We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and value for money”
Review of Hotel Mir Octavio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mir Octavio
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

This was an unexpected stop after our ferry from Morocco was delayed and the rental car place was closed for the night. It was easy to book last minute and the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Very comfortable beds and close to the ferry and center.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Tracy,

Thanks a lot to spend your time leaving us a comment and to evaluate as positive your stay!

Wish to have the chance to have you back again as guest in our Hotel to check the improvements that day by day we apply to our services.

From Hotel Mir Octavio**** we wish you a nice day!

Kind Regards

Fabrizio Silvestri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

We chose this place during our visit to Gibraltar, arriving from Jerez by bus and then going back up North by train. This location grants effortless access to both modes of transportation, because the hotel sits on top of the bus terminal, and the train station is literally across the street. Both stations are small and easy to navigate, and the area is mostly residential and pretty quiet.

It is much easier to take a city bus to La Linea / Gibraltar from the bus station downstairs than to haul luggage to and from La Linea or Gibraltar while trying to time the connecting bus service. And if you are planning to take a train anywhere else in Spain, you're going to end up connecting at this train station anyways. The bus to La Linea takes about 40 minutes. Algeciras and La Linea are the final stops, impossible to miss.

Both the room and the bathroom were very spacious and clean. Possible to see the Rock of Gibraltar from the balcony.

That being said, it appears that this hotel may have known better days, and a four-star rating may not be entirely accurate at this point. Currently, they've got limited toiletries, for example a single bar of soap the size of a matchbox, but much thinner than an actual matchbox. Plus some shampoos, that's it. The mini fridge is empty and appears to be off, and a lone plastic cup is the only available drinking vessel.

A bedside lamp provided the only source of light in the room itself. The other bulb was dead. The toilet wax ring must have been leaking, because there was a slow thin stream of water trickling from underneath the toilet all the way down to a drain in the center of our bathroom floor.

Only 3 very cheap and flimsy plastic hangers in the wardrobe, each looking like it's been abused to such a degree that we've opted out not to use them.

But all in all, this is a very convenient location from a traveler's logistics standpoint. It is also well priced, and the breakfast buffet selection is adequate.

Given somewhat limited lodging choices in Algeciras, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler0987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, Recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks a lot to spend your time leaving a comment about our hotel, we are really please that you have evaluated as positive your stay at our Hotel. We want to apologize for the problem you have had with the toiletries. Wish to have the chance to have you soon back as guest in our hotel, Wish you a nice day, Recepcion Hotel Mir Octavio****
Eliminar Editar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Maybe the hotel needs a change og carpet in the staircase and hallways, but this is a clean hotel. Room was spacious enough and in every way acceptable. Very good value for money. Stayed for two nights and I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, Recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

eDar Jan, Thanks a lot to spend your time leaving a comment about our hotel, we are really please that you have evaluated as positive your stay at our Hotel. Wish to have the chance to have you soon back as guest in our hotel, Wish you a nice day, Recepcion Hotel Mir Octavio****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

When we arrived in the hotel they said "the rooms are finish. We are overbooking" but we booked a room in july!!!
They aren't seroiusly.
The hotel are locate in a very scary Algericas district.
You shouldn't look it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank acetaldeide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, Recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

hanks a lot to spend your time leaving a comment about our hotel, . We want to apologize for the problem you have had with the reservation. Wish to have the chance to have you soon back as guest in our hotel, Wish you a nice day, Recepcion Hotel Mir Octavio****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We used to stay here many years ago to mingle with the matadors during the Algeciras feria and, as were were in Cadiz we thought we would go back there for one night for old times sake. The reception area is OK (apart from the loud music from receptionist's radio in the early evening). Our room had mould on the wall, the net curtains were dirty, and the furniture was a mixture of very dark old wood and very cheap white MDF. Bedroom very stark. Bathroom and bedroom tatty with very poor finishings. Every available public space filled with chairs and tables. No atmosphere. Didn't bother staying for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Josefina60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, recepcionist at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear josefine60,

Thanks a lot to spent your time leaving a comment about our Hotel.
We are really sorry because of our services, clearly they are not as you would liked it were.
Our recepcionists could have found a solution to make your stay more pleaseble.
Anyways we would like to comment that our room are completely reformed, only the commun areas have the same look of the ancient structure because this is an historic hotel of Algeciras and we don't want to lose the classic style that caracterize us.
Hope to have you back as soon as possible as guest to check out the improvements we are apporting day by day to our services.

Wish you a good day,

Fabrizio

Hotel Mir Octavio****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

A clean and comfortable hotel. Nearby the bus terminal and very close to city center and harbour.
Stayed here one night but I will choose this hotel for my further trips for sure.
Breakfast was extra (€7) for your information.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank mertology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Mertology,
Thanks a lot to spent your time leaving us a comment!
Is really amazing to read that you've enjoyed of your stay at Hotel Mir Octavio, and to know that our staff make as best as they can to make pleasable your stay!
We will be pleased to have you back again as guest in our Hotel to check the improvement that we are applying day by day to our services.
Kind Regards,
Wish you a fabolous day,
Fabrizio
Recepción Hotel Mir Octavio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We were caught in torrential rain and decided to spend the night in Algeciras. We found a free parking slot nearby but the presence of a parking place guide, who said we could park there all night in exchange of some money gave me mixed feelings about the safety of our car rental. I almost changed my mind about booking the hotel but found a semi-secure parking place across the hotel. Hotel price was at 50 EUR that day. For the price, we get a very good value for money: spacious room with balcony, comfortable beds, clean bathroom, working safe.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thesupr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mir O, recepción at Hotel Mir Octavio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Thesupr,
Thanks a lot to spent your time leaving us a comment!
Is really amazing to read that you've enjoyed of your stay at Hotel Mir Octavio, and to know that our staff make as best as they can to make pleasable your stay!
We will be pleased to have you back again as guest in our Hotel to check the improvement that we are applying day by day to our services.
Kind Regards,
Wish you a fabolous day,
Fabrizio
Recepción Hotel Mir Octavio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algeciras hotels
0.4 km away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
1,211 reviews
1.8 km away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
499 reviews
1.9 km away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#8 of 12 in Algeciras
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#4 of 12 in Algeciras
186 reviews
0.3 km away
Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras
3.1 km away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mir Octavio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mir Octavio

Address: Calle San Bernardo 1, 11207 Algeciras, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range: $64 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mir Octavio 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mir Octavio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing