We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach time with my dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I appreciate this hotel wont tick everyone's boxes but I found it perfectly adequate for my needs . OK there isn't a room fridge, kettle or hotel pool but it is very clean and the a/c works. Breakfast is basic but typical Spanish , don't expect a fry up. The restaurant that is in the grounds but not part of the main hotel is a real surprise. Their menu is excellent and the husband and wife team explain in detail what they have. Anything tuna or gambas is very very good and extremely good value. Taxi is with tip max € 20 to Tarifa and the Tangana beach is 10 mins walk, 2 mins by car. Dog friendly but not in July and August, he enjoyed it so will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copacabanatarifa, Gerente at Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Hola

Muchas gracias por su opinión esperamos poder verle muy pronto por el Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

We stayed for two nights and the room was good for us, two adults and two teenagers. Very quiet at night. It's good if you're planning to spend the day in the beach and be back just to sleep.
The location is perfect, right in front of the Valdevaqueros beach. We could leave the car at the hotel parking and we walked to the beach.

Room size and facitities are not very suitable to leave the kitesurf gear.
Unfortunately breakfast was not included in the room price, but we could have the breakfast at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copacabanatarifa, Gerente at Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Hola Isabel

gracias por su comentario esperamos poder disfrutar de su parecencia nuevamente en el hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

There's a good reason why this is one of the very few hotels in Tarifa that always appears to have availability throughout a busy Summer.

You only have to read the 'management' responses to reviews on here to get some idea of how you can expect to be spoken to and treated.

Speaking in Spanish did not invite any respect, or friendly hospitality. In fact, I have never come across so much rudeness and lack of professionalism in my life.

A friend and I stayed here and we had two different rooms. Neither of us were comfortable. I barely slept in mine due to the incredibly bright light resonating from the TV and could not find any way of turning it off. The bathroom was extremely dated and the shower a complete let down.

I was wary of booking this hotel due to the honest reviews on here but we chose it because 1) the location - we wanted to be by this particular beach and 2) this was the only hotel with availability in Tarifa at the time. Even with this in mind we regret having stayed here.

The breakfast experience resulted in the staff having a full blown argument with my friend in the lobby area. He was overcharged, the bread was dry and inedible and this is potentially the most basic breakfast offering encountered to date. They do sell fresh orange juice which is a plus but just like everything else it is way overpriced. Dinner service in the restaurant was painfully slow despite being only two of four dinner guests at the time. I enjoyed my meal but my friend did not enjoy his.

Email communications with reception staff and subsequently a very immature, rude, unprofessional and aggressive manager have left us shocked that they are in business at all. Instead of improving their customer experience and standards, they seem to put all their efforts into trying to pick fights and to make you as miserable as they are.

We are both Spanish residents and whilst hospitality in general could do with some serious improvement here, this hotel takes the current standard to new lows. No-one, especially not a paying customer, should have to be treated like this. My recommendation would be to book in advance with another hotel if you can - there are plenty of great choices in and around the town and the reviews on here can vouch for that.

Some months later, with no other hotel availability in the area, I thought I would give this hotel a second chance hoping for improvements. And so I emailed them an enquiry and once again, I have received an incredibly abusive, unprofessional response from the hotel manager. Despite having to delay my Tarifa visit, it is a far better option than having to endure this hotel and its staff. This latest experience therefore cements my review on this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LaylsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copacabanatarifa, Gerente at Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Hola LaylsUk

no se si LaylsUk es su nombre ya que muchas personas comentan por estos portales pero no son capaces de poner su verdadero nombre

para su información soy el gerente y no recuerdo haber tenido el placer de haber hablado con usted
por otro lado como puede usted certificar saber si tenemos disponibilidad siempre o no la tenemos y que es debido a lo que usted piensa es usted adivino a caso .
cuando tarifa esta tan solicitada debería de ver nuestra puntuación en booking.com estamos clasificado dentro de los 18 primero hoteles de tarifa y para su información nuevamente este año vamos a subir puesto en la puntuación para la próxima temporada garantizado y comunicado personalmente por booking.com .
por las luz que no le dejo dormir creo que se refiere al pilo tito de on off del televisor y que esta en todos los televisores del mundo mundial no solo los de mi hotel.creo que no poder dormir por este motivo es un poco exagerado pero bueno de personas exageradas esta lleno el mundo por otro lado usted dice darnos una segunda oportunidad si la primera fue tan mala porque reservo nuevamente sabiendo que los televisores no le dejarían dormir por la luz azul . para su información nuevamente dice que no sabia como apagar el pilo tito de la tele pues haber quitado el enchufe de la tele de la base de la pared por si no sabe es un cable que sale de detrás de la tele y que va a la toma de corriente que esta en la pared y es mucho mas fácil que buscar pretexto para quejarse de no haber podido dormir nada nada
para el desayuno usted no pudo contratar nada ya que el desayuno es a la carta y no esta incluido en cuanto al precio es precio normal de cualquier cafetería café y tostada solo 3€ zumo natural 2.50€ si para usted estos precios son caros vaya la próxima vez a un comedor social se lo dan gratuitamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

In my work, I travel a lot. 90-100 nights a year in different hotels around Europe, US, and parts of the Middle East, so I'm used to different standards. Yet, I've never been so dissapointed, as after a night in the Hotel Copacabana, Tarifa Beach.
The location is perfect, the restaurant is great, but the hotel sucks - big time.

We were on a familytrip and needed a place to sleep. There were six of us (two children (10&14) two parents and two grandparents), so we had three rooms.

According to the add on different sites, our rooms had view. Well one had the view to three walls 20 cm to a meter out. So all we could see was wall. The other was facing the dark covered part of the courtyard, and from the last we could see the mountains, so the last one was not all wrong, eventhough we had paid extra for seaviews.
After arriving, we went to the beautiful beach, located just a 10 min. walk from the hotel.
We had a great dinner in the nice, cosy and fairly priced restaurant and after that, we all went to bed, passing the closed reception-buliding.
In all three rooms, the a/c was not working. It made a lot og noise, but NO cooling. We tried opening the heavy blinds, but that only resulted in a lot of mosquitos circling our rooms.

In one of the rooms, my daughter was sleeping with her mother. She woke up, because something bit her leg. They had both been sleeping very light, because the the cieling lamp was flashing and could not be turned off completely, even though they removed the keycard from the holder, next to the door - which is supposed to turn all lights off, but it only dimmed the lamp, when it didn't flash.
My daughter discovered, that an ant had bit her, and that her bed was full of ants. Not like a million, but small groups all over. She screamed and my wife noticed that they were on the floor as well. They tried to brush the ants off the bed, but a couple of minutes later, the ants were back.
They bunked up in my wifes bed, but since the a/c wasn't working, that soon became too hot.
After that, they decided to sleep in the car instead.
In our room, the mosquitos were taking over and with the a/c not working there either, no one really slept there. We talked about opening the window, but that would only lead to more mosquitos.

The next morning, we had to leave at eight, so I went up to the reception, to complain about the ants and a/c's not working. The reception was still closed and a guy came out though the door, telling us, that he worked in the kitchen, and that we could leave the keys with him, and call back later to complain.

At 16h we were back from our boat-trip, and I went back to talk to the hotel-crew. The arrogant lady there laughed at me, telling me, that I should have called a number on the door during the night. I told her, that I knew nothing about any number, which made her laugh again.
She also told me, that there were only two ants in the room, completely ignoring the photos I showed her, and she also said that everyone can sleep through that.

The settings are, as I said, perfect. The restaurant is great, the hotel could be good, but the employees and lack of working electric appliances totally ruins it all.
And when you pay extra for a view to the sea...?! (First pic.) Rest shows ants!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jakob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copacabanatarifa, Director General at Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017
Google Translation

bueno días su opinión me dejo un poco descolocado para ser una persona que dice viajar mucho no muchísimo según usted hasta 100 noches al año pues déjeme que le diga de que lo dudo mucho de que usted viaje tanto como dice ya que su comentario es totalmente ilógico porque cuando alguien que de verdad viaja mucho lo primero de lo que se preocupa es de leer las informaciones del hotel y el tipo de habitaciones que se reserva usted reservo las habitaciones mas económicas y el precio de estas habitaciones es mas económico por su tamaño y porque no tiene vista al mar tras comprobar sus queja personan dome en la habitación yo mismo comprobando que los aparatos de aire frió funcionaban perfectamente y la lampara de las mesitas de noche tanto como la del techo igualmente funcionaban y comprobando que si se retira la llave del desconectador de luz eléctrica todo se desconectaba correctamente tampoco entiendo su comentario por el tema de hormigas pues tampoco se encontraron ninguna en la habitación con respecto a que la recepción cierra de noche aquí si le doy la razón pero me hace confirmar que usted no viaja tanto como dice ya que debería saber al viajar tanto que según la categoría del hotel puede o no tener recepción de noche y aquí veo que tampoco vio que tenemos en la puerta de la recepción un numero de teléfono de urgencia por si un cliente tiene algún problema y otro numero para el guarda de noche y tras preguntar al guarda de noche por si vio algún cliente dormir en los coches me comento que no vio a ninguno y tras comprobar las cámara de vídeo vigilancias del parking para estar seguro tampoco vimos ningún movimiento de personas que entran en un vehículo y no salieran mas del mismo usted reservo las habitaciones mas pequeñas y por pagar menos ya que usted dice que hubiera pagado un suplemento porque no lo reservo desde un principio las habitaciones superiores y vista al mar las habitaciones que reservo son solo para dos personas y no para todos lo que ustedes querían dormir en ellas para eso tenemos habitaciones familiares hasta para 4 personas pero eso si son mas cara lo único que le puedo decir es que la próxima vez que reserve en algún hotel mire primero las condiciones de las habitaciones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Perfect location if you want to kite at Valdevaqueros and spend your day outdoors. Room was clean, staff friendly enough (though lacking english skills), loved the hotel restaurant. Simple breakfast. Would recommend getting a room facing away from the road due to noise.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copacabanatarifa, Gerente at Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017
Google Translation

hola gracias por su comentario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Perfect beautiful place. Mostly local tourism
Real Spain , old city, reasonable prices at restaurants and very very hospitality the locals
Can strongly recommend the place. Make sure to stay within the place old city walls

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank juannavasgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copacabanatarifa, Propietario at Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017
Google Translation

Hola le agradecemos mucho su opinión y esperamos poder verle muy pronto por el Hotel un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

The advantages of this place pretty much end with the title of this review. If you're a devoted surfer you'll love being just across the road from the famous hotspot. But beware the road is N-340 roadway, that gets too busy on weekends to cross it leisurely. The hotel is some 15 km from the Tarifa town - no shops or cafes around. No chance to get coffee (not to mention breakfast) before 11 a.m. No fridge or even glasses in our room. The rest is fine I guess. Again perfect location for surfers, but nothing else.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copacabanatarifa, Director General at Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017
Google Translation

Hola Anna
de distancia me parece que entiende poco o no le gusta mucho andar estamos tan solo a 2 minutos andando a la playa de Valdevaqueros una de las mejores de la zona y para tomar un café dispone de varias cafetería en los alrededores. si escucho bien que son varias y ademas de la cafetería del hotel. y las de los alrededores están tan solo a 2 minutos andando si escucho también bien andando si digo andando no en coche. para las tiendas pues también estas equivocada tenemos en la zona varias tiendas de comestible si si varias si varias y incluso una panadería artesanal con un pan recién echo de campo excelente y le comento de paso que estamos en parque natural protegido por si no supo donde reservaba antes de reservar un lugar debes informarte de la zona y no criticar sin saber y otra información de distancia equivocada es la distancia a la ciudad no estamos a 15 kilómetros estamos a 8 kilómetros . bueno me despido Anna siento mucho que no le guste andar y que le pareciera que estaba todo tan lejooooo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
13.3 km away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
493 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
171 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
353 reviews
1.4 km away
Cortijo las Pinas
Cortijo las Pinas
#10 of 19 in Tarifa
117 reviews
2.3 km away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa

Address: Carretera N-340 Km 75 Cadiz-Malaga Los Porros playa de Valdevaqueros, 12 | beach Valdevaqueros, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range: $64 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing