We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location,not so great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“great location,not so great hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

stayed in the el Puerto from 25-12 till 1-01-2012.
the rooms are small but clean,first day we had a room at the back of the hotel
and the view was awful,the room stank and the water was black when i turned on the tap.
the hotel room had not been used for two months and the traps had dried out ,filling the room with the smell of sewage
i demanded another room ,and was given a sea view the next morning.
no festive spirit in the hotel ,no entertainment for the duration of my stay.
we was told more than halve the rooms are privately owned and a lot of owners don't sublet,hence the fact that the hotel was nearly empty.
my guess is that there were only about 30 guests in the hotel.
reception staff were not very helpful and grumpy.
the food was basic,not much variation and always cold,not helped by the fact that for the first 3 days the microwave was out of use.
at the back of the hotel are a few cheap pubs and open late ,Tommy and stevie from the quell bar (£1.80/pint)are great hosts and made our holiday,they also provide free wifi to the customers.
the wifi in the hotel is a rip off and cost an arm and a leg.
the swimming pool on the roof was closed for the first two days despite the lovely sunny weather and only opened after complaints from guests.
the hotel needs a bit of maintenance,window frames with peeling paint in the dining room,around the pool the plant boxes were full of weeds
and more worrying a lot of concrete rot were the skin of render has falling of the hotel exposing reinforcement steel in the concrete.
the steel railings on the roof(pool) were rusted away in places.
the location of the hotel is great,cross the road and you are on the beach by the marina.
a nice few hours out is a visit to the zoo in fuengirola at 17 euro or 11 euro for pensioners
would i go back to this hotel.....NO!!

Room Tip: if you want to stay here demand a sea view as the back rooms look out over the houses and dont have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrebelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves B, Revenue Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear customer:

We welcome your comments which we take good note and to help us improve the quality of the services we offer.

Sincerely,


Hotel El Puerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    227
    208
    115
    119
See reviews for
138
397
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I stayed on a B&B basis over Christmas.

ALL rooms had twin beds which I found surprising. Pushing two beds together was the answer but not very comfortable.

Great location, there is a nice beach just across a road but you do need to be careful crossing the road as traffic can be busy.

I was not impressed by the quality of the breakfast, which varies very little, nor was I impressed by the reception staff who gave the impression they were doing me a favour by being there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves B, Revenue Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear customer:

We welcome your comments which we take good note and to help us improve the quality of services.


Sincerely,


Hotel El Puerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel in October 2011 for 3 nights. I went with my girlfriend, her mum and her younger sister.
We booked two rooms online and requested that one of them be a double. When we arrived, the hotel only had a record of us requesting one room. They were able to change the reservation and sorted two rooms for us next to eachother, on the 9th floor which is very high!
The rooms are clean and tidy and well equipped, the bathroom was excellent and equipped with power shower! The room however was extremely dated and old fashioned, it was also quite dark and dreary.
The air conditioning is fairly hopeless. Ours was placed around the corner from the main part of the room, so the doorway was very chilled but no where else! It also turns it self off overnight (when you would need it most!!) and makes sleeping very uncomfortable. It does not work at all between midnight and 8am.
The hotel breakfast was very nice, plenty to choose from and nice quality stuff. The hotel is excellently located, only a 5-10 minute walk from all the restaurants we wanted and right on the beach.
We did not get a chance to use the pool as were at the beach, also it is on the roof of the hotel and my girlfriend didnt like the heights!
Overall a good hotel for the money, £50pp for 3 nights with breakfast. Dont expect 5* luxury, however it was ideal for a short break.

Room Tip: Go for something on a lower floor. Its very high otherwise and the balconys are a bit scary!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves B, Revenue Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear customer:

We welcome your comments which we take good note and to help us improve the quality of services, only indicating that the air conditioning system regulates the evenings after a certain hour maintenance needs.


Sincerely,


Hotel El Puerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

a 1 star hostel would have a better standard of room.
this is a prison cell with a sea view!!!!!!.

Room Tip: book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves B, Revenue Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear customer:

We welcome your comments which we take good note and to help us improve the quality of services.


Sincerely,


Hotel El Puerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fuengirola hotels

ibrag
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

the hotel is situated just opposite the beach in Fuengirola.it is centrally located,near lots of restaurants and bars.we where on the 8th floor opposite the beach where we can see an amazing view from our balcony.
the rooms are a bit small and need a refurbish.the food is good,but breakfast always the same,but still good value for money.
no parking facility in the hotel,but there is public parking which you have to pay .overall i enjoyed my stay and i recomand this hotel for people who like budget type hotels.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors in the front are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmistres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves B, Revenue Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear customer:

We welcome your comments which we take good note and to help us improve the quality of services.


Sincerely,


Hotel El Puerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, surrey.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my college. We got a good deal and the rooms were not too bad. They were smaller than some other ones I have stayed in but there was room to get ready and a balcony so we could sit out there getting ready. Location was great 5 mins from the trains and buses and it was right on the beach front. Had Mcdonalds right opposite and bars to the right or left of our hotel. Location was very good and the food was nice to I would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtime12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves B, Revenue Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear customer:

We welcome your comments which we take good note and to help us improve the quality of services and we are happy to have you with us again.


Sincerely,


Hotel El Puerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have just returned from a 5 day all
inclusive break at the El Puerto which we booked through Alpha Rooms.
The hotel is very dated and could do with a refurb but other than that we had no complaints. The food was good excellent choice, rooms clean and tidy towel change every day, the swimming pool has a great view and the location is fantastic right on the beach front.
Will go back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonbell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves B, Revenue Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear customer:

We welcome your comments which we take good note and to help us improve the quality of services and we are happy to have you with us again.


Sincerely,


Hotel El Puerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
1.7 km away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
990 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,258 reviews
5.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
639 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,415 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto

Property: Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 32, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly Hotel El Puerto by Pierre & Vacances)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location on the seafront, where all the shops and restaurants, 30 meters from the beach of gray sand. The hotel has a pool located on the hotel roof, 1 bar and 1 restaurant( buffet). *The pool is closed to the public on specific dates due to private events and maintenance. For more information, please contact directly the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Puerto Hotel
El Puerto Fuengirola
Hotel El Puerto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing