We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,732)
Filter reviews
2,732 results
Traveller rating
1,538
907
206
48
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,538
907
206
48
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish restaurant indoor pool evening entertainment plenty of choice breakfast and dinner plenty of sunbeds welcome meeting large walk in shower head waiter a partial sea view excellent hotel higher floor travel kettle buffet style sea front tui rep choice of food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,131 - 1,136 of 2,732 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2016

Travelled independently, hired a car from Malaga. Check in was very efficient, used the hotel car park for 6 euros per day and 30 euros deposit for fob for electronic gate which was well worth it as it was safe and secure, parking is limited in the location. Fab room on 5th floor, comfortable, spacious and clean with lovely views. The only sounds we could hear came from the sea. Fridge in room, take your own kettle if you want to make tea/coffee. Two sittings for dinner, 6.30 pm or 8.15 pm, we chose the later sitting. Breakfast from 8 am. Food is plentiful and good quality, We went to the A la Carte restaurant Ole and that was very good - choice of 6:45 pm or 8:30 pm which you book at reception. Entertainment is not something we go for but from what we can gather we think it was just mediocre. Service is very good, the staff are pleasant and helpful and very friendly. As we had a car we went out and about but on the whole we think Nerja is the best place to stay in that area. The Balcon de Europa is only 10 mins walk from hotel and is lovely place to sit and people watch, lots of cafes etc. In fact Nerja has a lot of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, but still has a Spanish feel about it. We had a lovely week and would definitely recommend this hotel and Nerja as a holiday base.

Room tip: Email to request a room on one of the higher floors, we had one on the 5th floor, large double, and view was lovely.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank GANDT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights on a half-board basis in April 2016. Hotel has been recently upgraded and is very impressive. Rooms are excellent with good facilities and good-sized balconies. The food in the dining room at both breakfast and dinner was first class with very friendly staff. The only downside we felt was the two-sitting system at dinner. We opted for 8.15 as we feel that 6.30 was a bit too early. Unfortunately this meant finishing after 9! A pleasant 10 minute walk to the Balcon area with plenty to see on the way. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dbyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

We had a 10 night stay at this hotel, our first time here. First impressions are good with a friendly reception staff and a welcoming glass of bubbly. We were allocated a room on a high floor as requested which faced west in the afternoon. The view was great and the room was well furnished with a comfortable bed and pillows. The refurbishment has seen all floor coverings removed and so there is the potential for noise if you have neighbours who are not considerate. Unfortunately we did! The lady above us on the 6th floor must have put her high heels or wooden clogs on as soon as she got up in a morning and then proceeded to walk back and to across her floor/our ceiling incessantly. One can only imagine what on earth she was doing. Food in the restaurant was always hot and tasty and quickly replenished. Rather disappointingly the menu was repeated on a weekly basis so after a week it became a little predictable. The hotel has taken the do it yourself option at breakfast to another level as all that is provided on your table is a cup and saucer and a napkin. You are responsible for getting your own cutlery, jug of coffee and everything else. Tables are a little close together but this can be quite nice if you have friendly people sat on the table next to you. The a la carte restaurant is very nice but somehow lacks atmosphere which could perhaps by achieved with a little low key background spanish music to go with the spanish menu. There are now ample sunbeds around the pool with a lot of available options for shade. Pool was a bit cold but then it was April! There is a gym and an indoor pool but no other sports facilities as apparently the refurbishment took away the table tennis table that used to be available. There are a number of nice bars just outside the hotel and the main town is a pleasant 10 minute walk away up a slight hill. Evening entertainment was all bought in and was a bit of a mixed bag - some bad, some not so bad. Staff throughout the hotel were all very pleasant and the manager and his deputy were always available with a very visible presence. We enjoyed our stay at the Riu Monica and will no doubt return.

Room tip: Best views are on floors 3 upwards. West facing rooms get the afternoon sun.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Niloc520831
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

Stayed here for a week in April with my husband, we have been once before in 2011, and the refurbishment is a vast improvement especially the rooms. Huge bed, plenty of cupboard and drawer space, and for once enough coat hangers. We had read reviews about the rooms being noisy and to be honest we did not experience any unreasonable noise levels at all, maybe we were just lucky. I emailed beforehand and requested a high floor and that's what we got.

Our only criticism possibly is the dining room, it felt a little bit like a M&S cafe, Tables very close together and hectic at times. Plates not even warm as well. Also didn't care for the two sitting times on offer - one being too early and the other a little late. When on holiday I think you should be able to come and go as you please. I thought the food was very good, and if you were unable to find anything then you must be a very fussy eater.

Nerja is a lovely little town, and if you like going for something to eat and drink whilst people watching then this is the place for you. There are some very good bars across the road from the hotel, we visited The Ship most evenings which was very welcoming and prices very reasonable.

Room tip: Choose a high floor, better view
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 302kathryns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights half board with my mum whilst visiting family in Nerja,

We were greeted with a choice of champagne or orange juice upon arrival which was lovely. Check in was efficient and easy and the receptionists were very kind and helpful.

Our room was beautiful, spacious, well decorated and bright. We had a partial view of the sea and our balcony was lovely to sit out on in the evening. The room was cleaned daily to very high standards. We had no problem with noise whatsoever, despite being next to the stairs where people were walking past a lot.

There is a great choice of food for both breakfast and evening meal, with the chance to sit out on the terrace if weather permits (which it did every day luckily). Service staff were lovely, smiling and willing to help. One of the managers walks around greeting hotel guests and remembered us from previous conversations. This was nice as you feel like the management and staff are interested in what you have to say.

Pool area is large with glass blocking the wind. You are looking out onto the beach which is so relaxing. The indoor pool was also nice if it got a bit windy or cool outside, or to wake up in the morning.

Overall cannot fault this hotel, no idea how anybody can! Had an absolutely brilliant time and would like to thank the staff and management for all the effort they put in!

Room tip: Ask for a sea view at the back of the hotel.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank ali-bourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews