We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Well presented

I think that few people nowadays see a visit to a museum as being a worthwhile use of their time on... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2015
Merlin_Ruthin
,
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Impressive Art

The Descalzas Museum is located in the Convent of the Barefoot Carmelites. The convent dates to... read more

Reviewed January 19, 2012
BennyMalaga
,
Malaga, Spain
Read all 23 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Antequera
from US$77.00
More Info
from US$51.70
More Info
from US$57.50
More Info
from US$101.20
More Info
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
3
3
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
3
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed May 21, 2017

This is a museum that does "what it says on the tin", ie it is a museum of religious art and is exactly that - perhaps for those with a more specialised interst than your average visitor. Extensive examples of religious staues, pictures etc of the sort that can be seen in churches all over the town. Little in the way of additional information and none in english. Visited one afternoon - had to knock for the door to be unlocked and was accompanied around the entire series of displays by the attendant whose english was to same standard as my spanish.

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2015

This is a must for anyone interested in history and art. We were taken around by a quiet, helpful guide who did his best to answer our questions (though we don't know if he spoke anything but Spanish). The church is very ornate and the museum is a mine of information on the history and life of the religious community of which it's a part. Look out especially for the nativity scene set in a model of the old town of Antequera.

Thank claire_walker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2015

I think that few people nowadays see a visit to a museum as being a worthwhile use of their time on holiday, but this museum covers prehistoric to recent times and can be viewed in around 2 hours. It is free on Sundays (10 till 2). The roman burial chamber is both impressive and instructive, as are the mosaics. The pictures mean little to tourists but the jewelry is still of interest.

Thank Merlin_Ruthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2015

This would have been a highlight of our stay in Antequera but when we rang the bell on the door as instructed to enter, we were accosted by a very angry Spanish man who shouted at us and shut the door in our faces. We must have done something wrong to upset him but there is no excuse for treating visitors in this way.

1  Thank libis328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The religious art in the Museo de las Descalzas is among the best in the city. The Dolorosa is a sculpture by the famous Pedro de Mena. He was one of the best Spanish sculptors of the 17th century. Another masterpiece is the sculpture of San Miguel Arcangel, which was the work of Giuseppe Sarno in the 18th century. Santa Teresa de Jesus was painted by Luca Giordano in the 17th century. Luca Giordano was born in Naples and spent 10 years as a court painter in Spain. He could finish a painting in a day.

One can also see the Church of San Jose. The main altar is quite beautiful. The man who made the retable was Francisco Primo.

1  Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2013

the Museo de las Descalzas has wonderful religious art and is a must see in Antequera. Important painters include Luca Giordano, Antonio Mohedano, Bocanegra, and Antonio de Torres. There sculptures by Pedro de Mena, Nicola Fumo, Francisco Salzillo, la Roldana, and Antonio del Castillo are very important and beautiful too.

Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Museo de las Descalzas has very good religious art which one is surprised to find in this town.

I enjoyed seeing the sculptures of the masters Pedro de Mena, Francisco Salzillo, and la Roldana,

Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Descalzas Museum is located in the Convent of the Barefoot Carmelites. The convent dates to 1632 and its church was finished in 1734. One can find plenty of religious art from the 16th to the 18th century. Important painters include Luca Giordano, Antonio Mohedano, Antonio de Torres and Bocanegra. The sculptures were created by the masters Pedro de Mena, Francisco Salzillo, La Roldana, and Antonio del Castillo. Other exhibits are silverware used in religious ceremonies.

1  Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews