North by train. This location grants effortless access to both modes of transportation, because the hotel sits on top of the bus terminal, and the train station is literally across the street. Both stations are small and easy to navigate, and the area is mostly residential and pretty quiet.

It is much easier to take a city bus to La Linea / Gibraltar from the bus station downstairs than to haul luggage to and from La Linea or Gibraltar while trying to time the connecting bus service. And if you are planning to take a train anywhere else in Spain, you're going to end up connecting at this train station anyways. The bus to La Linea takes about 40 minutes. Algeciras and La Linea are the final stops, impossible to miss.

Both the room and the bathroom were very spacious and clean. Possible to see the Rock of Gibraltar from the balcony.

That being said, it appears that this hotel may have known better days, and a four-star rating may not be entirely accurate at this point. Currently, they've got limited toiletries, for example a single bar of soap the size of a matchbox, but much thinner than an actual matchbox. Plus some shampoos, that's it. The mini fridge is empty and appears to be off, and a lone plastic cup is the only available drinking vessel.

A bedside lamp provided the only source of light in the room itself. The other bulb was dead. The toilet wax ring must have been leaking, because there was a slow thin stream of water trickling from underneath the toilet all the way down to a drain in the center of our bathroom floor.

Only 3 very cheap and flimsy plastic hangers in the wardrobe, each looking like it's been abused to such a degree that we've opted out not to use them.

But all in all, this is a very convenient location from a traveler's logistics standpoint. It is also well priced, and the breakfast buffet selection is adequate.

Given somewhat limited lodging choices in Algeciras, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler0987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, Recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thanks a lot to spend your time leaving a comment about our hotel, we are really please that you have evaluated as positive your stay at our Hotel. We want to apologize for the problem you have had with the toiletries. Wish to have the chance to have you soon back as guest in our hotel, Wish you a nice day, Recepcion Hotel Mir Octavio****
Eliminar Editar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Maybe the hotel needs a change og carpet in the staircase and hallways, but this is a clean hotel. Room was spacious enough and in every way acceptable. Very good value for money. Stayed for two nights and I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, Recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

eDar Jan, Thanks a lot to spend your time leaving a comment about our hotel, we are really please that you have evaluated as positive your stay at our Hotel. Wish to have the chance to have you soon back as guest in our hotel, Wish you a nice day, Recepcion Hotel Mir Octavio****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

When we arrived in the hotel they said "the rooms are finish. We are overbooking" but we booked a room in july!!!
They aren't seroiusly.
The hotel are locate in a very scary Algericas district.
You shouldn't look it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank acetaldeide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, Recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

hanks a lot to spend your time leaving a comment about our hotel, . We want to apologize for the problem you have had with the reservation. Wish to have the chance to have you soon back as guest in our hotel, Wish you a nice day, Recepcion Hotel Mir Octavio****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2017

We used to stay here many years ago to mingle with the matadors during the Algeciras feria and, as were were in Cadiz we thought we would go back there for one night for old times sake. The reception area is OK (apart from the loud music from receptionist's radio in the early evening). Our room had mould on the wall, the net curtains were dirty, and the furniture was a mixture of very dark old wood and very cheap white MDF. Bedroom very stark. Bathroom and bedroom tatty with very poor finishings. Every available public space filled with chairs and tables. No atmosphere. Didn't bother staying for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Josefina60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, recepcionist at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Dear josefine60,

Thanks a lot to spent your time leaving a comment about our Hotel.
We are really sorry because of our services, clearly they are not as you would liked it were.
Our recepcionists could have found a solution to make your stay more pleaseble.
Anyways we would like to comment that our room are completely reformed, only the commun areas have the same look of the ancient structure because this is an historic hotel of Algeciras and we don't want to lose the classic style that caracterize us.
Hope to have you back as soon as possible as guest to check out the improvements we are apporting day by day to our services.

Wish you a good day,

Fabrizio

Hotel Mir Octavio****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2017 via mobile

A clean and comfortable hotel. Nearby the bus terminal and very close to city center and harbour.
Stayed here one night but I will choose this hotel for my further trips for sure.
Breakfast was extra (€7) for your information.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank mertology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Dear Mertology,
Thanks a lot to spent your time leaving us a comment!
Is really amazing to read that you've enjoyed of your stay at Hotel Mir Octavio, and to know that our staff make as best as they can to make pleasable your stay!
We will be pleased to have you back again as guest in our Hotel to check the improvement that we are applying day by day to our services.
Kind Regards,
Wish you a fabolous day,
Fabrizio
Recepción Hotel Mir Octavio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews